What should i study.....

Radik

What should i study.....

Postby Radik » February 4th, 2005, 3:40 am

As the name implies. I'm going back to skool to get my Bachelors and it hit me, if i gotta study sumting, might as well be in a field i really, really, really love, Car Audio. So guys, i need you'll to recommend programs I should conisder or take that will get me more in depth into this field. Thanx for all your help and plz pour in the ideas...... :D

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 4th, 2005, 11:14 am

well for starters, apart from getting a degree in a field that you love.. you need to make sure it will be one that can get you a decent job that will fund your love. i,e mobile audio electronics.

if you want to start a full time career in car audio.. may i suggest on of the courses by mecp, or name, or mecca. however they are all in the use, and you wont get a degree. the certification is a "certificate" they arent diploma level as yet. at least i dont think so.

after that you could attend the "fish camp" which is now run by dave riviera whos now employed by mecca i think. that fish camp is like a top gun of car audio, the best of the best kinda thing.

other than that, at degree level there;s acoustic engineering, offered at a few places in the us.

Radik

Postby Radik » February 5th, 2005, 1:08 am

Hey thanx alot man. Well i plan on movin to Canada and I'll be doing my schooling there, so I'm thinkin i shud be able to get a job there in my field. I've been searching and you are right, acoustic engineering is scarce. But i was reading up tho and it seems that electrical engineerin is kinda a sure bet if i wanna go into the car audio field. Im also lookin up on the courses you recommended......thanx man..............

Radik

Postby Radik » February 5th, 2005, 1:50 am

I checked out the MECP and all i can get are outlines of study guides, with brief details of what the course entails. Nuttin on MECA as yet tho, only that it's an organization for car audio fans...........

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 5th, 2005, 2:44 am

where will you be staying in canada. if you are in brampton/peel area, check out peel auto radio... thats where i worked when i was there.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » February 5th, 2005, 2:48 am

check installers institute they offer the MECP certification and they also have the fishman camp available there. They are in Miami and California.

I wont do it in Canada as I wanted to but the only place that offers a good training is Toronto...to my knowledge but still it wont be the same as installers institute. When I went to CES i learnt that installers institute is directly associated with the fish camp and Metra.

Postby SR » February 5th, 2005, 8:59 am

I have met the owner of Installers Institute and i am sure i will meet with him again at spring break
will get all info on the courses available and the possiblity of of campus training and keep u guys informed

Radik

Postby Radik » February 5th, 2005, 10:33 pm

come to think of it, I know installing is practical, but are there online courses that can be done too?

JL

Postby JL » February 8th, 2005, 9:13 pm

Do electrical and computer engineering.... you would know everything about car audio (and much more too) by the time u finish. and you would have a Bsc....

Postby SR » February 8th, 2005, 10:07 pm

i have met many people who have done electrical and computer engineering and dont know thier arse from their elbow when it comes to car audio
however i do think pursuing a degree program is the right start

Sully

Postby Sully » February 9th, 2005, 8:09 am

^^ Somehow I think that was directed towards some people in particular.... :lol:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 9th, 2005, 11:19 am

sr has that degree or wah :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » February 9th, 2005, 1:04 pm

shot dey sah

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 9th, 2005, 3:22 pm

is we boy so yuh know we hadda crack him up :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: