what are you using to tune? Hu or RUX?
Some tips that worked for me
Turn that Media Expander off.
Front 1
Front 2 runs off the same eq
Rear uses independent eq
you can run tweets off Front 1 and mid bass off front 2
Mids off Rear.
Cross Overs are seperate for each one of the outputs.
www.diymobileaudio.com has a "secrets of 701" which might prove usefull to you.
Stick with the tuning, I have been at it numerous occasions and still not got it right, but it is getting better.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 6th, 2010, 5:24 pm

im using the hu.. i not usuing the media expander and

front 1 for tweeters
front 2 for midbass
rear for midrange
center- for rearfill when i get bored of a plain old 3way system
sub for well sub

im looking to change the 4" driver and redo the kicks to fit something else..
because i noticed 1 driver was giving a kind of sound that sounds like if you blow air over a sweetie paper on the higher frequencies..i was using 400 - 4khz and that is more than within the frequency range.. i suspect again the accident caused this

im considering using the 5.25" oz driver i used when i competed and got 19/20 in tonality when terry floyd and sully judged my car..i also consider that 5.25" as a steal of a deal thanks to roger :mrgreen:

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 6th, 2010, 6:57 pm

^^ I hope little db fairies get trapped in your dampening and kill your oz slowly eating away at the coils....

Oh I think I may have another pair of l4's, either that or some pro's,if you flying in soon you could pick them up.

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » February 7th, 2010, 12:09 pm

so it was the rca? didnt i tell u check over everything.. :evil:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 8th, 2010, 12:55 am

rigman00 wrote:so it was the rca? didnt i tell u check over everything.. :evil:
i did i did..no noise everything getting proper signal etc..but the center and subwoofer both using Y jacks when i was putting in the y jacks i musta confused them and plugged it in wrong :lol:

but rigman00 u deserve as much credit as jeff for all the advice u give meh.. 8-)

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » February 8th, 2010, 1:15 am

As for the Sub make sure it is ON in the speaker select tab on the 701. Make sure the SUB is Set to MONO and not Stereo. Stereo SUB runs another SUB signal via the center RCA. Ensure that the SUB RCA is going to the SUB Amp.

EQ - What worked for me - Frequencys which do not want your MIDBASS to reproduce set them at -9 on the EQ. Try starting setting your EQ at around 0 mark on the frequencys so that frequencys which are higher or lower you have headroom to adjust that frequency independently up without having go back and readjust all the others to compensate.

Try tuning with test tones. If tuning MID BASS - switch off all the other channels. Run your MIDBASS test tones and set your EQ. Do same with MIDS etc. You will have to go back and retune to get intensity (peaks dips) and centering correct, but thats is what tuning is.

USE THE SAVE FUNCTION. SAVE AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE. Nothing is worst than finally getting something right and it is not saved. You Lose everything and have to start over. TRY saving in different MEM Cues. So if something does not work out you can go back to the last Mem where things were ok and restart from ther.

MIDS SWEETIE PAPER NOISE - Is this coming from the driver or is it something vibrating nearby?

I currently have:-
HU Alpine W205 / H701 Combo
AMPS - PDX 4.150; 4.100, 1.1000
MIDBASS - Morel Elate 6"
MID - 6" from Alpine SPX PRO - Looking to change this to a 4" something before end Feb.
Tweets - Morel MT23
SUB - Morel Ultimo sealed enclosure.
Tuning is not a fixed science. When I first started my music sounded like toots also. Tuning takes time and also a knowledgeable listener to give you there opinions. However (IMO) if you DIY gives you great pride in what you have accomplished. It just take the time to iron out the bugs.

By the way (sorry to hijack thread) but I in need of a knowledgeable listener to tell me "it sounds like toots, but try this"... lol.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 8th, 2010, 1:40 am

holy shiet! thats a really impressive line up of equipment! those morel tweeters are amazing even the tempo's component set tweeters i really like..

well the noise is actually coming from the driver..i took it out and ran it free air also..to me initally i thought it was my tweeter but when i took off the tweeter i noticed it was the left MR driver was giving the noise so i leaned over to the other driver and I didnt notice the noise..So i went to the back of the car, swapped left and right on the rca..still a problem..swapped channels still got the problem

and I'm currently running the sub in mono

ive basically finished the setup its jus the lil problem with the midrange so im in the market for a new midrange driver but the car will be running by march lol i lookin to buy the midrange driver within the next few days..

a knowledgeable listner in trinidad is SR and Jeff they always been more than helpful

btw do you have any midrange driver in mind?

