SPL machine- SEPTEMBER!!!!!!! PICS-PG 2

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 12th, 2008, 3:31 pm

WHAT engine is going in the march to pull this crap load of steel and mdf. I figure this is going to be a trailer queen off stock engine, and will only be on engine to and from the tent to the judging tent and to run alternators?
Still tho, its murder on the poor 1000cc stock.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 12th, 2008, 3:52 pm

well dont expect dream_cars to drive this around with his line up of vehicles..

Im sure hes got the suspention, chassis and engine work done, judging from the work Ive seen him come out with..

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » June 12th, 2008, 3:54 pm

lol, we actually going to let the stock engine try to pull it first, any ideas on if it will...?

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 12th, 2008, 4:00 pm

what size it it? 1000cc? You know the weight of the car before and after build? A/T or M/T?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 4:05 pm

you will not leave first gear if ur tranny even hold up if its really a 1000cc :lol:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » June 12th, 2008, 5:07 pm

its a 1000cc original local engine. manual. not sure of the final weight.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 5:29 pm

don't try to drive that too much...

you will not be able to stop or turn easily...

from what i read that you're doing... you may have in excess of 8,000 lbs here..

southside connections

Postby southside connections » June 12th, 2008, 5:58 pm

lol,overwieght march :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 12th, 2008, 8:25 pm

u can always install a B11 engine in it - about 10yrs ago when my bro had a march it had a sunny 1500cc engine with a auto trans & used to move very lively ...with all that excessive weight u def should upgrade that engine too ...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 12th, 2008, 8:42 pm

esssaaaarrrr twenny :twisted:

Postby 3stagevtec » June 12th, 2008, 8:42 pm

if possible, get some stiffer springs as well... with that weight, the march will be on the floor!

boom

Postby boom » June 12th, 2008, 9:42 pm

Im sure hes got the suspention, chassis and engine work done, judging from the work Ive seen him come out with..

Would think so right.. Guess hes got a thing for lighten cars not weighing them down lol...

Get some springs that can stand up to around 5000-8000lbs if so much..A more accurate weight of the final product would be helpful here.

As for engine, Im sure you ahve something that can stand up to the heat/wear/tear of revving at 2500-3000 rpm and put down some serious torque to pull that beast. Try to get it with a stong gearbox so as not to put any strain on the tranny..

Try the tech forums/nissan forums for some ideas on engines that will fit your application and suspention/chassis upgrades to accomodate the added weight..

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » June 12th, 2008, 11:01 pm

spoke to some people and they said that it might be able to move it just enough, but still wouldn't know until we try i guess. maybe a turbo 1000 might have more torque. (we might 1/4 mile it too)

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » June 12th, 2008, 11:46 pm

DJ Q wrote:esssaaaarrrr twenny :twisted:

That was taught of but too much mods.......

TheWiseOne

Postby TheWiseOne » June 12th, 2008, 11:49 pm

dream-carz wrote:. (we might 1/4 mile it too)

All i have to say is :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: oh an by the way ur car is newly remoded wid a sun roof suicide style........as of rite now.........dat should be less weight.....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 12:08 am

we might 1/4 mile it too

yuh aiming for 170 dB... not seconds

Chiney

Postby Chiney » June 13th, 2008, 2:09 am

^^ oh gad

that actually made me laugh there :lol: :lol: :lol:

good stuff so far dream-carz

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 13th, 2008, 7:09 am

actually a few yrs ago when shameer had done his car he had his stock engine and it moved it quite well as well as the charging aspect..

only thing is he used 3" pipe in place of the shocks as suspension .. hey it was an spl machine not daily driver as well as a traailer queen ..

so the stock engine sopp to do the job good

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » June 13th, 2008, 10:15 am

^^i feel so too, (more hope than feel)

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 13th, 2008, 10:20 am

u gettin me frighten wid my project

Postby SR » June 13th, 2008, 10:24 am

stock 1000cc wont move it

overall weight estimated from my calculations is gonna be about 5 times or more compared to the oem vehicle weight

suggest shoehorning in a 1500 or 1600 nissan engine

keep in mind engine also has to turn the upagraded alternators which will take away a lot of power

vehicle only needs to be drive into the lanes for testing and back out

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » June 13th, 2008, 10:32 am

B11 Turbo :mrgreen:

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » June 13th, 2008, 10:37 am

you kill joy!! well, the b14 engine should be easy to fit in there.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 13th, 2008, 10:54 am

Suspension, what suspension? 10" rims with 195/10/75/80 series tyres.
weld on some steel struts and throw away all them springs and shocks.

You need power low down Jodi, consider the supercharged version of the MA10, I feel you know a guy who knows that engine intimately:evil: .

Remember that because you can't cross 2000rpm, a turbo might not be of much use for the sole purpose of adding torque to drive multiple alternators. A supercharger tho, makes boost off the get go. :mrgreen:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » June 13th, 2008, 11:24 am

^what about diesel?

diesel engines supposed to have low end torque

CD20T?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 13th, 2008, 11:34 am

You ever look inside a march engine bay or try to fit anything other than an MA10? Just to put in a b13 engine, you hadda cut off a piece of the chassis to clear the crankshaft pulley. Hence the reason I never bothered to put in anything else when my MA10 turbo engine broke.

here is the engine...

Last edited by nigel1977 on June 13th, 2008, 11:43 am, edited 2 times in total.

dream-carz

Postby dream-carz » June 13th, 2008, 11:38 am

yup, supercharged will might the way

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 13th, 2008, 11:45 am

Am I reading this right? The turbo dumps INTO the supercharger?
Hmmm, ditch the turbo. lol.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 13th, 2008, 11:50 am

Tight fit yo
just HOW many alternators were you planning to fit? :twisted: :twisted:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 13th, 2008, 2:28 pm

^now that is what u call a really TIGHT fit - at least when my bro had his march d sunny engine fit in good with some space to spare .... :P