E.O.I SQS #2. All Info on Pg1.

Lance

Postby Lance » May 16th, 2008, 9:04 pm

SR wrote:will check with shameer for them if not i will see if i cant print some tonight

Thanks alot,

I would have printed my own but i dont have a printer at home.

Hope you Guys have a productive day tomorrow. :wink:

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » May 17th, 2008, 5:31 am

finally the day has come...hahahahha :wiggle: :ughug: :wiggle:

Postby SR » May 17th, 2008, 6:45 pm

ah yes

day one was well worth it cant wait till tomorow for day

those who didnt attend man allyuh well miss out

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 17th, 2008, 7:47 pm

Looking forward to tomorrow...the listening reference system, building an actual sq system, and actual ICE discussions!

Postby SR » May 17th, 2008, 7:52 pm

man today was better than the last one

nice discussions

and some welcomed attendeess

12 volts audio
Dadio

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » May 17th, 2008, 8:49 pm

thanks...dred..i realllllllllllllll learn plenty...worth every cent...and d food & refreshments was bess tooo !! lol
i cant wait for day 2 ! :shock:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » May 17th, 2008, 9:25 pm

yea it was kool, nice work everyone :D

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » May 17th, 2008, 11:33 pm

yeah too bad i ent get to taste the food....lol

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 18th, 2008, 6:45 am

:twisted: Day 2 is here :twisted:

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » May 18th, 2008, 6:33 pm

well day2 is over. It went well alot of information was again passed on to us from the experts. It was excellent and the IB install was tweet.....

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 18th, 2008, 7:23 pm

Got to meet up a lot of 2nrs and hear a lot of 2nr installs, a lot of practical information was learned and we saw an sq system installed in about 4 hours, the clarus line was used and it was very, very impressive. Midbass was enjoyable in that car.
Material covered was good, food was good, music was good, giveaways were good.
IMO the right things were covered in the little time we had with Team Hybrids. Congrats on another successful event guys.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 18th, 2008, 9:01 pm

Also there is a track 15 & a 16 on the SQS disks. They are crazy imaging tracks! Virtual barbershop :lol:

Lance

Postby Lance » May 18th, 2008, 9:49 pm

Summit was Excellent,

The classroom portion flowed nicely from what i remembered from the last Day1. I'm not sure if i was better equiped this time to recieve the information, but it was well imparted.

The Practical Session was great also. alot of little tricks and tips to help you out in your own build, just had to open your eyes and observe.

Overall it was money well spent, actually the best i've spent so far since my imvolvement in the Car audio hobby.

Good Job guys!

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » May 18th, 2008, 10:11 pm

yeah it was..also i think that 3 days would be ideal for this..more time to cover ceratain topics in fine detail

jeff

Postby jeff » May 19th, 2008, 1:07 am

maybe a little more real time tuning on the install to test theories would have been great but in all was still an informative and productive day
nice to meet up with and hear tuners cars
silent i forget to hear you car :|

well done Scott, team hybrids and those who made this possible

SQS 3?

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 19th, 2008, 7:44 am

[quote="dadio"]thanks...dred..i realllllllllllllll learn plenty...worth every cent...and d food & refreshments was bess tooo !! lol

word, food and refreshments were good. the information imparted was well done and learned a lot. looking forward to sqs 3.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 19th, 2008, 7:55 am

jeff wrote:well done Scott, team hybrids and those who made this possible

x2 well done to dinelle rave and team hybrids for organising everything so well

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 19th, 2008, 8:17 am

pimptacular wrote:

kudos. good job guys

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 19th, 2008, 9:32 am

I loving the new SQS CD.
Kidrock track for midbass test (better than the Queen track for midbass). "Be There" track (de slow one) for vocal dynamics (midrange like wow). Isley Brothers track for midbass too.
Track 15 is a bruuuuuuuuutaaaaaalll staging and imaging test.

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » May 19th, 2008, 9:41 am

good man good :lol:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » May 19th, 2008, 9:43 am

glad to hear this went well...

wish i cud have been dear

Postby 3stagevtec » May 19th, 2008, 3:55 pm

gfbl wrote:
pimptacular wrote:

kudos. good job guys

x3 here.. thanks Scott, Daylan, Dinelle, and others for the excellent event... learnt alot.. (brought home alot more too... :shock: )

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 20th, 2008, 6:45 am

you lucky mofo

TK!

Postby TK! » May 20th, 2008, 9:41 am

:-) great 2 days guys. Dinelle really came good. Value for $$. Infomation like mad!

i think u can take this info and go on to be a great installer (SQ and otherwise)

Scott Buwalda

Postby Scott Buwalda » May 20th, 2008, 10:35 am

Thanks for coming guys! I am back home, and trying to get caught back up from being away for four days!

I wanted to sincerely thank you all for your attendence, and for the nice feedback for Day #2. This was the first time *ever* that we have proctored a day 2 of the seminar. I agree, some form of tuning fundamentals needs to be included next time. Any suggestions of how we can do this for 20-25 people? Perhaps we can use a great nearfield audio system, and I can do stuff to it to mke it wrong, and then we work through step-by-step on how to improve it? Then maybe get a car or two to tweak on...let everyone have three minutes inside and a note pad, and everyone gets a chance to jot down what they think the problems are, and we compare notes. And then I recommend how to improve, and then do the improvements, and have everyone take a second listen?? Thoughts?

