Amp bridging problems

Postby Rainman » July 26th, 2008, 8:55 pm

hi guys i completed a very small system in my 3 and i'm having some problems. first i'll list out the components

amplifier - Alpine MRP-F300
Front Speakers -1 - pair Rockford Fosgate 6x8's
subwoofer - 1 Rockford fosgate Punch Stage 1 8"

configuration - i'm not using a loc but rather the high level inputs
the front channels are loud and clean no problems
i bridged the rear channels and i got little or no output to the sub
when i wire the sub to any of the rear channels seperately without bridging it plays well but im not hitting anywhere close to the rated rms, you can tell it needs more power.

I need to be able to bridge my rear channels to power my sub properly! what am i doing wrong?

any question, just ask 'em i really need to figure thhis out

riadb

Postby riadb » July 26th, 2008, 9:01 pm

is it dual or single VC??

bridged amplifiers do not operate with loads below 4 ohms.

Check your high level inputs and see if they are wired out of phase.
this would cause the sub to perform well on the single channels but when they are merged to bridge the channels the signals will cancel themselves out...

i am sure this is your problem....

Postby Rainman » July 26th, 2008, 9:16 pm

load on the sub woofer is 4ohms........single voice coil....i checked the phases but it wont hurt to double check.... will keep you posted thanks for the quick response.

Ree

Postby Ree » July 27th, 2008, 5:54 pm

if you are getting power on both rear channels then it could be that you are using the wrong bridged connections.........check the manual if you have it ....and ensure that you are using the correct +ve and -ve bridge connections

southside connections

Postby southside connections » July 27th, 2008, 7:37 pm

you could of simplfied by just buying hi-level to rca converter,then run 1 line of rca's front to rear and then use 2 sets of spliiters

the most the above will come up to is -

$200

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 27th, 2008, 8:25 pm

southside connections wrote:you could of simplfied by just buying hi-level to rca converter,then run 1 line of rca's front to rear and then use 2 sets of spliiters

$200

ditto

Postby Rainman » July 30th, 2008, 8:16 pm

southside connections wrote:you could of simplfied by just buying hi-level to rca converter,then run 1 line of rca's front to rear and then use 2 sets of spliiters

$200

because the high level is going into an audiocontrol eqs which does that automatically for me. forgot to mention it

when i had initially checked the phases i did not check behind the head unit i just checked the harness at the eqs, lo and behold i found that one of the cable wasnt spliced properly in it's connector.

Why yuh doh hush yuh kant?!?!?!

riadb

Postby riadb » July 31st, 2008, 6:07 am

Why yuh doh hush yuh kant?!?!?!

alluh go an fight in ole talk na

glad to see your problem got resolved.

Postby Rainman » July 31st, 2008, 6:19 am

glad to see your problem got resolved.

yeh thanks man it was a grave oversight on my part!