40%
JL Audio e6450
53%

Total votes: 15

silent_riot

Need help choosing a 5 channel amp!!! poll

Postby silent_riot » May 18th, 2005, 2:41 pm

Fellas, which of these do you recommend?
Plenty ppl away like the kicker.
I want the best sound quality amp, which will last
These are the best ones within my price range

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » May 18th, 2005, 5:05 pm

i like the orion.... but i find the cobalt 500.5 sq would be a lil better than the 7005

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 18th, 2005, 7:22 pm

Okay...soundstreams not available, e series have too little power on the sub channels.
It's between the kicker and the orion....
The kicker has 420 watts into 2 Ohms on the sub channel + 85 x 4..and a bass remote too..Orion is 300W into 2 Ohms (sub) + 100 x 4

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 19th, 2005, 8:55 am

I agree Orion Cobalt 500.5

Postby Hook » May 19th, 2005, 5:57 pm

*grins an evil grin whilst stroking my chinny chin chin*

aye riot...u forgot something...

<iframe width=700 height=500 src=http://www.alpine-europe.com/alpine/english/p307.products_amplifiers_mrv-f450_5-4-3-channel-power-amplifier.htm></iframe>

*giggles uncontrollably*

Postby equipped2ripp » May 19th, 2005, 8:51 pm

what about the directed 1100.5?

Postby SR » May 20th, 2005, 8:07 am

ralliart the 7005 is cleaner than the cobalt for sound q
output circuitry is better also the processing is better
the cobalt is an excellent 5 channle for the price however the sub channel needs more power

my prfereences would be either the orion or the jl

the kicker specs are overated and with my expereince with these amps they do not play as clean
the soundstream is really a power acoustic with a soundstream badge
the real soundstream amplifiers are the expensive ones ie the 2 highest end models from soundstream these amps are the real deal

for true sound q with the options listed
here are my choices from top to bottom

1 JL
2 Orion
3 Kicker/Soundstream

of course price is always a deciding factor

if this is the case then the directed amp can be considered as well
they use to make a 6 channel amp that worked well but i dont think it is available any more

Pablo660

Postby Pablo660 » May 20th, 2005, 8:26 am

Orion after my recent experience :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
SR is an expert so take his word
The cobalt as he says great for the price
I paid $1500 at electromania and its wort every cent to me
and it drives my system great and my plans was for this to be a total mids amp but the sub line ( for me is exellent) so for all in one i would rate this amp efficent and affordable( wort every cent)

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » May 20th, 2005, 2:37 pm

Yup the orion or the Jl are good options, however directed USED to have a model called the 650..that's a very good 5 channel amp. i believe it was rated at 75x4 and 300X1..

If u cud get that amp..i say go with it

btw what are the specs on the jl amp?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 20th, 2005, 4:24 pm

75x6 @ 2ohms i think...but it real underrated

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 21st, 2005, 8:14 am

u cud always checl put a us amps 5600x

xtrail

Postby xtrail » May 22nd, 2005, 7:08 am

don't forget the crossfire 705d. It is clean and powerful.

50 x 4+ 200 x1 (4ohms)
100 x4 + 300 x1 (2 ohms)

(rated at 12.5 therefore expect more)

This amp runs cool and looks the part.

Around 2800.

richiepooh

Postby richiepooh » June 17th, 2005, 5:25 pm

MY Friend.......my opinion!

Go with the DIRECTED strickly the best.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 17th, 2005, 5:36 pm

jed that directed eh that hott eh my padna had one for a good time n it wasnt that impressive my 2 soundstreams way more powerful an equal in sq an both amps cost less ...it it were my choice go wid what xtrail said ..d crossfire rel good an the soundstream doh get me wrong eh all are good amps but bang for buch jed those are my two choices d crossfire then d soundstream

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » June 17th, 2005, 8:44 pm

one of the better 5 ch amps i came across is the mtx thunder 4500 i think and the blue thunder 5 ch.
the sub channel has a bass eq. its like wow!!!!!

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 17th, 2005, 9:15 pm

d old orions jed mad

after directed bought orion well they lost my vote

get d cobalt i heard that personally and its great

btw only d xstream lien of soundstream an power acoustik have d same circuirty but if a company wid better engineering was bought by a company wid weaker engineering theyd continue to use d weaker come nah ppl tink for urself

jus cus it loud doh hadda call it a gallery car dis forum too biased jed ..hardly any honest opinions jus ppl tryin to get sale

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 18th, 2005, 1:37 pm

What about the interfire 5 channel???
As cost is my limiting factor, it seems to be my best option

xtrail

Postby xtrail » June 18th, 2005, 4:48 pm

yea,
intefire is cheaper but good for a small system. Check the sub rating. Not that much i think.

btw i could get you a 3mth old crossfire for a good price.

SanjayBasdeo

amp

Postby SanjayBasdeo » June 18th, 2005, 10:47 pm

[quote=that directed eh that hott eh my padna had one for a good time n it wasnt that impressive my 2 soundstreams way more powerful an equal in sq an both amps cost less ...[/quote]

boi Bring yuh too amp ....i have 1 directed 5 channel ...yuh ent ready ... :twisted:

just ask fuzz or blue ice or vtec about it ....

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » June 19th, 2005, 1:11 pm

hahah doh get vex wen dey wuk d directed eh

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 19th, 2005, 3:59 pm

YUh wah clean sounding power Kicker is the way to go and trust meh dah wattage they state is not correct there are tricks to suck more power out of the amp.

_santa_

Postby _santa_ » June 20th, 2005, 1:15 pm

well Mr soundstream, two of ur soundstream amps must be wayy more powerful than one directed because it's TWO!...Directed is of a higher class than soundstream and anyone knows that. It may seem better to u because..ur padna can't hook up music..different subs/box/car or because u own the soundstream products and not a directed to see the difference in ur system. I agree with SR in that soundstream is a power accoustic

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » June 20th, 2005, 6:55 pm

from ur choices the Orion is the most resonable bet....but I heard a 5 ch DIRECTED slam an entire system.... get the Directed.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 22nd, 2005, 12:23 pm

Thanks fellas, but I put in an order for the Interfire 5 channel from Exonic...i waiting bout a month now for it wit the cash in meh pocket, but i'm patient.....