DJ Q

Question about SPL Peak in a car

Postby DJ Q » November 3rd, 2008, 12:45 pm

jeff wrote:tuning a box to a specific freq doesnt mean it will peak in a car
for example the graph below is a box tuned to 25hz peaking at 40hz in a car

Now how do I find the optimum tuning for my enclosure in terms of SPL?

Just build and test?

For example, my car peaks at 59 Hz, so i built a box at 58Hz and got 137.9dB(rush thing)

Is there any form of calculation one can use instead of wasting wood

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » November 3rd, 2008, 12:47 pm

run a sine sweep in the car & see what you peak freq is & then build box :idea:

spam

Postby spam » November 3rd, 2008, 12:49 pm

that is not wah he said he do ?

:shock: :shock: :shock:

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 3rd, 2008, 12:54 pm

nah he build, test, then build again.

jeff

Postby jeff » November 3rd, 2008, 12:56 pm

last ice meeting we had a detailed discussion of this

DJ Q wrote:For example, my car peaks at 59 Hz, so i built a box at 58Hz and got 137.9dB(rush thing)

u are correct this is not the way to do this
BUT in spl even tho there are alot of calculations trial and error is a big part of it

food for thought
if a car has a "resonating freq" then no matter how u place the enclosure then you should get the same 'freq"??? of course this is wrong

there is more to it than just a "resonating freq"..too much info is being given of on the internet, even on this forum by people who are guessing

the secret lies in BASIC physics that silent spoke about on the first day but people didnt want to listen

Postby SR » November 3rd, 2008, 1:06 pm

correct

as well as anyone who attended the box building seminar should know how to proceed to calculate this

use a correct sealed enclosure for a 10" sub small power

apply a sine sweep and measure for peak spl and at what freq and this is your start pt to use in designing your spl enclosure

keep in mind

sound damping
seats ets will change this freq

as well as when the enclosure is built especially if it is a wall the freq will also change

this is jsut the basic

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 3rd, 2008, 1:10 pm

trial & error - i dont think there is a perfect method

try different things & see a different result - as little as 1" on a port length can yield a noticeable result on a db meter ....

riadb

Postby riadb » November 3rd, 2008, 1:43 pm

Q ent i tell u bout dis already??

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 3rd, 2008, 2:12 pm

nah he build, test, then build again.

No i test then built. I used my music box for the sweep

if a car has a "resonating freq" then no matter how u place the enclosure then you should get the same 'freq"??? of course this is wrong

exactly... when facing the sub forward, my peak is 42hz... when facing it to the trunk, 59hz

**sigh**

trial and error it is :(

where to start?

-bushman-

Postby -bushman- » November 3rd, 2008, 2:56 pm

well seeing as though you hav 2 different peaks, see which of them requires the least power to achieve & go with that one :wink:

my guess will be the higher freq one :idea:

jeff

Postby jeff » November 3rd, 2008, 3:06 pm

djg ive never seen your setup , i dont know what car u have, but i can tell you that front of your sub box to the spl sensor is between 6.5 and 7 feet
and most probably you have your port on the same plane as the sub
and you have a sedan
ask yourself how i know these things, that is where your answer lies

i wont say anymore on this, as a few people are about to rush in here and post wrong things and confuse the thread
come to the ice meetings, some of the most knowledgable people in the Country are there

yos19

Postby yos19 » November 3rd, 2008, 3:12 pm

lol...this might get good :wink:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 3rd, 2008, 3:30 pm

and you have a sedan

no i don't :?

jeff

Postby jeff » November 3rd, 2008, 3:32 pm

hard luck there :)
ent is 2000 watts u runin there

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 3rd, 2008, 8:08 pm

yep

TK!

Postby TK! » November 3rd, 2008, 8:31 pm

jeff wrote:come to the ice meetings, some of the most knowledgable people in the Country are there

buh i nvr come ... ha .. ha .. *cough* ... huuuhhh... okkk... back to normal

D-REDWAGON

ethth

Postby D-REDWAGON » November 8th, 2008, 8:50 am

Q doh study it boy D victory is always sweeter when u cry blood sweat and tears to attain it.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 8th, 2008, 9:57 am

right now i rel crying because i still have no car :cry: