Coping with cabin resonant frequency

nareshseep

Coping with cabin resonant frequency

Postby nareshseep » June 11th, 2010, 10:39 pm

I am just throwing out a question out here, If your car(hatchback) has a resonant frequency of lets say 47 hz, what do you guys do to eliminate the "boom" that occurs when crossing at 80 hz, Do you tune your ported enclosure higher or lower? or should I damp the trunk area to get rid/lower that annoying boom?

Re: Coping with cabin resonant frequency

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 11th, 2010, 11:32 pm

matting does help lessen some of d annoying boomy freqs ...

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 12th, 2010, 7:56 am

IDK but wouldnt EQing/tuning be the easiest solution?

Sully

Postby Sully » June 12th, 2010, 8:17 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:IDK but wouldnt EQing/tuning be the easiest solution?

Yes, but sometimes cabin gain or loss can be so great that EQing just won't suffice. I had that problem around 500Hz with the Levin. In that case it comes down to installation.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 12th, 2010, 10:19 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:IDK but wouldnt EQing/tuning be the easiest solution?

yes it would but I am trying my best from adding a next component in the signal stream.
considering a 3sixty but will look at other recomendations.

My other option is to run the sub from say 45 hz downwards and beef up the midbass.

trinifox

Postby trinifox » June 21st, 2010, 9:03 am

Really good parametric EQ or notch filter custom built? At any rate this is not the only freq you'd have to deal with you probably have to deal with maybe 3 or 4 harmonics.

--Jumbie

Postby crazybalhead » June 29th, 2010, 9:00 am

Before filtering and EQ, your best bet is to try and move around the sub in the Hatch area to as many positions as you can to eliminate the Hump. The next thing, is to try a different enclusure with a diffierent fundamental resonant frequency that is not realated to your cabin gain frequency.

If that doesn't work, then try changing crossover points and phase, and lastly if none of the above work, you can try a parametric EQ to reduce the peak, so you can adjust the Q and the frequency to help balance the music.

TK!

Postby TK! » June 29th, 2010, 9:18 pm

i have a hatch. ek3.

if sub faces fwd = [edit] plenty cancellation issues
if sub faces up = cancellation issues
if sub faces rear = you're good to go

generally, facing the sub to a rigid surface reduces the cancellation issues a lot.

but why didn't i mention anything about the cabin gain at 47hz??? cause ah have two theories.. move yuh sub and see what happens.

i tempted to say as the others did that by moving the sub the peak for the res. freq will go away. but it doenst make sense. it's prob a standing wave at 47hz.

ah sick and on meds.. so excuse de cloudiness.