I know its noobish, but PLEASE help.!!!

Firewall

I know its noobish, but PLEASE help.!!!

Postby Firewall » January 22nd, 2010, 12:22 pm

So i really HATE to ask noobish questions like this in the ICE, but i really can't decide on what to get.

the volume that we working with is 4.5 cubic
the budget that we working with is $3000 - $4000 (not inclusive of box)
the wattage is approx 1400 rms (Crossfire XP1400D)

The suggestions can range from 10" - 15" once it has sufficient volume.

The ones that i'm looking at right now and can't decide are:

1)DD2512 / DD2510 / DD3515
2)DC Audio lvl3 12"
3)Mmats P3 12"

Feel free to add what you thinking (please add where and a price if you do)

Now what i'm looking for is mainly output, but i mean the sq should be there as well (once it don't sound like stick in mud :oops: :oops: )

i KNOW that there are threads about this already, but i'm looking for PERSONAL reviews and PROFESSIONAL advice.

Looking to pull the trigger by Monday, so PLEASE HELP!!!!!

infinitesounds

Postby infinitesounds » January 22nd, 2010, 12:29 pm

how abt a wmd1 12

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 22nd, 2010, 12:36 pm

nope, read some disturbing things and i'm not going pay to see first hand if they are true. made that mistake already.

Postby nervewrecker » January 22nd, 2010, 1:13 pm

rockford T2?

http://www.mktrinievents.com/forum/phpB ... =14&t=1781

dont know if its just me but that new T2 looks damn sexy!

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 22nd, 2010, 1:28 pm

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » January 22nd, 2010, 2:56 pm

with space u looking at either 2 12s or 1 15

imho dc l3 & dd 2500 both sound close - they both not sq nor spl but in d middle

have a feeling dd3500 might be asking for more than 1400wrms

mmats p3 is nice but rated at 750wrms so if want 2 subs d P2.5 rated at 500wrms might be better suited for d power

a RF T2 15" wud be really nice with d power u have ...

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » January 22nd, 2010, 3:08 pm

RE SE ?... silent_riot sposed to have a barely used pair of 12s to sell too for a spranga price

I had one before i got the XXX and even in 2.5 cuft net @ 32 hz it was fcukin loud

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 22nd, 2010, 3:17 pm

there are many subz out there dat can giv u wat u want....but out of ur 3...try d dc or 2512....

didnt read d post properly an had 2 erase my first post and didnt hav time to re write it :oops:

Postby nervewrecker » January 22nd, 2010, 7:07 pm

Soundstream_626 wrote:RE SE ?... silent_riot sposed to have a barely used pair of 12s to sell too for a spranga price

thats a nice deal there :idea:

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 22nd, 2010, 8:29 pm

Firewall wrote:nope, read some disturbing things and i'm not going pay to see first hand if they are true. made that mistake already.

really! i heard a demo of this speaker and i was really impressed
so if u dont mind me asking what did u read?

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 25th, 2010, 12:23 am

why not an RE SX 15"?

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 25th, 2010, 12:29 am

jed ent u had 2 ed???....im sure da was a sweet bassline....
d 2 13ov i did .....wow dat bassline was sweetttttt.....smooth, low and accurate...
y u changing????

Postby 3stagevtec » January 25th, 2010, 3:29 am

imo, a DC Level 4 15" would give more than what you are looking for..

i have experience with both a pair of modified 15"s and a stock 18" and they are both ridiculously impressive! the single 18" powered by a 1600 Atomic had outperformed 2 15" DDs (not sure which model) at a beach lime.. and the 18" was in a 34Hz tuned box..

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 25th, 2010, 7:51 am

it have 18" DC audio? :shock:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » January 25th, 2010, 8:31 am

3stagevtec wrote:imo, a DC Level 4 15" would give more than what you are looking for..

i have experience with both a pair of modified 15"s and a stock 18" and they are both ridiculously impressive! the single 18" powered by a 1600 Atomic had outperformed 2 15" DDs (not sure which model) at a beach lime.. and the 18" was in a 34Hz tuned box..

Diaz wah we talk bout :D

ping7464

Postby ping7464 » January 25th, 2010, 9:00 am

3stagevtec wrote:imo, a DC Level 4 15" would give more than what you are looking for..

I second this

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 25th, 2010, 10:19 am

loudsound wrote:jed ent u had 2 ed???....im sure da was a sweet bassline....
d 2 13ov i did .....wow dat bassline was sweetttttt.....smooth, low and accurate...
y u changing????

it was :lol: but the suspension glue cam out and i haven't gotten time to fix it, so i say might as well try something new one time

DC and Fi at the top of the list right now, however, i MAY have a surprise in store

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » January 25th, 2010, 10:44 am

If you had more power to play with you could have tried the Premier 8102 SPL

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 25th, 2010, 11:53 am

ping7464 wrote:

I second this

Endorsed..

DC lvl 4 15'' mated to a sundown saz1500d is pure win..

And it just so happens I have that combo for sale.. :lol:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 25th, 2010, 12:21 pm

2 x 15" RE SE :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Not as much output but imagine the lows...

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 25th, 2010, 12:26 pm

:lol: :lol: backside :lol:

i was eyeing that, but i want to keep my amp and it only does 700 at 2 ohms. even tried to see if box impedance rise will ensure a margin of safety, but just don't want to take that chance.

right now, the choices are:

a pair of the DC lvl 3's either 10's or 12's
1 DC lvl 4 15"
a pair of Fi SSD either 10's or 12's
pair SA-12

will try to do a comparison of the tech specs later so you all can see if i'm on the right track with this

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 25th, 2010, 5:21 pm

but technically in terms of cone area, shouldn't 2 12" lvl 3 be "louder" cause both have basically the same specs.

and a next thing that a little bit confusing, DC Audio suggesting some seriously small boxes for their subs. are they accurate? i mean if i not going modeling in WinIsd, are those really the best box sizes?

jeff

Postby jeff » January 25th, 2010, 5:35 pm

Firewall wrote:and a next thing that a little bit confusing, DC Audio suggesting some seriously small boxes for their subs. are they accurate? i mean if i not going modeling in WinIsd, are those really the best box sizes?

post the suggestions?

depending on the power and application these specs can be modified, these suggestions are for general purposes

Pirate

Postby Pirate » January 25th, 2010, 10:40 pm

What about an Ascendant Audio Havoc 12" its 1250RMS (great with that amp).
a lovely sub!!!
http://www.ascendantaudio.com/havoc.php
:mrgreen:

Firewall

Postby Firewall » January 25th, 2010, 11:40 pm

i looked at that one, as well as the elevation audio execution (which i would have gone with if i had the space i.e required depth)

pretty much decided on a pair of the DC lvl3 12",

unless i get convinced otherwise by Friday.

Postby 3stagevtec » January 26th, 2010, 12:27 pm

Firewall wrote:i looked at that one, as well as the elevation audio execution (which i would have gone with if i had the space i.e required depth)

if you have the space, do 1 18" level 4 instead.. you will NEVER regret it! 8-)

AYE_SOLDIER

Postby AYE_SOLDIER » January 26th, 2010, 1:57 pm

DJ Q wrote:2 x 15" RE SE :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Not as much output but imagine the lows...

x2!

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 26th, 2010, 5:53 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
Firewall wrote:i looked at that one, as well as the elevation audio execution (which i would have gone with if i had the space i.e required depth)

if you have the space, do 1 18" level 4 instead.. you will NEVER regret it! 8-)

X2!!

It have one bess 15" for sale in the F.S section. Pm me for a even better deal.