W.T.K Car alternator help?

Race Champ

W.T.K Car alternator help?

Postby Race Champ » August 27th, 2013, 2:16 am

My stock alternator produces 60amp more less 30 amps is used for stock electronics in car and 30 amps for aftermarket accessories like amplifires. Question is how many batteries can i run for my audio system and still maintain the voltage using stock alternator?

system 1ooorms monoblock
12oorms 4channel

Re: W.T.K Car alternator help?

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 27th, 2013, 1:34 pm

like one crappy battery alone lol

Or if you really wanna run multiple batteries, you can,,, just be prepared to endure long charge times lol

But on a reals, 2200W needs 183A of current at 12V , so one good alternator and 2 good batteries will be good enough ( if you playing continuous)

(and pls doh disturb the peace, good luck in your endeavours )

Postby skylinechild » August 27th, 2013, 11:17 pm

Race Champ wrote:My stock alternator produces 60amp more less 30 amps is used for stock electronics in car and 30 amps for aftermarket accessories like amplifires. Question is how many batteries can i run for my audio system and still maintain the voltage using stock alternator?

system 1ooorms monoblock
12oorms 4channel

you will need to upgrade your alternator. the stock alternator does NOT pump out the full amperage at all times it only produces what your vehicle needs.

The problem arises when you add electronics - HID kits amplifiers stereos and DVD screens fog lights high wattage bulbs and such.

these things cause the alternator to output close to - or max amperage- and this still wont be enough - what happens is this causes your alternator to "burn out" the rectifier diodes and such were not meant to constantly supply the full load at all times...and the alternator burns out- coils and such is damaged as well.

solution..get a more powerful alternator and do a big 3 upgrade

CleanAudio

Postby CleanAudio » October 23rd, 2013, 10:24 pm

Yeah I'd recommend you upgrade your alternator to a 90amp for the least and one good battery up front with the Big 3 wiring and you shouldn't have problems there..

musikboyzz

Postby musikboyzz » October 24th, 2013, 12:51 pm

My stock alternator produces 60amp more less 30 amps is used for stock electronics in car and 30 amps for aftermarket accessories like amplifires. Question is how many batteries can i run for my audio system and still maintain the voltage using stock alternator?

2 bateries in da trunk.. ( 2 Stingerspv70, 2 Yellowtop Optima)

CleanAudio

Postby CleanAudio » October 24th, 2013, 3:15 pm

musikboyzz wrote:My stock alternator produces 60amp more less 30 amps is used for stock electronics in car and 30 amps for aftermarket accessories like amplifires. Question is how many batteries can i run for my audio system and still maintain the voltage using stock alternator?

2 bateries in da trunk.. ( 2 Stingerspv70, 2 Yellowtop Optima)

First we should ask him his budget, because two of those batteries you recommended are $3000+

But If he upgrades to a higher amperage alternator (90amps) for instance would be an average of $800 and 1 Optima Yellow Top Battery up front, $1500....and big 3 wiring (wires + fuse) costing $200 all adds up to $2500..

Plus if he wants to upgrade his system which is a very common case to alot of audioholics, he wouldn't need to worry about the charging system ...Just add another battery. Do it right and done...Just my 2cents.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 24th, 2013, 9:57 pm

More batteries just mean longer playing times.
Higher amperage alt means faster recharge of batteries
I'd suggest you do the big 3 upgrade and upgrade alt until you can add another battery . your size of system is small but you did not say what type of batt u have ight now.

An oem alt supplies rated power at idle and not high rev as aftermarket alts.

5forward

Postby 5forward » November 24th, 2013, 7:48 pm

I have a similar question so ill ask it here...My stock alternator is 70 amps and the battery in the engine bay can fit in the palm of my hand.If i add something like a truck battery to the back, would this damage my alternator in the long run? ...This is assuming my electrical demands doesn't exceed the battery capacity and voltage is always monitored.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 24th, 2013, 8:48 pm

if it hadda charge a dead truck battery all the time, yes It will damage in no time

but if it just hadda top up an almost full battery, it won't be under too much load
so I guess it depends on what ya gonna do

5forward

Postby 5forward » November 24th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Eventually the car will have music...probably a similar system/current draw as the OP's system.I know about not playing the system till the voltage goes below 12 and all of that but i just wana know if my alternator will damage

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 25th, 2013, 7:13 pm

no it will not .
Best advice tho is to change the batt in front to the largest u can get,also reason pple recommend to upgrade the current wires upfront is because stock wires are about a 10 or 8 in size. upgraded to a 4ga or even 0ga usually helps in getting current to the batt faster .

5forward

Postby 5forward » November 25th, 2013, 7:26 pm

I do understand what you're saying but still think i wana go the way with the battery in the back. Thats because with my car i wont get any good size battery to fit in the engine bay and plus i already have the big battery.

What size alternator can safely charge my big battery guys?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 25th, 2013, 9:30 pm

what kind of car do u have dan ?there can be any type of alt/batt that will fit under that hood of ur car.

and u really cant size ur alt requirements on battry type but current draw from it .

what are your future plans in terms of music as well as ur budget?

5forward

Postby 5forward » November 25th, 2013, 10:42 pm

Its a B14. Future system would be 2200rms at max. As for budget, if im to upgrade the alternator it would have to be something oem and probably foreign used. Cant afford those big aftermarket ones.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 26th, 2013, 6:15 am

In a b14 application I have see up to 3 alts installed with just a bracket made .also I have seen an optima yellow top battery fit in the stand with no modification.there is also the xs power battery that will work without an added battery to the bacck.

As for alternator you have a 60A alt right now which could be changed to either a 90Aalt from an sr20 or a 140a from a tiida. Both will work once the right person installs it.

5forward

Postby 5forward » November 26th, 2013, 6:55 pm

Thanks for the info guys

Postby black start » November 26th, 2013, 9:46 pm

MonsterPower wrote:In a b14 application I have see up to 3 alts installed with just a bracket made .also I have seen an optima yellow top battery fit in the stand with no modification.there is also the xs power battery that will work without an added battery to the bacck.

As for alternator you have a 60A alt right now which could be changed to either a 90Aalt from an sr20 or a 140a from a tiida. Both will work once the right person installs it.

qg e throttle engines also come 90A.