Subwoofer question

FD3S

Subwoofer question

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 5:02 pm

Guys I am planning an install in a evo 7. I want to do a full pioneer install as i have easy access to those products. I want to use 6 inch comps infront, some coaxials in the back and one 12" sub (probably the ts-w307)
What i want to know is when designing the sub enclosure, how do i account for cabin gain. Does anyone have an idea at what frequency this vehicle might peak at and how much gain is involved. I want the sub to be flat from about 30-70Hz and blend nicely with the front speakers. I know they are cheap subs but has anyone ever achieved good results wrt sq with these subs?

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 6:44 pm

^^^^ Oh i forgot that if it isn't ID or alpine, it not good :roll:

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 29th, 2009, 7:15 pm

A sealed 12 can get you a decent flat response in the sub bass region.
How cheap is cheap for you? You can get decent results from JL W3, ID IDs, Alpine Type R for just over a grand.
If you can get the pioneer PRS series components, those should be nice.
If you run enough power to the fronts, you wont need any speakers in the rear, and you can use that money instead for some nicer higher power handling fronts/amps etc.

What's your budget?

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 7:33 pm

The PRS series components are nice but pricey. I was looking at the D series as I had a set of the older REV series components and they sounded good enough for me.
The sub to complement the fronts is what i'm trying to figure out. I know in the past pioneer made a PRS sub but like its discontinued. So i take it that their other subs, the ts-w307/8 or the ts-w3002 would work. Really want to keep everything pioneer.
The enclosure design i was looking at was a ported box tuned very low, like below 30 Hz. I prefer ported jus because of the increased efficiency. Eventually i think i might have to do some testing to figure out the car's cabin gain and tune accordingly.

theblitz

Postby theblitz » July 29th, 2009, 7:43 pm

^^^ maybe a honda :|

What wrong if the man want to do a full pio install? I think its ambitious cuz he not looking at gallary at all.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 29th, 2009, 7:47 pm

Well with cabin gain, a sealed 12 usually ends up reasonably flat with a peak around 50-55Hz for sedans of that size. It's the best when working with a budget.
Otherwise, If you want to tune exactly to the car's peaks, you'd need a decent EQ and Xover which may be over budget for you. Porting will complicate the freq response. But if will be more efficient as u said, keep in mind a sealed 12 will be loud enough for daily once u don't look to bangout.

Also, I don't think the prs is discontinued, its just that it may not be available here cuz ppl dont demand it.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 7:49 pm

You have an evo and want an all pioneer install?

What difference if is an evo? Evo is just a variant of an econobox lancer. Don't mind an all audiopipe install either. Once it satisfying the ears

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 8:05 pm

Silent riot, I was playing around with a spreadsheet i downloaded from diysubwoofers.org. You can dial in the car's peak frequency, gain and Q and it would show you the expected in car response. There is a section in the spreadsheet where you can input measured db levels via an spl meter over a range of frequencies and it will calculate those parameters.
Do SQ guys locally go true all these procedures or is there a simplier way to have a good sounding sub without much equalization.

Postby kurpal_v2 » July 29th, 2009, 8:14 pm

^^link that speadsheet na

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 8:21 pm

Postby sMASH » July 29th, 2009, 8:23 pm

i dont think that pioneer comps are used very often in trinidad,,,, 6X9's may be, but not the comps

but what so badd about it any way, apart from it not being the normal sq brands?
eeef u put it side by side wit some dls or sumtin, how much difference would u get?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 29th, 2009, 8:38 pm

A speaker is as good as it's install...

20/80

equipment/install

I have a Quantum Audio subwoofer that to this day still surprises everyone that hears it. Pioneer speakers are pretty good and there's nothing wrong with this project. I say an 800PRS with 6.5s in front and 1 12 with one 4 channel amp.

you in the game there.. that's about 5-6k i think
deck $3000
comps $500
sub $500
Amp i don't know...
wires may run you another 3-500

I see you mention you want to tune the box below 30Hz... correct me if i'm wrong but I think the Fs of that sub is wayy above that and that may cause some issues... if you want 30 - 70 Hz I figure 33-35Hz enclosure will do you justice
My enclosure is tuned to 35 and I play 23-25Hz notes (not at full power) with no problems

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 8:57 pm

Yea i understand you can tune the box to 35 Hz and sound loud and low but how musical will it really be in a car environment. Will it sound boomy and be a one note wonder? I am lookin for a accurate bass that reproduces what was meant to be heard in the song. It must blend with the front speakers and that sub should not be localized.
Tough task but i'll try a thing an see what happens.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » July 29th, 2009, 8:59 pm

Well in my honest opinion I don't think that my subwoofer can sound any better. I can organize a demo if you like.

