Car setup suggestions

scypher

Car setup suggestions

Postby scypher » July 9th, 2011, 9:33 pm

I want to know how will my music sound, loud, normal,clean i gd as i am or i still need alot of stuff? Sold my old car & right now i have some music i bought to put in my car when i get it, will be a Lancer CK2...

I not rich so dont suggest expensive, un-necessary tings plz, i want loud & clean but not like i enterin car show. Once it can work. Currently wat i have:

Highs: (2) Soundstream Bullet Tweeters BLT-5S 130w each
Mids: (2) Soundstream 8" SST80 200w each
Subwoofers: (2) Eclipse 12" 500RMS each
Mids Amp: Soundstream LWII LW4.580
RMS @ 4 Ohms -- 85 x 4
RMS @ 2 Ohms -- 155 x 4
RMS Bridged @ 4 Ohms -- 290 x 2
Bass Amp: Soundstream RUB1.1600D
4 ohms: 700 RMS x 1 chan.
2 ohms: 1100 RMS x 1 chan.
1 ohm: 1600 RMS x 1 chan.
HU/Deck: Pioneer DEH P3600
Batteries: (2) Verta H3 830CA 100AH 12V (Its regular Big Maintainance Free Batteries)
Last edited by scypher on July 10th, 2011, 1:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Car setup suggestions

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 10th, 2011, 12:17 am

how your music sounds in the end will be dependent on who is installing your music for you.

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 1:06 am

well i dont hav things like epicenter/pre amp etc...i need those tings? or wat i have can sound decent? im concerned about bass being too muc for the mids/highs also? when u hav 2 12" wat is usually the mids & highs setup like?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 10th, 2011, 1:38 am

well from what i gather the deck has a small crossover built in .....So it can work if you like but i would invest in a clarion crossover IMO its the best crossover in its price range

also try looking at getting a good quality 0g power wire i was looking at ur post above and i didnt see any power wires

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 1:44 am

average price on crossover? actually i have 4g wire....wats the benefits of using 0g wire? i need those thick wires for my small amps?

Postby Ted_v2 » July 10th, 2011, 1:56 am

scypher wrote:average price on crossover? actually i have 4g wire....wats the benefits of using 0g wire? i need those thick wires for my small amps?

about 650 more or less new

500-450 used

0g wire is to allow a better flow of current to the amps and in your case ur batts in the rear
(if you have)
ur mids amp needs 4g
and ur mono needs 4g

so i would run 0g and invest in a 0g- (2) 4g outputs to ur amps

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 2:12 am

kool thanks man.

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 4:05 pm

well, notin i suppose....being that i not sure wat ppl call midbass....i kinda figured speakers other than tweeters & subs were for midbass. Guess i still got stuff 2learn. having said that i thought my 8's would b in that category.
Last edited by scypher on July 10th, 2011, 4:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » July 10th, 2011, 4:07 pm

scypher wrote:well, notin i suppose....being that i not sure wat ppl call midbass....i kinda figured speakers other than tweeters & subs were for midbass. Guess i still got stuff 2learn.

what freq you crossing what at? you might end up with a gap...

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 4:10 pm

what freq you crossing what at? you might end up with a gap...

umm not sure wat u asking...i mean wat Hz i hav each type of speakers set at? like wat did i set my lpf & hpf as?

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » July 10th, 2011, 4:36 pm

pioneer wrote:So what's playing midbass?

was thinking the same thing

scypher wrote:well, notin i suppose....being that i not sure wat ppl call midbass....i kinda figured speakers other than tweeters & subs were for midbass. Guess i still got stuff 2learn. having said that i thought my 8's would b in that category.

The frequency band that occurs just above the low bass region, but below the midrange. This band runs from approximately 75-150 Hertz. A speaker with excessive output in this range will tend to sound “heavy” or “muffled.” A speaker with inadequate output in this range will tend to sound “thin.”.

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 4:53 pm

well my lpf is set to 50hz subsonic set to 30Hz, & for wat i call mids & highs for the two 8"s & bullets its hard to say from the amp im using which is the LW II LW4.580 its frequency filters & knobs are abit confusing for me, its abit different from 4channel amps i had b4.

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 4:55 pm

there is the tuning frequency of 50Hz - 650Hz for HPF & also two knobs that says when its pushed in freqency is 50-650Hz & when its out its 500Hz to 6.5KHz i dont know exactly how it wrks.

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » July 10th, 2011, 5:09 pm

the frequency range from approximately 300–5000 hertz is known as a mid-range.

(HIGH 500 Hz - 6.5 kHz)

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 5:43 pm

mid range is mid bass?

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » July 10th, 2011, 5:48 pm

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 7:04 pm

ohh this helps thanks....since i only got two 8"s & two bullets, im guessing the SST80 will play midbass? Does any1 know these speakers to b able to tell me wat use i shud give it? & i need to get two more 6" or 8" to play Midrange?

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » July 10th, 2011, 7:28 pm

This might sound strange coming from me but whatever.

I really think you can get by without worrying about a dedicated midbass. The equipment you got can more than meet your needs. When I play my car loud I use a 160Hz HP for the front, and tbh, not a huge difference when you want to get loud.

Hear what you going to do,

The LW4.580 has a 10x button that allows you to use crossover frequencies between what you stated.

HP output from headunit to LW4 use the 125Hz point to save your mids
then at the amp
Highpass the tweeters at about 5KHz or so using two front channels
Lowpass the Mids at 5Khz or so using two rear channels

Then
Using the Sub out from the HU into your Rubicon
about 80Hz LP and wherever you set your subsonic

Fully active, control over your gains on each pair of drivers.

scypher

Postby scypher » July 10th, 2011, 7:48 pm

thanks again every & tnx evolution7tt...i got a better understanding now.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » July 10th, 2011, 8:20 pm

No probs man, no need to buy more equipment.