Discuss this why did this car score the highest in SQC

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » December 10th, 2008, 1:53 pm

imagine, you like quality sounding audio in your ride, you install music, you take it to a car show to see how you do against other systems just for fun, if you win you get a new pair of speakers better than what you currently have...if that is not motivation towards sq then I don't know what is.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 10th, 2008, 1:56 pm

then what is my motivation for spl?

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 10th, 2008, 2:53 pm

Dj-Q- take a quick look and see!

http://www.dls.se/files/182/2/Man_ref_spkrs_eng_07.pdf

you can adjust the internal Jumpers to different tweeter levels to suit your requirements.

Aimar

Postby Aimar » December 10th, 2008, 3:27 pm

passive xovers have adjustments

LOL. Man JL AUDIO has passives on there higher lines that u can adjust tweeter level as well as you can even change the crossover points on the midrange. :mrgreen:

Postby 3stagevtec » December 10th, 2008, 11:50 pm

casper wrote:
DJ Q wrote:So looking at the fact that speakers that cost in the 10s of thousands weren't used in this install, do you think, with the proper processing, my equipment may achieve a high score?

Because I realise that alot has to do more with time alignment and those things. It's obvious that my tonality will be a bit off since I'll be using drivers with a limited frequency range... but otherwise, do you think I can score high or even possibly achieve a podium position with this equipment?

I'd like to break the barrier that states that pro audio speakers can't make it in SQ.

that has been done already....it had a guy that used to enter with dj speakers in sq and get pretty good results...u never know eh...its possible...

btw....check out MY sexy RTA curve :D

:mrgreen:

off topic..

your RTA score was on my mind for while.. your system is really a gallery setup, its intended purpose is to play for those outside the vehicle, not the driver!

so wouldn't it have made sense to RTA the outside of your car as well?? say, about 3-5 feet from the doors or something... :idea:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 11th, 2008, 8:48 am

Yes, I'm looking to introducing some measure of rules for the gallery systems at the next event.

Note the settings on the RTA meter, it's at 4db step deviations in order to get all the points on the screen (and i think the 40-50Hz bass was off the charts still). This means that each vertical difference of the dots are 4db different. The usual is 3db deviations, so take this with a grain of salt. the 3db setting couldnt fit because a lot of dots were off the screen.

Casper, once you willing to tune we can do some work on your system once the next event goes as planned.

If you can get a better EQ (more bands etc) and a xover by then, it should benefit you better.

Also, as a side item, the RTA was used only as a tool to identify major peaks and dips in the system in order to aid tuning. Don't get carried away with RTA scores or curve shapes just as yet, as that is not what the RTA was used for.

The RTA/SPL shootout what SR mentioned in the challenge thread, however, is another story. Casper, you may actually be able to place very high in that once you qualify to enter and once some tuning is done.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » December 11th, 2008, 9:33 am

madman.devin wrote:
Racegod wrote:
SR wrote:and for that reason i will not be sponsering anymore equipment towards the rookie class in sq

oh the horror :( ...

move dem b!tches who dont want the equipment to another cate! men like me would really put that kinda thing to use! :oops:

I doh understand what the problem is we both competed in the same category and i won a pair of speakers, Now the speakers are mines and i could do what i want to them.

ummm where you pop out from?... and who say anybody was referring to you?

1. not everyone as fortunate to win sponsored equipment... why not instead of selling appreciate it?... add it to a collection or something, it should carry some kinda value seeing that you "won it"...

2. It's becuase persons like yourself who don't value the equipment, and just going to sell it for "gain" is why sponsors feel hard to give away anything.. cuz its not really valued in the way that they intended...

if it fall in ur garden, yuh kno what to do wid it...

madman.devin

Postby madman.devin » December 11th, 2008, 11:10 am

Racegod wrote:
madman.devin wrote:
Racegod wrote:
SR wrote:and for that reason i will not be sponsering anymore equipment towards the rookie class in sq

move dem b!tches who dont want the equipment to another cate! men like me would really put that kinda thing to use! :oops:

I doh understand what the problem is we both competed in the same category and i won a pair of speakers, Now the speakers are mines and i could do what i want to them.

1. not everyone as fortunate to win sponsored equipment... why not instead of selling appreciate it?... add it to a collection or something, it should carry some kinda value seeing that you "won it"...

2. It's becuase persons like yourself who don't value the equipment, and just going to sell it for "gain" is why sponsors feel hard to give away anything.. cuz its not really valued in the way that they intended...

