need some advice.

richierramsahai

need some advice.

Postby richierramsahai » February 29th, 2012, 5:07 am

I finally bought my own car and wanted to put some music in it, so I was thinking about putting a pioneer usb deck, four 6" eminence on the doors and a pioneer 12" sub in the trunk. I have a PA demon 4 channel 2400watts amp. Will that sound good? Or do I have to by a monoblock?

Sully

Re: need some advice.

Postby Sully » February 29th, 2012, 6:19 am

Forget the 6" Eminence and get yourself a set of 6-1/2" comps. You can use the 4ch amp to run the entire system.

richierramsahai

Postby richierramsahai » February 29th, 2012, 6:58 am

what brand 6-1/2" should i get?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 29th, 2012, 7:20 am

What is your budget?

richierramsahai

Postby richierramsahai » February 29th, 2012, 7:34 am

about 800 for the deck, 1000 for the door speakers and 600 for the sub

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 29th, 2012, 7:45 am

Ok, talk to fuzz about a sub, he has good stuff on clearance.
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=419644

A T400 SVC 4 ohm 12 is about the best you can get for $600 new.

The components for $1000 - you can probably check DE Audio to see what he has.
He can probably give you a package deal on the deck and components if you buy both by him.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » February 29th, 2012, 10:07 am

pioneer decks i have viewtopic.php?f=8&t=172529

eminence i have that too but like said above try some comps or coax
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=140206

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=140209

i have others not listed in those links too

i have subs & amps too so u can come into my store for a demo of any speakers

not a fan of power boostik ...

SaW

Postby SaW » February 29th, 2012, 10:59 pm

tru rovin wrk with some pa already you should believe me yuh should save a little more and invest in something better and some thing dat will last the protection ic in the pa tends to fail alot

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » March 1st, 2012, 12:49 am

Hello,

As per what has been going on within the last couple posts, ALL Team ADT posts are being edited accordingly.

Team ADT
Last edited by TEAM ADT on March 2nd, 2012, 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

richierramsahai

Postby richierramsahai » March 1st, 2012, 5:41 am

thanks team adt!

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » March 1st, 2012, 6:44 am

Hello,

As per what has been going on within the last couple posts, ALL Team ADT posts are being edited accordingly.

Team ADT
Last edited by TEAM ADT on March 2nd, 2012, 6:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sully

Postby Sully » March 1st, 2012, 7:43 am

richierramsahai, now that your interest in purchasing a set of comps is made public on this forum, you should have no shortage of offers. Just select the one that you're getting the best deal on (based on your budget.) If you're still in doubt, ask for a demo. If they seller can't provide a demo, then the faith in the product should not be that great.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » March 1st, 2012, 8:06 am

Hello,

Team ADT
Last edited by TEAM ADT on March 2nd, 2012, 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 1st, 2012, 10:37 am

how much those pa demon series go for ?

how about this as a alternative for something not that much more $ & about 5-6" shorter too :

http://www.audiopipe.com/products/ampli ... 360.4.html

it goes for around $1595 in my shop & this amp carries 3 30A

btw - all speakers in my shop can be demoed ...

Postby black start » March 1st, 2012, 10:51 am

^rovin has some decent component sets op...

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 1st, 2012, 7:32 pm

TEAM ADT wrote:.The higher notes can be easlily reproduced through a single pair of Power Acoustik NB1 tweeters.

Umm...

TEAM ADT wrote:For your tweeters, get two pairs of 25w 15ohm resistors, connect them in parallel, and then add a metalized polypropylene capacitor (the yellow round ones) in series to the resistors, the value should be anywhere from 3.3uf to 4.5uf, with a 50v to 100v rating.This would be for each tweeter, and would give a 7.5ohm load present, while only allowing around 25-25watts rms to run to them.This would also create a small passive crossover allowing only frequencies around 2.5khz and up to go to them.

This is based on their quoted or measured impedance?

I have a pair of NB1 "clones". If the NB1s are built the same way, there's a cheap small electrolytic capacitor hidden in the base. Even with it bypassed, the impedance measures a minimum of 25 Ohms, rising up to 60 Ohms and over from 7.kHz or so. If I was planning to use this, I'd bypass the internal cap, put a 4-ohm (or even 2 Ohm!) resistor across the terminals at least, then hook it up to a xover that'd designed around a 4 (or 2) ohm terminating impedance. And I definitely would not use it below 6~ 8 kHz, as the impedance curve suggest you're going below its resonance at lower frequencies.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » March 2nd, 2012, 3:49 am

Hello,

Team ADT

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 5:53 am

that tweeter is crap and should be avoided

its better to invest in a decent set of components instead

there are quite a few options available locally under the $1000 price range

check out any of the authorised dealers for product and possible demo of the equipment

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 2nd, 2012, 7:26 am

TEAM ADT wrote:My advice is based on "manufacturer specifications" of the said product.

