Do I really need an amp?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 16th, 2013, 7:47 pm

Here's the rundown.

Looking for a small setup to replace the shot pioneer setup that came on my 6 year old Mitsu Sportero. [Door speakers scratchym the HU is meh]. I used to be into loud ass bass a long time ago, but I honestly don't need that sorta setup anymore.

Have room for 4 6.5" speakers, one per door.

Was thinking to run a decent pair of comps up front and perhaps a coax or straight loudspeakers in the rear for a little bassy boom.

I don't want to sacrifice any space behind the seat, although if I absolutely need to run an amp, I'll consider mounting it there.

Talk to me. Do I absolutely need an amp, or would a reasonably good HU have the speaker output to give me some personal clean sound?

Re: Do I really need an amp?

Postby nervewrecker » June 16th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Try a good head unit with the speakers you installing see how they perform and then if you choose to, install an amp.

Most aftermarket speakers rated at approx 50 watts rms and most head units put out approx 15 watts rms per channel. You will be underpowering them but if you said is just something small for inside then the head unit's power will cut it.

Somet things to note:

-You might end up over driving the head unit in an attempt to get that punch most sought,

-An upgrade to 50 watts per driver not going to get you twice as loud,

-Most aftermarket speakers will not do sub bass duty so a subwoofer to handle the lower octaves might be an option. Most likely you might end up with an amp if you are using 4 speakers but if its just 2 front speakers some head units can switch the rear channels to dedicated sub out's. Some sound deadening on the doors will help them get low but should you choose to remain without a sealed door (to access motors or anything like that) the sub can take up where they fall short.

and

-Amps have decreased significantly in size within the last year or two. Mini amps are slightly bigger than you wallet, a pair will do 50 * 4 watts to drive the speakers and close to 300 watts to power a subwoofer.

Most head units have adequate processing to run a whole system coupled with onboard xovers on the amps. Tried tested and proven.
Done right you will never even know the equpiment is there.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2013, 7:16 am

Recommendations for a setup then?
HU, Amp, speakers.
This time is all about reasonably clean sound on a budget.
My last two rides, I went all out with Alpine/JL - this rounds, I have other priorities.

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 17th, 2013, 10:43 am

What's your budget?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 17th, 2013, 1:18 pm

4-5K.
doable?

Postby X_Factor » June 17th, 2013, 4:25 pm

http://www.ebay.com/itm/140989102924?it ... 4c&vxp=mtr

fuzz on the forum has these for around 1500.00 so dont let space be an issue
its only a couple inches and packs a decent punch

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 17th, 2013, 9:14 pm

dude chnage deck to a double din , set of 6.5 for the doors and a dynamat bulk pack

pass and check me when time to install .... a six pack of coors will do .

Postby pioneer » June 17th, 2013, 11:09 pm

Get a proper headunit like the Alpine 147-149BT

Postby nervewrecker » June 17th, 2013, 11:49 pm

My opinion of the single din alpine head units built in amp is that they are weak....something like a Nakamichi MB-75 on the other hand....well thats another story.

The alpine 5 channel amp is pretty small and falls within your budget If not just do like monsterpower said and get a mono and sub for sub duty if you choose. Ah could get some beers if I put meh hand too oh wah? *shame*

Btw, I might bring de ting for you tomorrow eh man.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2013, 1:23 pm

MonsterPower, I checking you self to do the install, lol. The sportero dont have space for double din, so I'll stick with the single.

So far, here's what I'm thinking about, just a tad over the budget, but I can live with it.

Pioneer 80PRS HU (about the same price as the alpine, but heard it's WAAAY better!)
Loudforce Comps and Coax
Loudforce 5 channel amp

Will decide later on if I'll go with a small flat sub, but at least I'll have the hardware in place.

I can save about 1K if I go with the LoudForce 4 channel AB instead, but then I'll have to spring for another amp if I really want to run a small sub later on. I think I'll go with the 5 channel.

Thanks for the opinions guys.

Postby pioneer » June 18th, 2013, 1:30 pm

"you heard" it's way better...by whom? lol

so much unawareness ITT

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 18th, 2013, 1:44 pm

pioneer wrote:"you heard" it's way better...by whom? lol

so much unawareness ITT

Pios, my last 4 HU's were alpine, but I noticed the quality dropping after the 9887. maybe I'm comparing apples to oranges, but the X303 and X305 left a bit to be desired.