Walk with some CDs that you want to listen to...

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 9:11 pm

i really listen a lot of 80's tunes. My last sub, an audiopipe 10 in a 1.5cuft box tuned to 33 Hz was really loud and really shined with a lot of bass heavy dub and hip hop but missed a lot of notes when i listened to 80's music. I dont want to end up with that again.
I think what went wrong with it was the box design was done on WINISD and d freq response looked good. But when placed in the car, it was a different story.

Postby X_Factor » July 29th, 2009, 9:20 pm

I am lookin for a accurate bass that reproduces what was meant to be heard in the song. It must blend with the front speakers and that sub should not be localized.

and u wanna use a 307 pioneer?
if it was viable im sure all the sq ppl out there would be doing that rather than spending alot of $$ for more sq brands
even if u wanna stay in the brand...atleast get a decent sub...there is alot u can get for 5-600 on the forum

btw whats the FS on the 307?

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 29th, 2009, 9:42 pm

FS 34.8Hz

Pirate

Postby Pirate » July 29th, 2009, 11:11 pm

u selling that evo 7 or what?
:fadein:

Postby X_Factor » July 29th, 2009, 11:21 pm

^^ and buy a b14 ent

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 30th, 2009, 3:35 am

my first sub was the 307, the bass IMHO is muddy, and that was in a sealed box. you cannot get low frequency response which is needed to complement your components. sub is just for 20 - 60 hz. Measure twice cut once. Spend your money on good not high quality products and you will not be disapointed. Quality of amps wrt to damping affects sound greatly in car audio as opposed to home audio. Currently I have an alpine type r now and the difference in bass is like night and day. This can produce low frequency as opposed to that high bass POS. The RE SE seems to be a good choice also.

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2009, 7:01 am

why allyuh sq guys doh hush allyuh kants! wasnt it sr or jeff who posted in a thread that he won an sq competition with an install that utilized a pios sub?
so what does that say bout the rest of you guys? you dont know what you doin?
how you so sure ho not goin to have this install professionally done?

d man want a pios, let him buy a pios. :roll:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 30th, 2009, 10:19 am

slacker_jack wrote:why allyuh sq guys doh hush allyuh kants! wasnt it sr or jeff who posted in a thread that he won an sq competition with an install that utilized a pios sub?

" all pioneers subs are the same"
quote slacker jack

:pokes:

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » July 30th, 2009, 10:24 am

slacker_jack wrote:why allyuh sq guys doh hush allyuh kants! wasnt it sr or jeff who posted in a thread that he won an sq competition with an install that utilized a pios sub?

slacker jack, it also possible to win a SQ comp without a sub. :mrgreen:

Postby nervewrecker » July 30th, 2009, 10:25 am

nareshseep, :lol:

evolution7tt, also true :mrgreen:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 30th, 2009, 10:31 am

i watchin all the profreesional comments on this here threar

X_Factor, rememeber, fs should not be used to gauge speaker resopnse

I think what went wrong with it was the box design was done on WINISD and d freq response looked good. But when placed in the car, it was a different story.

correct is right, ever speaker,every car every box is different, and thus will sound diferent

in the evo, you will have a peak out to around 50-55hz, but also a natural cabin gain around 42-45hz

so you can afford to tune lower,(if it's ported) to get a maximally flat response

also from what i've seen and used, the prs line from pioneer it a great line, very afforadable as compaired to other brands

a very simple set from pioneer, but it will be pricy-

pionner 880prs/800prs
PRS-D4200F amplifer
TS-C720PRS 2 way component kit
TS-W12PRS sub

now thats a very nice system, that if used correctly can be very competitive in competition

FD3S

Postby FD3S » July 30th, 2009, 10:41 am

Southside, i read good reviews on that TS-W12PRS sub and i wont mind getting my hands on one. It's just i didnt see it in the sub line up on pioneer's site and thought it was discontinued. It's there when u search the archive.

I already have a pioneer 9400mp lying around. Old unit but it has good features. Have a premier PRS-D5000SPL amp also. Jus have to get a good 4 channel and the speakers. The headunit should have enough processisng to give decent results.