The sponsors shouldn't care what i do with my equipment neither should the competitiors,it's mine ! I won it fair and square. I doh need any more speakers i have what i need and they sound great. If u want them so bad i could give them to you, but doh be tring to tell me what i could do with my equipment ...

Lance

Postby Lance » December 11th, 2008, 11:15 am

Racegod wrote:
madman.devin wrote:
Racegod wrote:

The last thing i want to do is stray the thread even more,

But you really don't understand it from his POV,

I remember when i won a set of Rs6a's from SR, i held on to them for more than 1yr, i didn't want to sell it at the risk of appearing ungrateful even though I had no direct use for it, They sat in a corner collecting dust. i finally decided to let them go, does that make me less grateful?

what gain is he selling it for? his asking price is the opportunity cost of not using it.

futhermore Adding speakers to a collection is not a good idea, speaker have parts that deteriorate.

I would Imagine that one of the key reasons for sponsoring equipment is to give people the opportunity to use the equipment and realise its full potential. By Devin Packing it in a corner as a reminder of his sucess going to benefit anyone?

SR has made his decision not to Sponsor in the future, i personally think it is a bad idea, Even though i didnt use my RS6a personally it is one of the Main reasons i started competiting.

I have strayed from the thread enough. Please once again, i'm not trying to start an argument.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 11th, 2008, 11:24 am

Before this gets out of hand. For those of you who DONT know, over a 16 sets of hybrid audio speakers were given away at the various sound quality summits. I have a detailed list of who recieved what. dls comp speakers were also given out to other guys. the same guy who won the dls comp, also won the most expensive hybrid tweeter there is. exile audio subwoofers, amplifiers, component sets, americn bass caps, speakers etc were also given out, free, and none of them have seen a minute of IASCA lane time, but someone is blowing up over 1 5.25" component set.

Its not a matter of being fortunate. Hard work and long nights of dedication = rewards. put up or shut up.

Devin currently has an 800 usd hybrid audio l641 component set in his ride (he paid retail) with audison vrx amps. Where exactly did you want him to put an entry level 5.25" component set? AT the end of the day, he won it, fair and square, and what he chose to do with it, is his call.

Of all the 16 pairs of hybrid speaker sets given away, only 2 pairs have ever made it to competition, and they are in Jeff's suv. You don't see me complaining when over 1500 usd worth of hybrid speakers were whored out.

More hybrid audio speakers were given away for free at the summit, than the local dealer has sold.

Go ahead. Rant on some more. There are people here, who pride themseves in owning top of the range equipment. Dont belittle their standards because they may be out of yours.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 11th, 2008, 11:37 am

Sorry, I forgot to mention silent riot's l4's. He also competes in SQC.

So out of a minimum of 16 sets of hybrid speakers, only 3 are in competition that were given away by us

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » December 11th, 2008, 11:37 am

look all what I was missing out on all this time, nice stuff sharing & where was I :cry:

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 11th, 2008, 11:41 am

Enough straying guys, lets get back on point.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 11th, 2008, 11:54 am

So SR, can you tell us about the tuning by install methods?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 11th, 2008, 12:02 pm

its homework guys. cant ask the answers to the questions that was the home work.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » December 11th, 2008, 12:11 pm

I done answer, i want to know if that was what u guys had in mind.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » December 11th, 2008, 12:15 pm

So after you advertise your products by straying from the topic at hand you then say lets get back to the topic under discussion?

Racegod

Postby Racegod » December 11th, 2008, 12:21 pm

madman.devin wrote:
Racegod wrote:
madman.devin wrote:
Racegod wrote:

The sponsors shouldn't care what i do with my equipment neither should the competitiors,it's mine ! I won it fair and square. I doh need any more speakers i have what i need and they sound great. If u want them so bad i could give them to you, but doh be tring to tell me what i could do with my equipment ...

next time read before you go shooting off your mouth bro...
again as i said, if it fall...

all i have to say is i don't agree...

Carry on with thread...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 11th, 2008, 12:27 pm

^but what you saying doesn't make sense.. if you have the best what more do you need?

it's advertised
you win

it's yours..

jeff

Postby jeff » December 11th, 2008, 2:06 pm

please if u arnt involved in this situation why comment?

