Here this puzzle guys

Postby nervewrecker » October 12th, 2014, 1:00 am

Helping a tuner with an install, well cleaning up the mess some installers made at least....a few of them.

Have a heap of remote wires, three amps, one crossover and 4 fans. So I pull out all the remote wires and run new ones together with the b+ to the fans. Only the crossover not powered off the relay.

I power up the system with no RCA's connected and everything comes on fine. Cool scene, time to plug in the RCA's so the head unit is switched off. System remains on.

It had two remote wires that may have been signal wires to turn on the relay. One from the crossover and one from the deck. I Used the one from the deck to turn on the relay and the relay to power up the cross together with the fans etc.

To kill the power to the relay after the system turned off I removed the remote wire \ trigger wire and the system remain on with three wires connected to a 5 pin relay.

What did I miss?

Re: Here this puzzle guys

Postby 3stagevtec » October 12th, 2014, 1:44 am

Relay should have 4 wires connected to it, trigger wire and ground.. main battery input and normally-open output to remote on amps / cross / fans..

Make sure the relay is wired corrected and NOT on the normally closed side. (I believe it is the center pin that we don't use). With 3 wires connected the only possibility I can see is a mix up in wiring to the relay and it is on the normally closed side of the contactor.

Go through with a multimeter and see where the power coming from if else..

Postby nervewrecker » October 12th, 2014, 9:04 am

The donkey across the road by me fall out with I over his dotish parking so my head was hot and forgot knife, meter etc home.
The relay was there before with two wires tapped off an amp, constant b+, gnd with an inline fuse on the b+. The next two wires were connected to a remote wire tapped from an amps supply and the other going to the fans. All I did was neaten them up and put the amps remote on the same connection with the fans. The extra wire that was taped up that is normally closed when the trigger is dead remained taped up and unused.

As is, systems remains off, when deck comes on, system comes on.....with no trigger wire connected to the relay 0.o and it remains on 0.o

Maybe gremlins or evil spirits in the electronics? :lol:

Didn't see the need for a 5 pin relay anyways, I bought a 4 pin by mistake without realizing I still had mine so I tell him we can swap relays and if it works he can buy it off me.

Going the teach a man to fish route instead of giving him a fish as he has another car to install some music in and already spent a few thousand by "installers".

Postby Ted_v2 » October 12th, 2014, 9:11 am

Whose that fella Dan? A 5 pin the middle always has power and is switched to the one opposite the input

Postby nervewrecker » October 12th, 2014, 9:14 am

Not calling names, is a tuner.

Buy if it always has power the system will be on all the time, won't need the deck to come on to turn on the amps and fans.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 13th, 2014, 7:24 pm

Dont understand where all the remote wires exactly fitting in to the signal side of the relay.

Deck to relay.....relay to everything else...

Any reason the cross signal going into the relay?

Use one of them cheap barrier strips and jumper it for all the remote turn ons for all the other equipment.

4/5 pin dont matter anyway, just dont use the center pin if its a 5

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2014, 7:31 pm

Thats what I did. :lol:

And the system turns on with no signal wire connected with the powering on of the head unit. Serious talk :lol:

Ended up pulling out all the wires yes.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » October 13th, 2014, 8:36 pm

Any chance any amp or crossover constant power wire strand touching the remote input?

Postby nervewrecker » October 13th, 2014, 10:25 pm

Naw, double checked the amps.

Could it be the relay sticking?

I did some thinking and remembered that the system in fact turns on with the signal from the remote wire and stays on after that. It does not power on with the remote wire disconnected (that is impossible).

The 5th pin remains unused and the wire remained taped up like his installer left it. Originally I used the relay to turn on and off a pair on fans and it worked fine. What I did not attempt is to try powering on a pair of fans alone and see of they remain on after I disconnect the signal \ remote wire.

The dude did say the relay is like 3 years old so could it in fact be the relay is sticking?

Edit: when I said in the original post that only the crossover not powered off the relay originally only the fans were on the relay. The deck remote was run to the three amps, a wire tapped off one amp to turn on the relay and a remote tapped off another amp and run back along the wire from the deck to the crossover under the driver seat. Mind you both wires had like three and five feet extra and the RCA's have like 10 feet extra length.
The power for the relay was tapped off an amp b+ where the insulation was stripped and the wire taped unto it with electrical tape. The fans grounded the same way on the amp terminal.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 14th, 2014, 12:35 am

If the relay output is connected to the remote turn on, the relay will stay energized even after you switch off the deck. It will basically keep itself on. Is this the wiring you have now?

I do not use the remote turn on in my vehicle.. instead, I use this momentary push button start circuit.. It is connected to the vehicle's Acc supply (not directly to batt as drawn), so when I start my vehicle, only the deck turns on.. Then after it is started, I press the momentary switch to turn on all amps. You can see the little jumper that runs from the relay output to the input to the internal coil. This is what keeps it energized after releasing the switch. When I turn off the vehicle, then all amps switch off. (Actually, I have a Normally Closed momentary switch installed also, a Start / Stop for the amps..)

I did that because I hated having the amps switch back off when trying to start the engine.. It eliminates the loud 'thud' you might sometimes get.

Postby nervewrecker » October 14th, 2014, 7:55 pm

That's how it was originally in that drawing.

Right now everything powered off the relay and it stays on. I'll just switch it with a 4 pin yes. That relay haunted.

I tapped off ign from b+ in the car so the system stays on, have a seperate switch on the ign wire to take off the deck.

Left the frontier as is though.