Head Unit Question - Pioneer vs Alpine

Black Lancer

Head Unit Question - Pioneer vs Alpine

Postby Black Lancer » September 15th, 2005, 11:33 am

This is for peeps who have had experience with both.....and when i say pioneer i referring more to the premier Units like the P8....and the 770mp etc...And in terms of Alpine i looking at the CDA - 9851 and CDA - 9853

Obviously it depends on what i looking for.....so this is what i want...
Head unit....to run components for now..... Orion C series....and Orion coaxials behind.....now i have no intention of putting in amp to soon but want to leave it open for a little further in the futture.....so leh we say it should have 3 pre outs....(front/rear/sub)....Clean sound is what I am looking for...

Now why i ask is because i have had experience with Pioneers and SOny's ....and both themselves werent far from clean......no experience first hand with Alpine's ..(ie. without support by amps)......The Price factor also supports Pioneer as well as it pre out voltages.....wit 6v vs an alpine 2-4 volts......however Alpines seem to have alot more sound features...eq etc.....

So what are your opinions...looking to purchase something soon so.....ne advice appreciated by those experienced...

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 15th, 2005, 11:57 am

go wid the /////ALPINE...

altough, if you saved a lil more....you can get better performance wid the cda-9855 as compared to the cda-9853

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » September 15th, 2005, 12:08 pm

what are the major difference between the cda-9853 and 55?????

besides pre out voltage?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 15th, 2005, 4:57 pm

Jed I will say Alpine all the way till meh grave... Pioneer is good , I currently run one in my car but I say Alpine for clean clear loud crisp sound :|

Sully

Postby Sully » September 15th, 2005, 6:28 pm

I prefer the Alpine over the Pioneer. The extra features included with the Alpine units are more useful than those included with the Pioneer units. If you're more into bling than the sound then I'd suggest that you go with the Pioneer, otherwise stick with the Alpine.

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 15th, 2005, 7:05 pm

/////|LPine dood

o_0

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » September 15th, 2005, 9:43 pm

the 9855 also has some cool screen savers that are of a really high picture quality. as far as power from the deck without amps alpine all d way you get alot more power than pioneer and its alot cleaner.

JL

Postby JL » September 16th, 2005, 11:23 am

The Alpine would be a better choice. I had pioneer 7500mp and it was ok. But when I got my Kenwood I started hearing things in the music that I never knew existed....

The pioneer S/N ratio is a bit low: 94dB I think The Alpine is 105dB
The thd on the Pioneer is about 0.01% The alpine is 0.008%

I chose Kenwood over Alpine cause the S/N is 110dB and the thd is about the same

Hope this helps.... :)

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » September 16th, 2005, 12:20 pm

Yea Kenwoods sound good.......but two ppl i know...their own went bad after a while
They stopped reading cd's totlally among other things........but that was with the models before those out now though

Postby X_Factor » September 16th, 2005, 7:48 pm

If you're more into bling than the sound then I'd suggest that you go with the Pioneer, otherwise stick with the Alpine

yupp
u cyar get a better answer dan dat

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 16th, 2005, 8:09 pm

fellas, correct me if i wrong, but the high end model alpines he talking bout , do they have high level speaker outs? cause i know most high end alpines doh have them and in that case he would be needing ah amp.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 16th, 2005, 8:56 pm

nah, the old school hi end alpines are pre outs. the new ones got the speaker outs. some thing called v-drive, where its supposed to run them speakers quite well.

xtrail

Postby xtrail » September 17th, 2005, 7:18 am

alpine

pros- better frequency response, loud high level output, bass engine offers real good sub output with better control.

cons- feature for feature more expensive, cd section gave problems on mine after about 1 year as well as others i know, paint on knobs look worn not too long after, displays tend to be shitty (higher end OEL displays address this problem now)

Pioneer

Pros- Cheaper, Very decent frequency response unless you are a SQ enthusiast, easier menus, can play more music files types for cheaper, even plays scratched copy cds(that the alpine couldn't), knobs do not wear easily. Real nice displays.

Cons- Preset settings tend to make music sound thin ( a good tuner can beat this).

all in all you will probably get more music out of the alpine but more life from the pioneer.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 19th, 2005, 8:41 am

So what did you decide on Black Lancer?

Postby SR » September 19th, 2005, 8:49 am

Alpine 9853 :mrgreen:

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » September 19th, 2005, 9:07 am

yup
thanx for the info fellas......

did the SOny and the pioneer........so i say i go try something new

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 19th, 2005, 7:26 pm

*yawing*
CLARIty ONly.....

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 20th, 2005, 8:01 am

^^I would like to see it in action when you get it......what model exactly? ^^

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 20th, 2005, 8:43 am

the old school upgrade. 96khz d/a conversion..
thd 0.003
freq 5hz-20k
sn 112
and yes.. copper chassis.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 20th, 2005, 8:55 am

see what ah mean......ppl goin back to old school we.. and just the odder day ah man laughing at meh old school deck we

Postby Hook » September 20th, 2005, 1:20 pm

ah laugh...but ah walk away wit yuh ole skool tweets ent?

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 20th, 2005, 3:16 pm

ways ^^ ah wasn't referring to you nah....but ammm that make it two ppl who laugh at meh deck we :?

Postby SR » September 20th, 2005, 4:12 pm

~snYper~ wrote:see what ah mean......ppl goin back to old school we.. and just the odder day ah man laughing at meh old school deck we

old school deck yuh say

hmmmm

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 20th, 2005, 6:27 pm

the old school deck im talking about is a revamped model. its built on the success of the older model.. with a few refinements...
DRZ9255.

Sully

Postby Sully » September 20th, 2005, 7:42 pm

old school deck yuh say

hmmmm

Sounding like a clockface about to make an appearance.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 21st, 2005, 8:07 am

This is one of em...

It was late in the nite so ah do a quick ting for allyuh nah

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 21st, 2005, 7:10 pm

them mb-75 are from a lot of those roro's out of singapore hoss. they not the "real ting" and they not so old.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » September 22nd, 2005, 8:46 am

nigel1977 wrote:them mb-75 are from a lot of those roro's out of singapore hoss. they not the "real ting" and they not so old.

This one did not come off any RORO from Signapore :roll:
Doh matter if it is 'the ting' or not nah... the deck is still tha bomb! 8)