Scott

Postby SR » May 20th, 2008, 10:45 am

Scott i think if we have a proper yearly shedule for this it can be done for 20people

set a permanent date and limit the class size

ensure that registration is done at least 3 months in advance and i am sure a vehicle can be prepped

practical training for everyone's ears is needed

i agree on the individual notes then discuss everyone's suggestions

but all in all very good session

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » May 20th, 2008, 1:34 pm

great sugesstions there Scott and SR.....

Scott Buwalda

Postby Scott Buwalda » May 20th, 2008, 2:25 pm

I have spoken with Dinelle. We have already lined out a potential skeleton for a new SQS.

Day #1 will be this year's Day #2 course load. This time, we finish it up. The Day #1 course has now officially been retired in Trinidad, because there has been ~50 people that have successful took the Day #1 course. Last weekend's Day #2 was only about 1/3 done before we broke for Bill Pleasant's music CD, and for lunch, and represents where we need to pick up for the next time. So this last time's Day #2 course becomes Day #1 for the next event. Here's what's being proposed:

Day #1: Advanced SQS (using this year's Day #2 material, and finishing it up proper this time). 8 hour seminar with catered food, hand-outs, and music CD's. Free gear too.

Day #2: Full-day application. This will include a morning listening and tuning tutorial (how to listen and how to tune). Everyone will be given a tuning spreadsheet, and a "call-out" list of orders to tuning, including a laminated sheet with check boxes and notes columns (kind of like an SQ score sheet, but check-box driven). I will basically teach you how to set-up a car, and how to tune a car from start to finish. I will "modify" the near-field sound system with several items, and we will work through, one at a time, the problems we hear, and how to correct them. I'd like to see how close we come to unity (all of us recognizing the same problem areas in the near-field system). Once we've talked about the results of the exercise, I will incorporate our changes, and we'll listen to the changes we asked for to see if the changes were valid, and further, to see if there are any other changes needed.

Once complete at the near-field audio system, we will then all evaluate the newly-installed BMW's system (the system that was installed on Sunday). Everyone will use the tools we have handed out to evaluate the BMW (preferably without comparing notes). An RTA will be running with a microphone in the car running in "medium" speed to assist hearing spectral aberrations. This will be done in three to five-minute intervals...get in, listen, pick out the most glaring problems, use the tools we have given you, and get out, so the next person can begin. We'll then re-convene back to our seats and discuss what we heard...we'll compare who heard what, and discuss how the things we heard can be resolved. We'll then have lunch.

Immediately after lunch, Bill, Dinelle, and crew will offer some timeless installation advice for about an hour while I tune the BMW (the installation advice will include decoupling techniques, circle jigging, round-overs, proper fiber glassing techniques, acoustic damping and acoustic absorption, speaker locations and order of step, step response, zero delay plane, etc.). I will limit myself to one hour and fifteen minutes of tuning the BMW, and will seek the assistance (a tuning buddy) for this section. I'll then invite everyone back to listen to the BMW again to witness the differences.

Everyone will once again get a 3 to 5-minute audition. If there are any remaining issues after my tune, or if issues were not quite resolved, it'll be your responsibility to make note of these and then present your results back in the classroom format. NOTE: I might PURPOSELY leave one or two things unchanged, or purposely make two or three new problems in the car for you to figure out. We'll see if you're using your eyes or your ears. In fact, I will do my best to use the psychoacoustic power of persuasion to convince you of things that truly do not exist, or convince you that a problem area has been rectified, and it will be up to you to gather and evaluate what this data is and successfully call me out on it. We'll give prizes to the people that find the three to five flaws that I purposely left in the system. When everyone's done, we'll compare notes to see what everyone heard (this will be a fantastic exercise by the way, because we'll all hear things slightly differently). I will then reveal in a step-by-step manner what I did to tune the car, and then reveal what I left alone, or what I changed to make the system worse. We'll then demonstrate back at the car what each adjustment did, why that adjustment was done, and the new result. If there are remaining issues that were identified during the second review of the group after my tuning, as well as the newly-introduced issues, we will attempt to fix these at this time. We might even try to do a before and after ABX comparison.

By the end of the day, everyone will have been involved with learning how to listen, learning on how to be repeatable and objective in your listening, and will have provided input on how to tune a near-field audio system and the BMW audio system using software and techniques learned in the Summit. We'll learn how important power of persuasion psychoacoustics really issue, and how to over come it. We'll learn objective listening as the most important tenet of the exercise. We'll then wrap everything up with a recap of the theories presented, and how the theories were put into practice. There will also be free equipment give-aways as well, like Day #1, for early registration, and for Q&A.

What do you guys think?

How does late September through October look?

Scott
Last edited by Scott Buwalda on May 20th, 2008, 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » May 20th, 2008, 2:35 pm

sounds awesome. i'm in

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » May 20th, 2008, 2:43 pm

sounds gud to me.