deck and processor inquiries

spam

deck and processor inquiries

Postby spam » May 2nd, 2011, 11:16 am

in my previous system i used a 88oprs in my gallery system. from the deck straight to the amp with no xover. however i am using dls speakers now but i no longer have my 880, i also want the usb option on my deck.

so my question is is there a HU where i can get the close too or same quality as the 880 which has the usb feature? if not what would be a good xover for me to use to clean up my sound to get that quality.
:shock: :shock: :shock:

pimptacular

Re: deck and processor inquiries

Postby pimptacular » May 2nd, 2011, 11:32 am

you gave up your 880? thats madness mane.. sorry to say atleast from my knowledge there isnt any usb decks that has the processing power of the 880..

Firewall

Postby Firewall » May 2nd, 2011, 11:35 am

check out the kenwood x994.

doesn't have the same processing capabilities, but many people are using them as an alternative to the alpine 9887 etc, and the reviews are saying that it has excellent sound quality.

Postby Gladiator » May 2nd, 2011, 2:15 pm

Firewall wrote:check out the kenwood x994.

doesn't have the same processing capabilities, but many people are using them as an alternative to the alpine 9887 etc, and the reviews are saying that it has excellent sound quality.

I installed a Kenwood x994 in my Grand Vitara Saturday and I must say I am totally overwhelmed by the performance of this unit. I previously had in an eclipse 8443.

The kenwood has alot of features, not as much as the 880prs but the clarity, imaging, tonality etc is top notch.

It does have DTA and a 5 band eq.... the xover is very very good.... LPF down to 30Hz 24 db slopes etc.

Definately a good replacement I would recommend.

I also used the 880prs and 9887 before in this same vehicle with the existing amps and speakers. Ditched them because of the same reason (no USB).

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 2nd, 2011, 4:51 pm

Gladiator wrote:

I installed a Kenwood x994 in my Grand Vitara Saturday and I must say I am totally overwhelmed by the performance of this unit. I previously had in an eclipse 8443.

The kenwood has alot of features, not as much as the 880prs but the clarity, imaging, tonality etc is top notch.

It does have DTA and a 5 band eq.... the xover is very very good.... LPF down to 30Hz 24 db slopes etc.

I also used the 880prs and 9887 before in this same vehicle with the existing amps and speakers. Ditched them because of the same reason (no USB).

a headunit cannot affect imaging... unless of course you get technical and talk about the processing features such as time alignment for example

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 2nd, 2011, 4:58 pm

spam- if you willing to run the setup passive id say get the alpine 117 or look at the 9886.

If you are stuck on active processing however get a 6xs, 3stagevtech has one for sale right now at a good price :

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=370789

Postby Gladiator » May 2nd, 2011, 6:56 pm

pimptacular wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

a headunit cannot affect imaging... unless of course you get technical and talk about the processing features such as time alignment for example

Correct me if I am wrong... but isn't stereo imaging a factor based on the quality of the recording? If so then accurate reproduction by a head unit will be key to the quality of the sound the listener enjoys....

I am not really into the SQ nitty gritty... but still appreciate learning a thing or two :)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 2nd, 2011, 8:16 pm

true but a signal is just a signal.. the headunit can affect clarity and tonality to an extent but atleast from what i know it doesnt affect imaging..
imaging comes from how the signal from your headunit is processed to give you the imaging..

crossover points, slopes, and time alignment affects imaging hence i said processing.. but imaging is also depends on speaker locations..

i can use a headunit like a p99 and its possible to have horrible imaging as its dependent on the factors i listed above.. you can also use a lower line headunit without processing and have great imaging based on speaker locations.. an ive seen an heard this myself at sbn..

Postby Gladiator » May 2nd, 2011, 8:32 pm

pimptacular wrote:true but a signal is just a signal.. the headunit can affect clarity and tonality to an extent but atleast from what i know it doesnt affect imaging..
imaging comes from how the signal from your headunit is processed to give you the imaging..

crossover points, slopes, and time alignment affects imaging hence i said processing.. but imaging is also depends on speaker locations..

i can use a headunit like a p99 and its possible to have horrible imaging as its dependent on the factors i listed above.. you can also use a lower line headunit without processing and have great imaging based on speaker locations.. an ive seen an heard this myself at sbn..