So far, I've heard good reviews about the PRS. Whether I'll like it for me is still up in the air, but I'll look for a good demo car before I make up my mind. Who selling the 149BT locally?

Postby ruffneck_12 » June 18th, 2013, 9:48 pm

a small amp wouldn't hurt :D

check out the small soundigital amps too, idk who sells them locally doh :/

Postby pioneer » June 19th, 2013, 12:09 am

Might have to bring in the 149 yourself, triple r or sound and security may have it

The x303 and 305 were digital media hu's, don't think they had the purists in mind

TK!

Postby TK! » June 19th, 2013, 10:49 pm

Design principle:

To build a system with good tonality, and to enjoy this at moderate listening levels. Stock speaker locations must be used and the system must be powered by the head unit. The system should be easily upgradable if or when the owner decides to increase its output power or frequncy range.

Front:
Coax in door - Polk Audio DXi651 US$75.00
Tweeter on A-pillar - Polk Audio DB1001 US$55.00

Rear:
Coax in door - Polk Audio DXi651 US$75.00
(Filter out the high frequncies via your deck's crossover. Use the same speaker as the front to make installation more streamlined. This coax can also be played full-range if desired.)

Acoustic Treatments:
The perceived acoustic level of a car stereo system is the level at which it play above the noise floor. A low noise floor means that more music is heard. If the vehicle is already silent inside the cabin, there is little or no need to add acoustic treatments.

Future Upgrades:
5-Channel Amplifier
Wiring for Amp - power, rca, speaker, remote and ground
Small sub(s) behind your seat
Custom Amp rack/Subwoofer enclosure

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 22nd, 2013, 6:19 pm

those polks sound great for the price.

Add a polk 4 ch and u will not believe the output..

in ur case a 5 ch for future upgrades

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 22nd, 2013, 10:18 pm

Decided on 2 of the main components of the system.

Pioneer 80PRS HU
Alpine PDX 5 Amp

Still deciding on comps/coax.

Sub will be determined at a later date, after the mids have been installed.

Postby nervewrecker » June 22nd, 2013, 10:21 pm

0.o....how you fit an 80PRS and PDX 5 in that budget?

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 22nd, 2013, 10:29 pm

Getting the PDX5 used from a reliable source, lol.

toyotarulez

Postby toyotarulez » June 24th, 2013, 6:52 pm

Look Into Some Morel Components, Maybe Tempo 6 Separates In Front And Coax In The Rear.....You Can Get Them Locally From https://www.facebook.com/MobileAudioConceptsTT

http://www.morelhifi.com/car-audio/tempo
Last edited by toyotarulez on June 24th, 2013, 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 24th, 2013, 6:53 pm

I priced the morels, and they wayyyyyyy outta my budget. Impressive stuff tho

toyotarulez

Postby toyotarulez » June 24th, 2013, 6:59 pm

u priced them online or from mobile audio?

Postby Ted_v2 » June 27th, 2013, 4:33 pm

the alpines are also some good products. neo magnets and all but its a bit large

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Got a deal on some brand new equipment that I couldnt pass up.

Alpine 149BT head unit and JL Audio XD 700/5 amp.
Skar audio comps and coax's

Thanks for the input dudes, I'll think about putting in a sub to balance things out, depending on the options in the Flat Sub thread.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 10th, 2013, 2:29 pm

That is a freaking awesome setup you gonna have there.

Postby nervewrecker » July 10th, 2013, 4:54 pm

sooo...ummmm...where the pdx5? it for sale?

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 10th, 2013, 5:50 pm

Pm username BRZ.
he's a cool guy, has stuff in great condition.

Postby pioneer » August 20th, 2013, 11:12 am

Right now the 149BT is king of single dins.

pioneer headunits do not compare; they are clunky, difficult to use, cheap parts design, cheap mass produced product used by pirate cd vendors and let's not even talk scrolling through an 80GB iPod. You will want to fling that chit out the window.

Postby Aaron 2NR » August 20th, 2013, 12:19 pm

:shock: :shock: :o :|

Postby Ted_v2 » August 20th, 2013, 12:30 pm

I had a alpine head unit already. The deck was bullet proof, never had any problems with it