TEAM ADT wrote:While yes I can agree with your statements, real world application states otherwise. The NB1 and eminence alfa have been proven combination in many vehicles in both sound and output.

See comments from SR about their perceived quality. While this is likely partly due to the tweeters themselves, it could also be due to improper crossover configurations, e.g. a great way to get distortion out of a tweeter and make it sound horrible is to drive it below its resonance point by using a high-pass filter at too low a frequency and/or too low an attenuation rate.

Brian Steele

Postby Brian Steele » March 2nd, 2012, 7:41 am

SR wrote:that tweeter is crap and should be avoided

I'd like to suggest a possible alternative - the Vifa BC25SC06-04 1" Textile Dome Tweeter. Available from Parts Express - http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdet ... r=264-1028. I have not personally used this tweeter, but the feedback I've seen on it has generally been positive, and it's rated at 96dB/2.83V/1M, about 2.5 dB more sensitive than the Eminence Alphas. The guys on the PE forum would likely be able to suggest the best x-over point for them, but I'm going to guess something around 3kHz and a few dBs of attenuation would likely make it a good match for the Eminence Alphas.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 2nd, 2012, 8:08 am

I run their siblings (Vifa BC25TG15's) home on the 5.1.
They are very, very good budget tweeters.

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 8:31 am

my comments are based on real world experiences as well as measured responses on an rta

unlike others i eh baffling yuh with BS and long paragraphs

there is a reason why products are cheap
more money is spent on marketing rather than r&d it usually works on the uneducated buyer and installers

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 2nd, 2012, 10:41 am

this has been repeated here numerous times over d yrs :

typical trini culture & padna "who know bout music" advice for any newb getting into car audio is put some "M&Ms" in d doors & backdash , bullet tweeter or NB1s & "yuh must put ah preamp for it to sound good" & of course d all mighty pioneer sub in a box tuned 40+ hz

so putting M&Ms for "mids" is d norm here so if thats what they want most u can do is advise them to get it to sound "good" , notice how its becoming rare that ppl wud come asking in this ice section for car speakers made for car use & then still turn around & use d pro audio speakers

NB1s are among d cheapest "decent" tweeters sold in any store in T&T at around tt$70-90 & ppl accept how they sound because of what they were advised to use & d price too , sound very harsh to my ears (especially since i started my audio with coax & comps so u get accustomed to that smoothness) but when like typical trinis nowadays u like loud ole noise then quality takes a back seat ...

roger

Postby roger » March 2nd, 2012, 10:52 am

SR wrote:
unlike others i eh baffling yuh with BS and long paragraphs

^^ = :lol:

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 11:26 am

most accept it because thier installers dont know better and they rely on the installer to educate them

many installers are deaf and only listen to compressed music format on pro audio speakers or have never had the opportunity to actually properly use a decent system

many hide behind the "well dais wah the customer wants" excuse as they do not have the knowledge or means on how to educate the customer on what somthing better sounds like and differences in cost per quality

however many customers are cheap....literally and will install a cheap system then complain about it or replace components as they fail as the installer was not good enough to convicne the customer on making a better investment

shop owners look for sale bottom line so if thats what the customer/installer wants thats what they sell
most do not have a clue on the basics of car audio and cannot properly explain differences between price ranges of equipment to customers/installers

sad thing is that there are many powersellers on this forum that fall in the above comments i have made and the continue to profit on customers lack of education

not because you are a powerseller it means you know about audio

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » March 2nd, 2012, 12:35 pm

i agree with everything u said there SR

while i may not be a certified trained professional i did alot of reading over d yrs to educate myself on d basic principles & i have some real world experience too , i also tested out alot of d products i sell so if a customer describes what they want i dont even have to go look it up & can recommend x,y,z needed for whatever scenario without chaining up ppl to buy unnecessary stuff ...

