Awesome work. Can't wait to hear it.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » November 24th, 2008, 8:03 pm

nice stuff man. quickly done too

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » November 24th, 2008, 10:34 pm

Roger the pillers looking real "bess" hope to hear the system when it finish !

roger

Postby roger » November 25th, 2008, 10:04 am

TintMan wrote:Roger the pillers looking real "bess" hope to hear the system when it finish !

the system has quite some way to go before i can say its finished.

i hafta dgo inna the vault to pull out couple ah clean amps to power them up.....(will prolly give my ppi sedonas a run)

i hafta find a suitable acoustic treatment to take care of reflections as such

lots yet to do....but when its finished or at a place where i think it sounds decent enuff...i have no probs with demos

Postby SR » November 25th, 2008, 11:03 am

gimme a buzz

have a package for you

jeff

Postby jeff » January 8th, 2009, 3:49 pm

any updates on this? how did it all work out rog

roger

Postby roger » March 5th, 2009, 10:30 am

hye guys,

i got this up and running a couple of weeks ago.

still working on the xo points though. i will zero in on it over the weekend.

the L3s are really nice woofers and i an pleasantly suprised by them. compared to the IR3 it does not sound as full and warm. they sound very natural, and tonally they sound accurate. i now have better understanding into the forum hype (both -ve and +ve) of these drivers.

they are that good!

they blow my ES03s out of the water!! they outperform the ES03 in every area, hands down.

however, the bandwith capabilities on this driver is insane!! these thing play very low for a woofer of its size. i have it right now at 220hz to 7Kz, but will see how they sound north and south of those points over the weekend.

as mentioned higher up i am not using an eq, so i am tuning with my crossover...the imageing and sounstage needs some more attention, but for what i paid for these L3s they are well worth it.

perfectly sized for a pillar installations

Postby SR » March 5th, 2009, 10:52 am

still have yuh package man

roger

Postby roger » March 5th, 2009, 11:01 am

yeah ah know...it safe and ah still taking it

the schedule crazy in bago...i eh finish yet

jeff

Postby jeff » March 5th, 2009, 11:55 am

in an installation of this sort, have you played around with phasing also?

roger

Postby roger » March 5th, 2009, 2:00 pm

yeah, i did.

i kinda took the comp route with this one, not so much in the install but definitely in the approach.

i wanted to maximize the benefits of the install location. since the majority of the vocal information was above dash i had to get it to a place where the sound was accurate tonally as a first priority. So i had to play with phaseing.

the xo i have is rather flexible so i was able to manipulate TA and intensities to get to a place where i am liking the end result.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » March 5th, 2009, 4:34 pm

Thanks for the unbiased opinion.

I heard a similar comparison between an L4 and a Dynaudio dome midrange.

Who knows, maybe these speakers are really all that huh?

roger

Postby roger » March 6th, 2009, 7:42 am

well the truth is always the truth eh...

what i really like is the bandwidth that these tiny woofers can cover. the es03 woofers cover a similar bandwidth 120hz to 11khz iirc, but they sound no way as good as these. the es03 are harsher and can have sibilance issues, and the tone is a bit hollow and dull.

for me who tune only with an xo and with no eq capabilities whatsoever, i have to rely on the drivers themselves to give me what i am looking for. so i look for drivers that deliver especially on tonal accuracy.

i have used vifas,seas,accuton,tang,mbquart,boston acoustics,focal,cello, and a couple of other small midranges in the past, but the dls IR3, cello, and the L3 have been the best of the lot so far by far.

i give the dls the edge tonally because it has an uncolored richness/brightness that i like. not saying that the L3 does not, because it does deliver tonally, but i think for me its just that the L3s have a slightly "flatter" tone, and prolly may be a bit more technical.

The L3 is far superior in terms of the "size/bandwidth ratio" (copywrited term), which makes it allot more practical for what i want to acheive with this install.

so for me and my pillar install for this year...its L3 dong de road.

i plan to try the L4 in the a pillar, but that may be in the second half of the year.

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » March 6th, 2009, 9:03 am

good find rog...

roger

Postby roger » March 6th, 2009, 9:07 am

that eh no find pallie...

that's first xperience

j/k......

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » March 6th, 2009, 9:10 am

ok cool..nice sharing ur experience with us

Postby SR » March 6th, 2009, 9:25 am

rog yuh need to hear the s2000 and the civic

roger

Postby roger » March 6th, 2009, 10:24 am

indeed

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » March 6th, 2009, 7:14 pm

Bump for a suhweet ICE thread :!:
I can't wait to hear it.

TK!

Postby TK! » March 11th, 2009, 10:11 am

de man music was stolen ...

Postby wagonrunner » March 11th, 2009, 10:22 am

TK! wrote:de man music was stolen ...

ent it have a stolen property thread?