Sound Deading..

Racegod

Sound Deading..

Postby Racegod » September 13th, 2008, 10:34 am

so i went to a store today to find out about a door kit for my car...

the sales rep being in car audio as well was convinced that all the brands more or less do the same thing, even though they vary in prices...

now i don't know much about this, so I'm asking...

what are the difference in brands with regards to the functionality of sound dampening material? how much of a different is there, and what are the pro's and con's between them?

I've only used stinger so i don't and am not familiar with the other brands...

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 13th, 2008, 10:48 am

some thicker than others - have used dynamat xtreme & second skin ...both work gr8 but i prefer d thicker SS though .....

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 13th, 2008, 10:51 am

reason that i ask is cud i'm getting the second skin 20ft kit for just a little more than the stinger door kit which is 12ft...

so i mean i can't go wrong for that price... but quality of the material is that which is worrying me...

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » September 13th, 2008, 11:01 am

the second skin reel good.
its a good choice

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 13th, 2008, 11:14 am

Racegod, which second skin, damplifier or damplifier pro?

Search the forums man there are many of these comparison threads..

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 13th, 2008, 11:18 am

kurpal_v2,

i have to confirm but i believe its the pro

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 13th, 2008, 11:28 am

thing with a "door kit" is they only supply u with 1 layer - best way to do ur doors is 1 layer on d entire inner skin of d door + another layer on d outer panel part where d upholstery attaches to , some ppl even double layer d inner part too ...

riadb

Postby riadb » September 13th, 2008, 6:25 pm

i used Stinger's RoadKill today....it works well. Very adhesive, easy to cut and work with.

as for the damping efficiency, when the system's done i'll let u guys know

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » September 13th, 2008, 9:52 pm

The best i used so far was the Second skin damplifier pro..

My advice, put a lil extra and buy the SS over the stinger.

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 14th, 2008, 6:35 am

Racegod, if it is the pro I would run with that kit and never look back..

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 14th, 2008, 10:19 am

SecondSkin FTW. Ultra easy to use.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » September 14th, 2008, 10:32 am

i used both stinger and second skin damplifier pro. both work really good.
However, the second skin is my choice

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » September 14th, 2008, 2:04 pm

Stinker is good for the price....
comparedd to dynamat..

buh i prefer dynamat any day...

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 14th, 2008, 2:22 pm

Stinker is good for the price....
comparedd to dynamat

Ent you selling the stinger?

Mobile-Authority

Postby Mobile-Authority » September 14th, 2008, 3:49 pm

kurpal_v2, why u on me for..
so wat if i cant spel... :wink:

i hav both Dynamat and Stinger in stock...

Racegod, come an buy more Roadkill from me...

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 14th, 2008, 3:58 pm

This is a very good topic as sometime in the future I'd like to dampen the entire car.
So whichever is best.. let me know :)

southside connections

Postby southside connections » September 14th, 2008, 4:04 pm

roadkill works great,never had a problem with it and it is cost effective

Postby kurpal_v2 » September 14th, 2008, 4:22 pm

DJ Q wrote:This is a very good topic as sometime in the future I'd like to dampen the entire car.

not always a good thing to do the whole car..over dampening.

Postby SR » September 14th, 2008, 8:45 pm

been using the elemental designs edead a few years now

works great and is cost effective

Racegod

Postby Racegod » September 14th, 2008, 8:53 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
DJ Q wrote:This is a very good topic as sometime in the future I'd like to dampen the entire car.

rem Q.. the one thing that I've learnt from the SQ men is that car audio is about acoustics... absorption and reflections play a role in that...

over dampening would obviously cause a problem there...

spana

Postby spana » September 14th, 2008, 9:05 pm

Anybody Have any input about Directed Audio Essentials sound dampening kits, I know d price good and d performance is great but d thing is I,ve never used any other sound dampening brands to compare it with, so could some one rate it for me

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » September 14th, 2008, 9:30 pm

whats the price on it?

spana

Postby spana » September 14th, 2008, 9:58 pm

/\/\ $130. for 6 11x11 sheets an it real thick

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 14th, 2008, 10:42 pm

Racegod wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:

rem Q.. the one thing that I've learnt from the SQ men is that car audio is about acoustics... absorption and reflections play a role in that...

over dampening would obviously cause a problem there...

So how would I know where would need? Do I just listen out for rattling?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » September 15th, 2008, 7:23 am

Ive used dynamat (both versions), stinger, cascade, elemental (V1, v2, UE), SS damp pro, stinger, scoche accumat, gsi and maybe one or 2 others.

SS damp pro wins by yards, both in terms of ease of application, cost/benefits, cutting, rolling, strength of the aluminum layer, the resilience of the butyl to heat, the thickness of it.

The only problem I'd ever have with damp pro, is that you can really frigg up your fingers if you are not careful. And that has nothing to do with the product.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 15th, 2008, 7:43 am

The only problem I'd ever have with damp pro, is that you can really frigg up your fingers

In what way?
Please educate me

videsht

Postby videsht » September 15th, 2008, 8:59 am

when u cut the ss damp pro de edges tend to be sharp when i finish my whole car all 10 fingers had multiple cuts.

oh i suffer from over dampin in my car i used a bulk pack of ss damp pro and did the 4 doors, roof and trunk lid and althought all the noise stoped and the car waz quieter inside, however my spl didnt raise

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » September 15th, 2008, 12:27 pm

i used a good scissors when i did mine & i got maybe 2 fine cuts on my hands ...i did my wagon to quiet down d ole noise & body panels flexing not really in mind for spl ...car very quiet & music more enjoyable ...no regrets .... :wink:

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » September 15th, 2008, 1:37 pm

oh my...

i figured this thing would be soft.

like sponge or something

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » September 15th, 2008, 4:01 pm

Use some gloves and yuh orn.