I hear yuh.... the Kenwood x994 has a full DSP with digital time alignment and digital xover with variable slopes.

So maybe we on the same wavelength???

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 2nd, 2011, 8:56 pm

lol well then in tha case yeh lol... i didnt look into the specs as i was on my phone but then in that case your right carry on my bad lol

Sully

Postby Sully » May 3rd, 2011, 6:51 am

Pioneer DEX-P99RS with the CD-IU50 Cable. If you need more precessing than that then you need an external processor.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 3rd, 2011, 7:04 am

Sully wrote:Pioneer DEX-P99RS with the CD-IU50 Cable. If you need more precessing than that then you need an external processor.

I find it hard to see why id need more processing than that :shock:

spam

Postby spam » May 3rd, 2011, 9:40 am

Sully wrote:Pioneer DEX-P99RS with the CD-IU50 Cable. If you need more precessing than that then you need an external processor.

if i buy that then is no tv
so i think i wud look at the kenwood for now see how i like it

spam

Postby spam » May 3rd, 2011, 11:12 am

another question.

lets say i get the Pioneer DEX-P99RS and i am also using external processing like lets say a 6xs does that mean the processing on the deck wud be useless cuz everything wud need to be flat ?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 3rd, 2011, 8:00 pm

If you're using external processing, get a cheaper headunit.
You can use a cheap USB headunit and a DQX.

spam

Postby spam » May 5th, 2011, 9:05 am

other than audio control processing what are some other good options ?

Sully

Postby Sully » May 6th, 2011, 8:50 am

Audison Bit.One
Audison Bit Ten
JBL MS-8
Rockford Fosgate 360.3
MotusLab AGW+
Audio Control DQXS

Of course I tend to go for the more complete solutions and they tend to be higher end. You could get a simpler EQ / Xover setup and use the HU for Time alignment.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 6th, 2011, 10:17 am

Mosconi 6to8 (End of July)
Arc Audio PS8 (only Arc knows)
Alpine PHA-H800 (Aug)

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » May 6th, 2011, 11:18 am

oh great they pushed the h800 back to august now..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 6th, 2011, 11:22 am

Malaysians have them for 800USD.

spam

Postby spam » May 11th, 2011, 11:30 pm

when using external processing *6xs* does it matter how many inputs you have ?
the deck i have now only have 1 rca output so would that affect anything ?

MONGO

Postby MONGO » May 12th, 2011, 1:07 am

no it won't you will just have a 2 channel 3 way setup..refer to page 4 of the manual...

from deck output to front/main input of 6xs and you get 3 outputs ( front lowpass, front highpass and subwoofer), only thing you don't get is the rear highpass output with this configuration..

spam

Postby spam » May 12th, 2011, 10:30 pm

so i not too familiar wit all the terms when i lookin at xover specs. i was lookin at the 6xs. i also saw some good reviews on the clarion mcd360 and kicker kx3. my goal is quality, i dont need competition clarity but i want it clean and crisp. would it make a big difference which one i use ?

MONGO

Postby MONGO » May 13th, 2011, 1:16 am

the x over settings 6dB/octave,12dB/octave,18dB/octave,24dB/octave gives the rate which the audio level increases/decreases per octave as the frequency increases/decreases. E.G every time the frequency of the audio signal is changed by a factor of 2 (one octave), the level of the audio signal will change by 12dB for a 12dB/octave slope.

Graph Legend:
Cyan = 6dB/octave
Red = 12dB/octave
Green = 18dB/octave
Violet = 24dB/octave

The diagram above shows both high pass and low pass crossover filters with the 4 most common slopes. The crossover point is the frequency at which the level of the signal is 3dB down (for a Butterworth alignment - to be discussed later) from the level of the pass band (the crossover point is about 1000hz in this diagram). The pass band is simply the part of the audio band which is unaffected by the crossover's filters.

(Directory #27)

6XS - 24 dB/octave
clarion mcd360 - 18 db/octave
kicker kx3 - 18 dB/octave

Depending on the drivers you use and what bandwidth you want them to respond is the next step...