ANYWAYS

who say sq budget build off :mrgreen:

Postby SR » December 11th, 2008, 3:23 pm

funny how some of the "cheaper" speakers have proved thier worth in competition against some much more expensive sets and builds

to some people jeff there seems to be no such thing as a budget sq build

and if you dont have x y z and 1 2 3 it wont sound good

the entire point about htis thread was to show that ABC was good enough to win a competition and that a greta sq car does not have to cost an arm and a leg

as i have spoken to quite a few people who have openly said they not coming to compete in sq as they think it costs too much

a wrong misconception that seemingly have been spread by some people both locally and internationally

you DONT have to have a picture book type install to compete
once you keep to the basics you CAN acheive a great sounding car

dont be intimidated by terms and theories thats all they are and while they do have merit again i say waht works for one may not work for the other

trial and error is the only true way to build a and sq car using different theories as guidlines ONLY and not GOSPEL

same goes for choice of speakers to be used
you dont have to use brand x because sombody else say so
listen to them
there's a whole alphabet of other brands that can do the same thing
some may be better some may not
some may require additional devices to perform at its best some wont
and this is where the budget comes into play
how much do you want to spend on the entire system
keep that at the back of your mind
and try and keep to your budget
too many times i have seen people build cars and just keep spending and spending because Y say yuh need this and yuh need that
sales pitch 101
it happens worldwide
and at the end of it some may have gone too deep and then you dont see them anymore

the s2000 build was never built for competition

however we all thought it sounded quite good for what it was while Jeff would have tied in overall sq score if he didnt lose the point for noise
we can compare the systems

different theories were applied when it came to setting up of the system
different speakers were used
different amps
processing etc

but the bottom line is that they both sounded almost identical

proving that there is no ONE way to build an sq car

as for the homework

it shows how little people actually read this thread from the beginning but jsut jumped in late

start from the begining of the thread and you will see the entire build of the car

i will have the car available for the next test and tune for everyone to criticise it

good or bad
the car was built as a daily driver with full trunk usage
there are absolutely no tricks to this install
its all basic with the exception of "cosmetic" work in the trunk ie custom panel work nothing special was done for the sound

front stage 50hz high pass at 12 db/octave
sub 50hz low pass at 12 db/octave

all speakers properly installed no special angle on the mid bass in the doors
tweeters surface mounted on the dash
head unit straight to amp
no additional processing
sealed enclosure

the car has 2 problems in my opinion
sub bass has to be set a bit higher due to it being a convertable and the gain transfer from the trunk is attenuated
and due to the shape of the car and sub position the sub bass tends to lag the mid bass on certain freq however it was partially fixed based on choice of xover pts

you can really on tell if you listen carefully with some techno music where the energy range is between 50-60hz

this car has never been tuned with an rta

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 11th, 2008, 4:50 pm

well said SR and also very good points also

Postby SR » January 28th, 2009, 8:23 am

this needs a bump for those looking to build thier front stage

southside connections

Postby southside connections » January 29th, 2009, 1:24 pm

yes very very nice read,thanks sr

Aimar

Postby Aimar » July 19th, 2009, 12:37 pm

I believe "S" means shallow :|

altec

Postby altec » July 20th, 2009, 9:24 am

could anyone say how you can tune with install? does it include angling etc?

Postby SR » July 20th, 2009, 8:44 pm

DLS RS6/RS6A $1145
Woofer size 16,5 cm (6,5")
Tweeter T25, 25 mm (1") silk dome tweeter
Power handling capacity 50 W RMS / 80 W max
Impedance 4 ohm
Frequency range 55 - 20.000 Hz
Sensitivity 92 dB (1W/1m)

Outer diameter of woofer 165 mm (6,5")
Magnet size 90 mm (3,54")
Crossover Box filter with 6/12 dB slope (LP/HP)
Crossover point (Hz) 5000 Hz
Size of filter box RS6: 125 x 55 x 40 mm, RS6A: 105 x 44 x 35 mm
Mounting depth 53 mm ( 2,09")
Mounting hole 146 mm (5,75")

DLS R6 $1290

Woofer size 16,5 cm (6,5")
Tweeter T25, 25 mm (1") silk dome tweeter
Power handling capacity 80 W RMS / 120 W max
Impedance 4 ohm
Frequency range 50 - 20 000 Hz
Sensitivity 94 dB (1W/1m)

Crossover Filter box with 6/12 dB slope (LP/HP)
Crossover point (Hz) 4500 Hz
Size of filter box 145 x 85 x 45 mm ( 5,71 x 3,35 x 1,77")
Outer diameter of woofer 165 mm (6,5")
Magnet size 100 mm (3,94")
Mounting depth 76 mm ( 3")
Mounting hole 140 mm (5,5")

major differences in bold

Postby SR » July 24th, 2009, 10:55 pm

if you have the depth the ms6 will handle it
they play much louder than the rs series

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 24th, 2009, 11:03 pm

those ms6 sound really good - heard them in SR's, civic last yr ...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 2nd, 2010, 9:31 am