Sully

Postby Sully » February 8th, 2010, 6:06 am

pimptacular, You have to be more specific, there are 3 judges coming up on March.

Postby SR » February 8th, 2010, 8:56 am

and 2 drink beers

ah could bring ah set of gothia 3 ways for yuh in march

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2010, 9:03 am

^^ He say they not loud enough..

Postby SR » February 8th, 2010, 9:11 am

well ah hear yuh have some ciare 3 inch

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 8th, 2010, 9:13 am

^^ A testament to how loud they are, you hearing them from debe. :D

Postby SR » February 8th, 2010, 9:25 am

right right

so back to tuning

read the flippin manual and play around with the settings

follow the advice given posted above

gvtrin07

check meh to tell yuh if it soundin like toots

but before that
do you have an iasca sq test cd with the liner notes

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » February 8th, 2010, 10:29 am

same ting i tell him sr....READ THE MANUAL

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 8th, 2010, 2:18 pm

Lol I reading I reading I sorta getting the hang of it..I hav the focal lab discs, alpine an iasca discs with some notes so I'll be tying that but don't expect nohing great eh! I done use to take rel long tuning 16 bands on the prs.. lol much less for the 701

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 8th, 2010, 8:04 pm

once again i have another issue but nothing big..i noticed the arc amp was giving a problem with the front channels in stereo and bridged..i called arc audio today and they said send them it and they will take care of it..
I didnt have to run though and get transfered or wait long on the phonet..they said send it their way and they will see about it..thats customer service for you

but everything else is shaping up nicely..no major problems..and the car will be up an running by the time you guys come in march..

an sully which ever judge willing to help meh tune :lol:

Postby SR » February 8th, 2010, 8:46 pm

sully go tune

i go drink the beers

GVTrini07

Postby GVTrini07 » February 9th, 2010, 1:05 am

SR - Yes I do have an Original Iasca Cd. Linear notes somewhere...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 9th, 2010, 9:05 am

tuning gurus!

as we on the topic of tuning..
after i slect crossover points..do i tune for tonality first and then worry about imaging or should i adjust my TA etc and then fiddle with the eq?

i remembered reading a debate about it on a forum a couple years but the website dont work no more and i cant remember the details on it..

Postby SR » February 9th, 2010, 9:07 am

tonality

Sully

Postby Sully » February 9th, 2010, 12:44 pm

I tune for tonality first, then imaging and staging, then tweak the tonality.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 13th, 2010, 1:00 am

i going to redo the pods by the kicks for my new midrange :x
and i also waiting to get the amp back from arc audio

so im just running the elates and the matrix tweeters for the while as my front stage

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 15th, 2010, 1:04 am

i put the midrange drivers in ..did a bit of quick listening but still fiddling with the xover
but next time around more than likely ill be going 2way over 3way

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 24th, 2010, 6:26 am

i thinking bout changing my amps now :|

Postby SR » February 24th, 2010, 6:32 am

u should have stuck to DLS

:mrgreen:

or try the jl hd amps

Sully

Postby Sully » February 24th, 2010, 6:36 am

pimptacular wrote:i thinking bout changing my amps now :|

Says the guy who said that you can't hear the difference between amplifiers.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 24th, 2010, 6:51 am

no no i love my dls ultimates, they have been great to me and it hurting meh to consider selling them u have no idea

nothing to do with the sound and class D's are what im considering because of its size, efficiency and power

HDs are tempting but i eh get a job yet :lol:

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 24th, 2010, 7:40 am

Anybody want an A6 mono and an A2 to buy?

Small $$. :lol:

Pm me serious.

casper

Postby casper » February 24th, 2010, 8:18 am

man cut up a BM yesss :cry:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » February 24th, 2010, 8:35 am

not really..only a hole in each door and a slit or 2 in the carpet under the center console which not visble

i real anal about serious modification apart from it being plenty work :oops: