Amp Tripping..

ste4lthy

Amp Tripping..

Postby ste4lthy » August 30th, 2013, 1:21 pm

I have a amp (massive audio nx2) running 2 eminence 6 inch beta. The specs on the amp says 480 rms @ 4 ohm bridged. When I do bridge, after about 20 mins of playing at high level amp will get hot and trip. I'm assuming this is because of thermal overload ? Or am I overlooking something ?

ProRx7

Re: Amp Tripping..

Postby ProRx7 » August 30th, 2013, 2:08 pm

bro some of d eminence read 6 ohms so when u bridged your spk u get less than 4 ohms so amp will trip after a few mins

dragonware

Postby dragonware » August 30th, 2013, 2:47 pm

^^^^^ ent I tell you dat, it reading at 3.6ohms

Postby sMASH » August 30th, 2013, 3:03 pm

That happened to me with the audio pipe . Put two fans on it and did the rest of the election

ste4lthy

Postby ste4lthy » August 30th, 2013, 3:34 pm

I was thinking to put fans but that is a next headache to mount them on cuz that amp so flickin small

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 30th, 2013, 5:00 pm

If yuh amp getting hot, then keep it cool :s

if you too lazy to do that,,, listen to your music in short intervals

Postby kurpal_v2 » August 30th, 2013, 5:16 pm

ProRx7 wrote:bro some of d eminence read 6 ohms so when u bridged your spk u get less than 4 ohms so amp will trip after a few mins

No. Just never say that to anyone.

ste4lthy

Postby ste4lthy » August 30th, 2013, 6:24 pm

Don't mean to sound stupid but isn't that reading DC resistance ? And is that different to impedance ?

Postby 3stagevtec » September 1st, 2013, 2:27 am

ste4lthy wrote:Don't mean to sound stupid but isn't that reading DC resistance ? And is that different to impedance ?

I'm surprised no one suggested this earlier.. Impedance and DC resistance is two different things. Nominal impedance on those would be around 8ohms each or 4ohms if two are wired in parallel.

Stinger had a nice cross flow fan that will make for an easy install..

http://stingerelectronics.com/productDetails.aspx?ProductId=121&CategoryID=3

ste4lthy

Postby ste4lthy » September 1st, 2013, 9:09 am

3stagevtec wrote:
ste4lthy wrote:Don't mean to sound stupid but isn't that reading DC resistance ? And is that different to impedance ?

I'm surprised no one suggested this earlier.. Impedance and DC resistance is two different things. Nominal impedance on those would be around 8ohms each or 4ohms if two are wired in parallel.

Stinger had a nice cross flow fan that will make for an easy install..

http://stingerelectronics.com/productDetails.aspx?ProductId=121&CategoryID=3

Finally somebody on the same page with me concerning the impedance rating. Anyways I guess I would have to find a way to mount a fan, I rel doh wana dig up and make the setup look ugly it hada be clean.

Thanks for the link to that fan, lookin like it go push REL BREEZE

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » September 2nd, 2013, 8:21 am

Check your grounds