Soundstream_626

A calibrated rta on the cheap for iphone and android

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 27th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Dayton audio now makes this device

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=390-810

Each unit comes with its own unique calibration file just like its big brother that I have, the emm6.

I`m not too familiar with iphone apps but on the android market, RTA pro Analyzer which is 5USD seems to be able to accept the calibration file.

It may not be equivalent to an Audiocontrol SA 3055 or 3056. But it will definitely be better than nothing. Some installers ears seem to not work very well these days, hopefully a cheap solution like this will help them and also prove very useful to Hobbyists like us.

Your thoughts?

OffshoreMarketing

Re: A calibrated rta on the cheap for iphone and android

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 28th, 2012, 1:19 am

for the price why not?

Postby black start » December 28th, 2012, 1:53 am

that real cool.

Postby SR » December 28th, 2012, 5:57 am

nice option for anyone with a smart phone

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 28th, 2012, 7:55 am

Very cool, maybe a bit impractical on an iPad in car doh.

Anyone ordering?

Postby 3stagevtec » December 28th, 2012, 10:17 am

damn blackberry.. :(

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » December 28th, 2012, 10:38 pm

Boom If You Ordering Organize One For Me...

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » December 30th, 2012, 11:55 pm

Nobody Ordering?...

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » December 31st, 2012, 9:07 am

I will be when it is in stock. If anybody is interested let me know.

Sully

Postby Sully » December 31st, 2012, 6:51 pm

Looks cool. At that price I wouldn't mind giving it a try. I would like to see what the software looks like first though.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » December 31st, 2012, 7:37 pm

start a group buy whoever is ordering since u get it cheaper with higher quantity.

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2013, 12:07 am

for the price and the fact that it has a line out for sending test signals, i am interested. when placing the order, check me for a down payment.

Postby X_Factor » January 4th, 2013, 10:17 am

not available till mth end of february

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2013, 10:42 am

I up in this too, waiting till it becoms available. Group buy gaiz?

Postby sMASH » January 4th, 2013, 11:03 am

^^ yes.
and if not, i'll try to find sumting that i need from PE and order it my self... when that time comes.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 4th, 2013, 11:07 am

In for group buy

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 3rd, 2013, 2:25 pm

These are finally in stock.
16.25 us plus 5.75 us shipping each so each should not be more than 225 ttd at most. Parts Express does not include a shipping invoice, only a packing slip and that does not have unit prices on it, so you may or may not get shafted from customs.

I`m getting one for myself. If anyone wants one let me know ill order to suit.

Postby nervewrecker » April 6th, 2013, 12:40 am

oh heyya....:D

will message you soon.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2013, 8:54 am

I'm still waiting on a reply from pe about the app I'd have to use on iOS and what it may cost

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2013, 9:38 am

dude, i'm in. how do i give a deposit?

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 6th, 2013, 9:58 am

Don`t worry about any deposit. Ill order it. So thats 3 so far.

Kurpal some people are using Smaart plugin for Studio Six Sigma Audiotools

vintagestyles

Postby vintagestyles » April 6th, 2013, 11:27 am

Count me in for 1.

If you change your mind about the deposit, let us know the when/where.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 6th, 2013, 12:58 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:Don`t worry about any deposit. Ill order it. So thats 3 so far.

Kurpal some people are using Smaart plugin for Studio Six Sigma Audiotools

Problem with idevices is the input circuit of the mic, I've seen them measure 20-20k but even studio six admits unless you go via the 30pin connector it's worthless

http://www.studiosixdigital.com/iphone_ ... ation.html

I'm out till I figure this out.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 6th, 2013, 1:07 pm

I ordered 8. They should be here the week of the 15th of this month. $225 is a ballpark upper estimate. The mics will be sold for whatever they cost landed.

Postby SR » April 6th, 2013, 1:52 pm

count me in

Postby sMASH » April 6th, 2013, 4:14 pm

this is to get a better average than the ear. for about 250 tt, we not expecting precision of 2000 dollars plus.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » April 7th, 2013, 1:18 am

when t hey land if all they aren't all spoken for hit me up ill take one

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 14th, 2013, 2:24 pm

Update:

mics were shipped via UPS, unfortunately when they reached Miami they passed them on to USPS for final delivery. This may cause a few extra days delay.

All 8 are accounted for, I even sold mine to accommodate someone. Therefore I will be reordering a unit for myself mid week. Anyone who did not express interest in this thread so far and would like to try it, hit me up.

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » April 18th, 2013, 9:47 am

mics are in. Customs wasn`t so bad, Each mic came up to $196.00 final cost.

The product page on Parts Express has updated their info regarding apps and calibration. link below

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... er=390-810

a sample of the calibration file indicates that without it, the raw measurement is within +/-2db so it is still excellent

pm me or call 725 5418 for collection arrangements.

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » April 18th, 2013, 9:19 pm

Got mines thanks now just looking for a good program for iphone anyone have suggestions?