help with electrical problem

nhbk

help with electrical problem

Postby nhbk » December 2nd, 2012, 7:22 pm

Soooo I just installed a new pio double din deck in one of the new models sylphy... and now everytime I turn on me park light the fuse for the parklight in the engine bay blows.....WHY?

southside connections

Re: help with electrical problem

Postby southside connections » December 2nd, 2012, 7:32 pm

re check your wiring, i would think this is from the remote turn on in the vehicle

wanted

Postby wanted » December 3rd, 2012, 9:19 am

the problem is that you are using the factory ground wire,please disconnect it and ground the deck on the metal screw bracket that your deck is screwed on to.

nhbk

Postby nhbk » December 3rd, 2012, 1:46 pm

^^^ thanks ill have to try the new ground then

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 3rd, 2012, 6:06 pm

wanted wrote:the problem is that you are using the factory ground wire,please disconnect it and ground the deck on the metal screw bracket that your deck is screwed on to.

Serious?

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » December 3rd, 2012, 8:08 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
wanted wrote:the problem is that you are using the factory ground wire,please disconnect it and ground the deck on the metal screw bracket that your deck is screwed on to.

Serious?

so u ent know the parklight does work with the deck bracket screw?

Postby nervewrecker » December 3rd, 2012, 9:19 pm

recheck your wiring.

You did this yourself?

girl from my class had a double din installed, the idiots connected the ign to b+ and within a few days she had to get a new battery. The bluetooth is always on standby and they gave her one set of runaround.
I diagnosed it without even looking and she eventually had to sort it out on her own.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 5th, 2012, 1:16 pm

what facking sh!t u talking?
ground is ground

wanted

Postby wanted » December 5th, 2012, 2:48 pm

^^^you are an idiot...I would not go into details about parking wire ground.

Firewall

Postby Firewall » December 5th, 2012, 10:07 pm

wanted wrote:^^^you are an idiot...I would not go into details about parking wire ground.

Please do..

wanted

Postby wanted » December 6th, 2012, 11:17 pm

Ok I'll explain...most vehicle factory deck ground wire could only handle the factory deck,when you change the deck and you use the factory ground wire it blows the parking wire fuse.I haven't used factory ground wire since EG8 Civic came out and in that vehicle(and many more that I can't remember)the parking wire fuse blew,since then I've been using body ground!

dean_mootoo

Postby dean_mootoo » December 7th, 2012, 12:12 am

this doesnt make much sense to me. the park light would have its own circuit with the fuse on the positive wire, how would the negative ground of the deck cause the fuse to blow?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 7th, 2012, 7:41 pm

wanted i think u should recheck ur theory ...

or post up a wireing diagram

wanted

Postby wanted » December 7th, 2012, 7:43 pm

It doesn't make sense to most people but that's how it is in most vehicles! As I said before, you should always use a body ground for your deck,pre-amp etc...

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 8th, 2012, 6:40 pm

well i am not most pple and i still wanna know why ?

mastamind17

Postby mastamind17 » December 8th, 2012, 11:06 pm

this is your problem, wanted know what he saying. I installed a usb deck in my frontier and in the night no lights!!! I was like WTF :shock: and after I trouble shoot the next day my uncle (an electrician) told me to ground separate and there my problem was solved. In other words don't use the factory ground.

Postby nervewrecker » December 8th, 2012, 11:14 pm

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 9th, 2012, 7:28 am

I'm sure I do the complete opposite and never got problems :/

wanted

Postby wanted » December 9th, 2012, 10:18 pm

I've been installing car audio for over 20 years and I've worked on hundreds of vehicles and encountered many problems most of you guys haven't dream about yet! Now those problems are tricks of the trade. Anyone else needs my help,you know where to find me!

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 12:46 am

Wanted correct eh.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 12th, 2012, 1:04 am

rollingstock wrote:Wanted correct eh.

How does it work?

Thinking back, I'm pretty sure I've never done what he said, and this is in mostly econoboxes and I sure no one ever blow their park light fuses :|

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 1:09 am

I have no idea, happened to me with teh wingroad, kept on changing fuse, went by smalls, he replaced the deck ground, no problem again. *throws hands in air, go figure*

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » December 12th, 2012, 10:47 am

I also make it a habbit to use a body ground for any aftermarket electronic install. But i fail to see how using factory ground for the deck blows the fuse on the +ve of a park light.

What can be the problem is that some vehicles carry a illiminated feature that is triggered on when you put on park lights. If tested it carries a -ve charge. It means that some of these harnesses carry more than one -ve wires and if you use the wrong one (one that was intended for another use and not the deck's power) it can cause your fuse to blow. I experienced this in a mazda6 once and realised that i found a few -ve wires. This is just a theory and i am not saying i am correct it just makes more sense from what I found in that harness.

Postby nervewrecker » December 12th, 2012, 10:50 am

As said in the link I posted, there is a wire that poses as a false ground as cbh rightfully stated. It gives the same problem posted here.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » December 12th, 2012, 11:05 am

^^^right.I didnt open the link sorry.lol..but it does seem alot more viable as opposed to "using the stock ground blows the parklight fuse".

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 12th, 2012, 1:27 pm

If you find a wire that continuous to ground in a Nissan factory harness, its the park light wire. If you test it with the parking light switch turned on, you'll see that same wire goes 12v +.

Nissan factory decks get their ground either from the chassis bracket/antenna shield.

You need to chassis ground the deck's ground wire.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » December 12th, 2012, 2:23 pm

wanted wrote:^^^you are an idiot...I would not go into details about parking wire ground.

ok wanted i apologize. 8-)

Postby rollingstock » December 12th, 2012, 2:33 pm

nigel1977 wrote:If you find a wire that continuous to ground in a Nissan factory harness, its the park light wire. If you test it with the parking light switch turned on, you'll see that same wire goes 12v +.

Nissan factory decks get their ground either from the chassis bracket/antenna shield.

You need to chassis ground the deck's ground wire.

Yeah but say some did do that wouldn't the deck not work when teh park lights are turned on, seeing teh ground is now +ve?

When i had teh issue i posted above teh deck worked flawlessly.