Postby black start » March 2nd, 2012, 12:53 pm

(...Rovin...) wrote:this has been repeated here numerous times over d yrs :

typical trini culture & padna "who know bout music" advice for any newb getting into car audio is put some "M&Ms" in d doors & backdash , bullet tweeter or NB1s & "yuh must put ah preamp for it to sound good" & of course d all mighty pioneer sub in a box tuned 40+ hz

so putting M&Ms for "mids" is d norm here so if thats what they want most u can do is advise them to get it to sound "good" , notice how its becoming rare that ppl wud come asking in this ice section for car speakers made for car use & then still turn around & use d pro audio speakers

NB1s are among d cheapest "decent" tweeters sold in any store in T&T at around tt$70-90 & ppl accept how they sound because of what they were advised to use & d price too , sound very harsh to my ears (especially since i started my audio with coax & comps so u get accustomed to that smoothness) but when like typical trinis nowadays u like loud ole noise then quality takes a back seat ...

I started off with a pioneer premier deh p690ub head unit, mid line, powered by the head unit, was a pair of soundstream 6.5'' coaxial on the back dash, and a pair of power acoustic coaxial on the front doors (played really good IMHO). I set the HPF on the deck so that the mid speakers would have been in its frequency response range and then adjusted the other settings (on head unit like equalizer, loudness etc) by ear so that the mid line didn't distort at max volume. For the baseline, I use a mtx 420.2 thunder amplifier powering a pioneer premier 10''. The amp was got its signal from the 4v sub out on the deck and the gain adjusted via a tutorial on another thread. No pre-amp, no eminence, no NB-1 's and a very economy system if you asked me. System overall played very nice and was my first system where I was still learning a lot of the fundamentals of car audio.

TEAM ADT

Postby TEAM ADT » March 2nd, 2012, 12:55 pm

Hello,

Team ADT

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 1:26 pm

TEAM ADT wrote:Hello,

I'm simply going to leave this as is , seems that you're still trying.Kind of sad to see roger crawl out of his shell to laugh, when no effort to help was even made or give to the OP by either party.

Trolling, you preach, and yet you're a hypocrite.You all sicken me, sadly, the great Shazard Rahaman, you of all people should know, sq dosen't put the money in anyone's pocket.

The best we can do is try, otherwise it's the customer's choice.Don't be disrespectful, power sellers at the end of the day keep this forum running ,your ignorance is your bliss.

Just out of curiosity though, you yourself said on many occasions, -

A vehicle by IASCA's test standard is not enjoyable to listen to

Just for the record, stop trolling posts, you see someone asking questions, answer them, don't wait for someone else . You are a moderator of this forum, act like one.

Brian, thanks for your suggestions, will look into them, and yes perceived sound is different to everyone, and so what would suit sq guys, won't suit gallery guys, even though it's a disrespectful term for those who know where the term "gallery" came from.

Sadly though, it's intresting where your start was in audio, "damn the bridge you crossed?"

I am even ashamed of myself for this response, I really din't think you all were this low.

Thanks,
Team ADT

just had to quote this

1) if you feel so strongly that my comments were directed at you then maybe it may be true

2) this forum was up and running long before you or any "powerseller" came along

3) you are the only one making refference to "iasca" and "sq"

4) you are the one trolling on this forum using threads to promote your buisness under the guise of a technical post when in fact its not technical at all

5) you have a loong history of being a chronic liar on this forum and website as well as a few others and you have been caught time and time again which does not auger well for your credibility on the accuracy of your posts

6)If i did my job as a moderator many of your posts would have been removed a long time ago but in giving you the benefit of a the doubt they have been left. I choose not to respond to everyone post here as most of the questions assked have already been discussed over and over and over and a simple search will yield a response

finally

learn to spell my name correctly

Team ADT aka SSC aka Southside connections aka Krystian Seunath

you may fool some with your new approach to posting here on tuner but you wont fool everyone

Postby SR » March 2nd, 2012, 1:32 pm

richierramsahai wrote:I finally bought my own car and wanted to put some music in it, so I was thinking about putting a pioneer usb deck, four 6" eminence on the doors and a pioneer 12" sub in the trunk. I have a PA demon 4 channel 2400watts amp. Will that sound good? Or do I have to by a monoblock?

to respond to the original post

start off with 2 pairs of 6 1/2 coaxials instead of the pro audio speakers

a single 4 ohm voice coil subwoofer to match the bridged power out of the PA amplifier

and this should yield a good sound with a small budget

dont buy a cheap deck get one with some built in processing
most pioneer's with the 3 band parametric eq would be sufficient to start off with make sure the deck does 4 volts out and not 2

you can build on this at a later stage by adding a separate amp for the sub and retaining the 4 channel for the mids
from then you can decide if you need to upgrade the existing mids or if they are sufficient for the sound you expect from the system