Music weight ...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 13th, 2009, 10:20 pm

u know most guys with their big sets (& even a not so big set) dont realize how much extra weight it adds up in ur ride

on saturday i sold my orion 2500d & 2 big optima D31 batt (thats about 150+lbs less) & today i noticed my wagon accelerating faster & moving a bit more agile than it has been in a while ...i also recently went from 2 10s to just a simple 1 12" which is about 25lbs less too so that 175+lbs is alot of weight reduction which will soon be noticeable in gas bills too

was already planning on downsizing & keeping my set very simple to a 1 amp system so d weight saving$ & more trunk space is a really good benefit for me too

check out ur system & see how much extra weight ur actually carrying around .....

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » July 13th, 2009, 10:48 pm

its a hard thing to get away from, my build will have 7 powermaster d 3100 (over 500lbs), 1 infront and 2 in wheel well, 4 on the ground in back seat.
That 4 was specifically put there so that when there is not show, it will come out and go under bed.
So i wont be carrying around un-used weight.
But my v6 2.0 does kinda make up for it, i guess thaz why i dont really feel all the weight.

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » July 14th, 2009, 7:14 am

Any extra weight added to your vehicle would have an effect on performance, fuel consumption etc. Even your body weight would make a difference except for men like noyztoyz, I'm sorry man I had to do it. :lol:

Just cleaning out the crap in your trunk would make a difference. I guess that's the price we pay for wanting big audio in the ride.

Postby 3stagevtec » July 14th, 2009, 9:28 am

that's one of the reasons why i sold the 5000 Pioneer i had.. the sub was 73lbs and the extra D3100 battery i use is also, 70lbs.. my sub enclosure was 60lbs.. amps might account for another 30 or so lbs.. it adds up quickly.. and even super gasoline not so cheap..

i gotta get a diesel..

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 15th, 2009, 11:54 am

115 views yet only 3 comments ..... :? :? :?

30hz

Postby 30hz » July 15th, 2009, 1:22 pm

i remember when a big sound man in my area scrap out his galant wagon(hint) and had to put in some concrete blocks to maintain the ride height. The car's height was adjusted for the music equipment.

HITTLER

Postby HITTLER » July 15th, 2009, 2:22 pm

weight is no problem just buy a TOYOTA HILUX and problem solved lol. its like wanting speed but fraid dee gas bill, cant have yuh cake an eat it too

gfbl

Postby gfbl » July 15th, 2009, 2:42 pm

i switched from 2 10's ported to 1 10 sealed. the difference in wight is approximately 70-80 lbs. it has made a significant difference to acceleration.havent looked at fuel economy though i am sure this has been positively affected. makes a good case for using critical mass ul subs

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » July 15th, 2009, 3:08 pm

I too noticed the difference.
I took out the music in my car to attempt a fibreblass box.
Takes off much better now,
With the box in, i top out at 160-170
Now 180
But it takes long to reach there :(
Driving fast = plenty gas

markzz

Postby markzz » July 15th, 2009, 8:35 pm

well i scrapped out my car also recently.. i prolly had like 500lbs in my trunk. i now seein what my expensive plugs and lil upgrades did.... :lol:

superb accel.. and alot more pace Woooo! :mrgreen:

gas consumption alot less as well...

i think all that noise was doin me more harm than good SQ ftw :)

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » July 15th, 2009, 11:52 pm

markzz wrote:well i scrapped out my car also recently.. i prolly had like 500lbs in my trunk. i now seein what my expensive plugs and lil upgrades did.... :lol:

superb accel.. and alot more pace Woooo! :mrgreen:

gas consumption alot less as well...

i think all that noise was doin me more harm than good SQ ftw :)

youre losing out.. :wink:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 16th, 2009, 12:03 am

^^^what he losing ? ....

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » July 16th, 2009, 12:11 am

well if he killing the weight, he going less equipment, his music will be less loud, sounds sad.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 16th, 2009, 1:03 am

yep

goin more on the sq side to..but who say sq cant hit hard? :wink:

markzz

Postby markzz » July 16th, 2009, 1:32 am

Lol... Believe me I have had loud music for quite some time.. i think you're the 1 loosin out my friend! :P taste it yuh go like it.. :)

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 16th, 2009, 4:14 am

rovin as hittler said u cyah hve ur cake an eat it too...

its like wanting a loud system that has superb sq...

Ginxdor

Postby Ginxdor » July 16th, 2009, 4:47 am

Can't Loud and SQ go together? Is there some sort of (db) restriction to be considered SQ?

Lance

Postby Lance » July 16th, 2009, 7:37 am

noyztoyz wrote:well if he killing the weight, he going less equipment, his music will be less loud, sounds sad.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 16th, 2009, 10:08 am

i can sense this thread going to yet again end up in a sq vs sql vs gallery thing ... :?

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » July 16th, 2009, 10:34 am

haha, i not in dat

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 16th, 2009, 11:22 am

for d past 1.5-2yrs i had 2 big batts & d 30lbs+ orion 2500d in my trunk always there in case i go to test SPL at a show so i was always lugging that extra weight around & for daily use ... i was only d using d amp at 4ohms (1200wrms) since i really dont need more loud than that

...so im glad it got sold & my trunk is looking so much less busy with no fat 0g & all d other wires showing ... i love SQ for my daily use so im going to just put 1 sub box weighing like less than 40lbs & with my pair of comps upfront i good to go .... :D

Postby SmokeyGTi » July 21st, 2009, 12:40 pm

3stagevtec wrote:that's one of the reasons why i sold the 5000 Pioneer i had.. the sub was 73lbs and the extra D3100 battery i use is also, 70lbs.. my sub enclosure was 60lbs.. amps might account for another 30 or so lbs.. it adds up quickly.. and even super gasoline not so cheap..

i gotta get a diesel..

TD27 fitting in the vitara normal normal..

you'll lose the 4wd though..

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 21st, 2009, 9:06 pm

i dreading that dual 15 box that goin in there..put them amps and battery and the amp racks kinda heavy to...

jah boy..

stress