whats ur voltage like???

ShaKarz

whats ur voltage like???

Postby ShaKarz » April 27th, 2008, 11:12 am

whats the max voltage u get on idle?

............and after the amps draw from it?

what would u call the operating voltage of a vehicle idle or after draw?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2008, 1:31 pm

hmm.

if i remember..i waz 14.3 at idle.. and with moderate volume my DMM read 13.7-13.9v

thats with a 30A mids amp fuh some comps and a 80A bass amp.. that waz then....

the new install now in yet.. so i`m hopin not to drop too low...

**waits fuh casper to call me with my new battery! **

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 27th, 2008, 1:54 pm

14.5 @ idle.

never measured on full load.

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 27th, 2008, 2:36 pm

allya did big 3 upgrade or runnin on oem ground wires ,etc.......?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2008, 2:59 pm

ShaKarz wrote:allya did big 3 upgrade or runnin on oem ground wires ,etc.......?

havent done the big 3 as yet..

i`m actually goin to do that now.. lol

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 27th, 2008, 3:21 pm

kool...... well update d tread after u put in ur new system.........

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2008, 10:11 pm

ok..so i did the big 3... did 2 runs of 4awg to the atl from battery..

same 4awg fuh de ground as well....2 of course..

gettin a lovely 14.45v idle with headlights on brightest and deck on and mids amp playing(went to 14.3)..

wen i run in the bass amp.. i`ll update u again

BTW>> my battery (14plate AC Delco) is 2 yrs old ..so i`m gettin a deep cycle sometime soon..

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 27th, 2008, 10:22 pm

shakarz have u tested ur car?

btw do u guys use a dmm or those store bought voltage display ?

i have seen some deviate by almost a volt

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 27th, 2008, 10:23 pm

DMM here bro

check yuh PM one time too

riadb

Postby riadb » April 28th, 2008, 7:26 am

upgraded the big 3
idle - 13.9V
drive - 14.3V
standby - 12.5V

standby @ full vol - 12.1V
idle @ full vol - 13.6V
drive @ full vol - 14.2V

using a MTX X704 pulling 60A
one battery

casper

Postby casper » April 28th, 2008, 8:45 am

^^^now thats good info :o

Chiney

Postby Chiney » April 28th, 2008, 9:14 am

nice!!
dmm reading or voltmeter?

xeon

Postby xeon » April 28th, 2008, 10:07 am

is d voltage meter on pioneer decks any good? if so mine duz read 13.8....never did any upgrades, playin music it fluctuates from 12.9 - 13.3

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 28th, 2008, 10:22 am

^^ I always wondered about that but I dont think so cause the decks seem to take a feed of the deck +ve wire and this would not give a reading for voltage at the amps. I could be wrong though..

At idle I get about 14.3-4v
moderate volumes 13.7-8
at full I drop to 12.0-13.0

On burps I drop to 10, even saw 9 once but not for long, everything went into protection after that, had to let it cool down :lol:

riadb

Postby riadb » April 28th, 2008, 11:12 am

dmm reading or voltmeter?

stinger voltmeter installed in vehicle. Calibrated using a Fluke DMM

the pioneer deck voltmeters are ok but aren't all that accurate, good for a general voltage reading with some latency.

decks seem to take a feed of the deck +ve wire

correct, the deck actually monitors the voltage through the ACC wire in you car cuz even without the memory line connected the deck will still come on when power is supplied to the ACC line

it is normally better to monitor voltage at the battery with the volt meter having it's own feed wire to the battery... voltage fluctuates too much at the amplifier power terminals due to the power capacitors rapid charge/discharge during a play cycle.

users should only monitor voltage by the amplifier if they are using low grade or insufficient gauge power cable.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 28th, 2008, 11:19 am

idle 14.1
full load 13.2 - 13.6

spam

Postby spam » April 28th, 2008, 11:20 am

i doh have a volt meter yet

:shock: :shock: :shock:

xeon

Postby xeon » April 28th, 2008, 5:56 pm

yea pioneer the higher models.....i have the Pioneer DEH-P6800MP

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 28th, 2008, 6:56 pm

MonsterPower wrote:shakarz have u tested ur car?

not rly...... have to do big 3 still.............

loaded, the voltage stands up around 13v..........

but remember iz heavy load eh...... :shock: :lol:

riadb

Postby riadb » April 29th, 2008, 2:55 pm

heavy load and u still @ 13V....daz rhell good horse

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 29th, 2008, 7:54 pm

its not rly good... it can be higher....... actually it sud be higher .. d beast comes alive round 13.8v :(

Neo

Postby Neo » April 29th, 2008, 8:40 pm

hmm...i haven't done the big 3 yet myself cause i only found about it today lmao but at full load with a voltmeter that plugs in the cigarette lighter i get about
about 13. something volt idle
about 14. something volt running
i have to take a good look at it though and record it or i have to take these readings with a DMM?
also the volts drops a lil when the bass hits lol

also i have a second battery in the back a 1.3 cap and the amps 1 using 2 30A and another using 3 30A

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » April 29th, 2008, 9:34 pm

i used a DMM to take my readings. i have a stinger volt meter tapped off the main battery banks but the meter itself can only be calibrated up to 1 volt under the actual voltage.... i use it as a safety feature though.... so i didnt exchange it..................

am wonderin how much would the big 3 improve my voltage by :|

Neo

Postby Neo » April 29th, 2008, 9:44 pm

you could calibrate those volt meters?...

i read that you could do it in steps and see actual improvements in your voltage

riadb

Postby riadb » April 30th, 2008, 7:01 am

am wonderin how much would the big 3 improve my voltage by

The big 3 basically does this...
1. provides a low impedance high current charge line from your alternator back to your battery to improve charging efficency and charging voltage.
2. provides a low impedance high current chassis ground to improve chassis conductivity and power transfer.
3. provides an independent engine block ground to eliminate and prevent ground loops from entering the system.

It will improve your charge voltage taking into consideration:
1. the type of battery you have in the vehicle.
2. the amount of batteries connected in the system and the charge load.
3. the size of the vehicle's alternator and it's charging capabilities.
4. the difference between the stock electrical charge wires and the wires used for the upgrade.

on an average 65A alternator you should experience idle voltage to increase by 0.2 - 0.4V and running voltage to increase between 0.1 - 0.3V approx.
these #'s should increase with higher amperage alternators. Remember "good" electronically regulated alternators would not exceed a runninv voltage of 14.5V, most will be within the 14.1 - 14.4V.

you could calibrate those volt meters?...

yes you could...remove the face cover, the voltage adjust potentiometer is located to the top right of the display, a blue box with a small yellow/white screw in it. turn the screw to adjust the voltage display.

for best results and accuracy calibrate with a fluke or other high end DMM.