2 amps wit total 140 amps wat alternator need or upgrade req

Dangerahead

2 amps wit total 140 amps wat alternator need or upgrade req

Postby Dangerahead » June 13th, 2011, 12:05 pm

stock 75amps alternator and normal 650 cranking amp battery in my car but these are not installed yet but will my music sys, suffer for power.
i need to kno wat is require to get the best out of my sys.

wanted

Re: 2 amps wit total 140 amps wat alternator need or upgrade

Postby wanted » June 13th, 2011, 4:34 pm

Buy the biggest dry cell battery that can fit in your engine and that has a metal casing, run 0 gauge from the front to back and 0 gauge from battery to ground. Play for a couple weeks then do your big 3 upgrade if needed. Last but not least,change alternator. That's the way I always do it and you save on cash and you can see if your changes makes a difference. If you were doing a system 250 amps and above yougot to do all the above at once. Hope the info helps!

Postby 3stagevtec » June 13th, 2011, 10:19 pm

Dangerahead wrote:stock 75amps alternator and normal 650 cranking amp battery in my car but these are not installed yet but will my music sys, suffer for power.

That 140A is the total fuse rating on the amps? If yes, try it and see, you may be surprised.. :wink:

All I would recommend is to do the big 3..

smr_fingers

Postby smr_fingers » June 14th, 2011, 12:53 am

3stagevtec wrote:
Dangerahead wrote:stock 75amps alternator and normal 650 cranking amp battery in my car but these are not installed yet but will my music sys, suffer for power.

That 140A is the total fuse rating on the amps? If yes, try it and see, you may be surprised.. :wink:

All I would recommend is to do the big 3..

^^yepp you will save some unnecessary $ here..i had a small system with stock 70 amp alt...50ah battery..wetcell eh...4gauge wires....2 amps...rated at 165A fuse rating total....worked fine for me...did the big 3 upgrade and everything was fine......untill i decided to put in big rf amps and upgrade :(

Dangerahead

Postby Dangerahead » June 14th, 2011, 7:26 am

Ok guys i'll try the big 3 an see how it works then i'll look at getting a better battery if the big 3 is'nt enough.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » June 14th, 2011, 11:34 am

get a good music battery for the car and use good wires.
You do not need to change alternator

wanted

Postby wanted » June 14th, 2011, 1:48 pm

^^that's what I said,sometimes doing the big 3 upgrade on a stock alternator makes yuh system suffer for current or hampers charging.