noob question on DD subs

ShaKarz

noob question on DD subs

Postby ShaKarz » June 16th, 2013, 11:45 am

heres my noob question for the experienced DD users.. will d 9500 series subs take 4000rms playing music for long periods or would i damage them :oops: my system is built to play long when i liming not 'demo' i will be doing this power upgrade at my risk cuz my installer has 2 minds bout it i know there any many DD users on here so from your exp whats the limit the sub will go playing music for long without damage. currently have about 2000rms to each

ward one

Re: noob question on DD subs

Postby ward one » June 16th, 2013, 11:48 am

ShaKarz wrote:heres my noob question for the experienced DD users.. will d 9500 series subs take 4000rms playing music for long periods or would i damage them :oops: my system is built to play long when i liming not 'demo' i will be doing this power upgrade at my risk cuz my installer has 2 minds bout it i know there any many DD users on here so from your exp whats the limit the sub will go playing music for long without damage. currently have about 2000rms to each

alot of factors would decide this. what box do u have the sub in? what bass amp u wanna upgrade to? do you have a healthy electrical system. the tuning of the system etc.

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » June 16th, 2013, 12:13 pm

i have a 6k5es looking at going to the 11k2es both are 1 ohm amps,dual 4 ohm subs. system currently has 4 ac delco batts, 140A alt (this might need upgrading) but right now my voltage barely reaches under 12v on the meter. subs in ported box...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 16th, 2013, 12:41 pm

imho - is not alt might need upgrading : it NEEDS upgrading especially when u seeing its dipping below d batt resting voltage (which in most cases shud average about 12.5v)

some ppl might disagree with me but personally i wouldnt do that amt of power for long playing

something to look at too : even if u have "4k" on tap it doesnt mean u have to use 4k or d sub needs 4k to play well , u cud leave headroom & use about 2500-3000 if u want to

*buh wait nuh : iirc OP u use to have 3k on 1 sub few yrs back so u suppose to know d answer man ...... :lol:

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » June 16th, 2013, 1:14 pm

:lol: rovin, back then that 3k rms per sub was plenty but i didnt know the subs cud take more than that as iv seen in recent times. i agree with what you are saying that the subs may not need 4000rms each to play great cuz they aready do sound exceptional imo but curiousity got the best of me and im wondering how much more each can take over the 2000rms currently but i dont want to be damaging subs every week if i up the power so i just wanted to know from you guys who tested the limits already so i can power them to get its full potential accordingly, i am also eyeing the zvx 15s from skar they seem nicely built for musical use on 2000 rms so i could probly keep my current amp n put subs i could better power? few of my co-workers are in the market for new high end equip to so just fishing for info right now before anything is done TY

caliph tec

Postby caliph tec » June 16th, 2013, 2:35 pm

Triple r say give it how much power u want once u have gud power to support your amp lol

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » June 16th, 2013, 3:34 pm

A month later I ain't do a thing to the system but iv been doing some research n have my eyes in a diff direction now, think I want to get away from d Brazilian amps. Not over killing d woofers either ill get some true power amps. I want some feedback on DD M4 amp, vfl500, sundown 4500d, dc 3.5k. Which is a good buy with no performance issues