WTK: RE SX 12"

Neo

WTK: RE SX 12"

Postby Neo » May 7th, 2008, 9:19 pm

i got 1 RE SX 12" played with a SS picasso 1000 you think that amp is sufficient for that sub? also i want some low bass and the box is
33.5 X 14 X 13.5 slot port tuned to 35 hz
Last edited by Neo on May 7th, 2008, 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lance

Postby Lance » May 7th, 2008, 9:28 pm

yes it is.

Neo

Postby Neo » May 7th, 2008, 9:32 pm

anybody else?

Lance

Postby Lance » May 7th, 2008, 10:03 pm

its the Picasso 1000d u have.

i could have sworn i saw that 1500.

u may need a slight bit more power for optimum performance

xeon

Postby xeon » May 7th, 2008, 10:10 pm

That box shud do u fine, only thing doh what is the port area?

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » May 7th, 2008, 10:21 pm

trow 1400/1500 RMS at it :twisted:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 7th, 2008, 11:51 pm

Neo wrote:anybody else?

guess u are not used to thie ICE forum..

Lance is a trust worthy person when it comes to advice on car audio..

but like u said..he swore he saw 1500d and not 1000d..

and he corrected himself by saying u might need a bit more for good performance...

and i 2nd that 8-)

Neo

Postby Neo » May 8th, 2008, 5:50 am

i want to hear that from a few people not just 1 or 2

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 8th, 2008, 8:04 am

Neo wrote:i want to hear that from a few people not just 1 or 2
hoss THREE ppl jes tell put some more power

and Lance is one of the most experienced ppl here (i not callin yuh old eh hoss)

u need a 10+ pg. ched with the same answers????

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 8th, 2008, 8:33 am

i have the 15 ... 1000 to 1200 rms shud be fine , 1500 even , but not for long

... hit it clean power ...no clipped signals

xeon

Postby xeon » May 8th, 2008, 8:43 am

Soundstream_626 wrote:... hit it clean power ...no clipped signals

Neo

Postby Neo » May 8th, 2008, 8:49 am

Soundstream_626 wrote:hit it clean power ...no clipped signals

what you mean by that soundstream?

and another thing i want you'll tuners to know its not a system i enter spl competition or any car show like that, its a everyday used system played alot sometimes for some hours but i want the get the most out of the sub and without shortening the life of it

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » May 8th, 2008, 9:14 am

try 1200RMS den hosss......

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 8th, 2008, 9:28 am

meaning ... bass boost is your enemy lol

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clipping_(audio)

so ease off the boost on ur deck processors and amp , and as far as power get an amp that puts out about 1200 to 1500 rms real power and keep the gains down

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 8th, 2008, 9:59 am

meaning ... bass boost is your enemy lol

not necessarily

some amps' bass boost is adjustable :idea:

Loudsound Customs

Postby Loudsound Customs » May 8th, 2008, 10:03 am

^^^ i tink he is sayin dont raise the bass boost to high.....

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » May 8th, 2008, 10:10 am

loudsound wrote:^^^ i tink he is sayin dont raise the bass boost to high.....
no he said it's ur enemy

as in don't use it

and with some amps u can turn the bass boost right up and it's not clipped

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 8th, 2008, 10:19 am

my DD mono doesnt have BB :wink:

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 8th, 2008, 10:44 am

i'd suggest u go with somn more power .. those ss1500d would have been perfect

always a good idea to have slightly more power on a sub than less..

btw how much fuses does that amp carry ?is it onboard or outboard ?

as well as how many batteries do u have? thing is there is alot of factors that affect the life of ur woofer.. ffactors include too big of a box,wrong porting of a box,currant problems .. if voltage dropping lower than it should then it would clip the amp and damage ur sub.. as wel as improper grounding and currant wireing ..

if u wont mind some more info about ur system could help .. maybe that amp in the best powered environment will suffice ..

Neo

Postby Neo » May 8th, 2008, 11:04 am

i got a second battery to the back and a 1 farad cap as well and i also have a volt meter in the car the voltage never go below 12.5, the box was built by harry's for that same sub

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 8th, 2008, 11:06 am

^^^saved me some typing - i agree

1200wrms is good - its a sub that doesnt need 1.5 times rec power so d extra head room of a 1500d SS picasso is ok ....

Neo

Postby Neo » May 8th, 2008, 11:09 am

i was thinking about getting an Orion HCCA-D2400 the new model ones

markzz

Postby markzz » May 10th, 2008, 1:28 pm

dude 1500rms SS Picasso will do you bess.. so happens i hav one in new condition for sale too.. check d classifieds http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=182705

Postby sMASH » May 13th, 2008, 4:53 pm

my re sx 10" taking 1500wrms comfy (4*30A fuses @ 1 ohm)