should a capactior be used in this system?

soundboi86

should a capactior be used in this system?

Postby soundboi86 » March 2nd, 2013, 11:00 pm

yea fellaz meh padna hav a nissan wingroad(y10) with a small system :

60A alternator

525CA battery

2 amps with a total of 3200 watts max

complains that the lights dim when playing certain songs

should he use a capacitor to solve the problem

Re: should a capactior be used in this system?

Postby nervewrecker » March 2nd, 2013, 11:08 pm

Steups do a Damn search.

The answer is no btw

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 3rd, 2013, 12:53 pm

unless you have a capacitor for every 1WATT of power it doh make sense
cuz when the capacitor discharges and has to recharge, it will just be another load on the system

in order of importance
1) do a "big three upgrade"
2) upgrade the alternator definitely :lol:
3) and battery if necessary

Postby black start » March 3rd, 2013, 3:24 pm

you can use the 90amp alternator from the qg e-throttle engines as a bolt on upgrade on your car. Price is about 4-500 so its a decent economy upgrade for small music.

big three works good as well.

ward one

Postby ward one » March 3rd, 2013, 4:16 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:unless you have a capacitor for every 1WATT of power it doh make sense
cuz when the capacitor discharges and has to recharge, it will just be another load on the system

in order of importance

this ^^^ :)

also a next option would be to replace batteries with a deep cycle battery, (like optima, etc)

soundboi86

Postby soundboi86 » March 3rd, 2013, 4:23 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:unless you have a capacitor for every 1WATT of power it doh make sense

in order of importance

i understand thanks alot but wat do you mean by 'big three upgrade'

Postby 3stagevtec » March 3rd, 2013, 4:37 pm

Do a search for the 'big three', it's been covered many times already. Search on youtube also..

Tht 60A alt has to go!

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » March 3rd, 2013, 8:31 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Steups do a Damn search.

The answer is no btw

no need for all that :(
the man probably just new thats all

anywayz since you dont really know much about the big three
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/for ... 73496~PN~1
thats a link

and also you could search on tuner and even google
if you need someone to do it for you. it have alot of tuners here that willing to take it as a job so yeah

soundboi86

Postby soundboi86 » March 3rd, 2013, 10:53 pm

RAJIE wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Steups do a Damn search.

The answer is no btw

no need for all that :(
the man probably just new thats all

anywayz since you dont really know much about the big three
http://www.the12volt.com/installbay/for ... 73496~PN~1
thats a link

and also you could search on tuner and even google
if you need someone to do it for you. it have alot of tuners here that willing to take it as a job so yeah

THANKS ALOT RAJIE AND ALSO I DON'T REALLY KNOW MUCH ABOUT MUSIC
ALL I DO IS POST AND ASK QUESTIONS FOR OTHER PEOPLE WHO DON'T KNOW ABOUT TRINITUNER AND MUSIC AND I LEARN LITTLE BY LITTLE WITH THE QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS THAT YOU GUYS GIVE ...SO THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL THE HELP..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » March 5th, 2013, 5:23 pm

its a bandage on a broken leg fix dude... once ur lights dimming there is a deeper problem that needs to be addresed first.

as the guys said ... big three then a higher amp alt.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » March 11th, 2013, 4:29 pm

The strength of any mobile audio system, weather big or small.. is the electrical system...

u r Alt for one need upgrading, even changing and also the big 3 upgrade will assist.

DjDaniel

Postby DjDaniel » March 13th, 2013, 9:21 pm

Ruffneck_12 was spot on: upgrade alternator and as for the big three upgrade :
Use some 1/0 gauge wire and run wires from:
Positive from battery to positive from alternator
Negative from battery to ground
Engine block to ground

The Dimming should now stop..

Postby nervewrecker » March 13th, 2013, 10:53 pm

DjDaniel wrote:Ruffneck_12 was spot on: upgrade alternator and as for the big three upgrade :
Use some 1/0 gauge wire and run wires from:
Positive from battery to positive from alternator
Negative from battery to ground
Engine block to ground

The Dimming should now stop..

I donno....I jus curious....why 1/0 with a 60A alternator? 4awg will do just fine and depending on the brand, 8awg might work.

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 14th, 2013, 10:55 am

^ incase he wanna upgrade the alt/music system in the future

I doh think you shud ever go the cheap route on the power supply of any project, be it PC/car/house

Postby nervewrecker » March 14th, 2013, 11:58 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:^ incase he wanna upgrade the alt/music system in the future

I doh think you shud ever go the cheap route on the power supply of any project, be it PC/car/house

Compare the price of 0awg as opposed to 8awg.

Now, consider how many people actually upgrade to a HO alt that actually puts out enough current to warrant the need for 0awg.
6 feet of 4awg will accommodate 200A of current fyi.

ward one

Postby ward one » March 15th, 2013, 7:24 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:^ incase he wanna upgrade the alt/music system in the future

Compare the price of 0awg as opposed to 8awg.

Now, consider how many people actually upgrade to a HO alt that actually puts out enough current to warrant the need for 0awg.
6 feet of 4awg will accommodate 200A of current fyi.

x2. i understand Wat u saying bt less resistance= more current flow.