W.T.K 80PRS and AC 3.1

amp.fanatic

W.T.K 80PRS and AC 3.1

Postby amp.fanatic » February 28th, 2013, 10:25 pm

bought a 80prs to cut down on processors.......only ting is dat my mono doesnt have a subsonic filter so usin a ac 3.1 for the filter want to kno how to wire de rca's from deck to 3.1

Re: W.T.K 80PRS and AC 3.1

Postby 3stagevtec » March 1st, 2013, 12:01 am

Does the 3.1 have a subsonic filter? I was checking the manual here and didn' see it mentioned.

Are you running a high tuned ported enclosure?

ward one

Postby ward one » March 1st, 2013, 11:54 am

3stagevtec wrote:Does the 3.1 have a subsonic filter? I was checking the manual here and didn' see it mentioned.

Are you running a high tuned ported enclosure?

i suppose his bass amp has 1 (unless it a Brazilian amp like taramps or Soundigital). if not, sum of the Brazilian amps have a high pass filter. that can be used in place of the subsonic.
Last edited by ward one on March 1st, 2013, 4:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » March 1st, 2013, 1:55 pm

amp.fanatic wrote:bought a 80prs to cut down on processors.......only ting is dat my mono doesnt have a subsonic filter so usin a ac 3.1 for the filter want to kno how to wire de rca's from deck to 3.1

hmm so the mono dont have a low pass filter?
if it does why jus connect the amp to the sub out on the deck and tune from the deck according. i tink on the deck it cross down to 25hz, 31.5hz, 40hz, 50hz etc. jus cross to what frequency you want a use the eq to get the output you looking at..

amp.fanatic

Postby amp.fanatic » March 1st, 2013, 5:29 pm

box tuned to 45 and yea its a soundigital 8k

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 1st, 2013, 6:39 pm

Badman doh use subsonic

ward one

Postby ward one » March 1st, 2013, 6:47 pm

amp.fanatic wrote:box tuned to 45 and yea its a soundigital 8k

well the sd 8k has a variable hp from 20hz - 80hz. and a lp filter from 20hz- 15khz. in this case the hp on the am,p can be used as a subsonic filter. ie cutting off freq lower than the set value.

what a subsonic filter does is to cut off low frequencies that can damage ur sub when it is in a ported box. you will need this seeing dat u have alot of power and your box is tuned to 45hz. i usually set my subsonic filter around 3 hz lower than that of the tuning of the box.

if you box is tuned to 45ish u can set the hp filter to 42hz or around there and the lp filter to that of where ur mids are being crossed. let say 100hz.

ward one

Postby ward one » March 1st, 2013, 6:51 pm

ward one wrote:
amp.fanatic wrote:box tuned to 45 and yea its a soundigital 8k

well the sd 8k has a variable hp from 20hz - 80hz. and a lp filter from 20hz- 15khz. in this case the hp on the am,p can be used as a subsonic filter. ie cutting off freq lower than the set value.

what a subsonic filter does is to cut off low frequencies that can damage ur sub when it is in a ported box. you will need this seeing dat u have alot of power and your box is tuned to 45hz. i usually set my subsonic filter around 3 hz lower than that of the tuning of the box.

if you box is tuned to 45ish u can set the hp filter to 42hz or around there and the lp filter to that of where ur mids are being crossed. let say 100hz.

i personally like having a preamp installed so i can easily make quick adjustments when i need to. like sumtimes i like loads of midbass and little or no sub. so in my opinion a preamp comes in handy for a daily driver as i cud adjust it without having to take my eyes of the road for a long period of time (as if i had to change the settings on the deck)

amp.fanatic

Postby amp.fanatic » March 1st, 2013, 7:27 pm

^^^ yea same with me lol well tanks for de info pplz

Postby 3stagevtec » March 2nd, 2013, 1:53 pm

Sounds like the amp's HPF would do the job! you in luck..