Type R
83%
Premier SPL
17%

Total votes: 18

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 11:39 pm

boom wrote:type R wasent that built for music and the SPL built for SPL?

they can be used for everyday playin too..

proper enclosure says it all dude

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 23rd, 2007, 11:50 pm

d model no of this thread is d last yr model yet u have pic of d new model so i guess u mean d new model

- havent done a box for these new models as yet but d 3004\3002 model i can say alot since i had both d 3002 & a pair of type R

after selling d Rs i in fact bought a new 3002 to experiment with BUT d trick is to get d pio to perform since it seems to love a oversized box ...sounds really uninspiring in a factory rec spec box ....duhhhh ....but in d correct box it is VERY surprising for a SPL sub since it hits some HARD|DEEP looooows ...within 10 days it completely shake out d keylock in my AD trunk ....d key lock just drop inside d trunk panel ....whne playing this sub at high volumes in d car it used to make ur voice sound as if talking while a fan blowing ur voice ...no lie ... :shock:

d type R is just a AMAZING all around sub which sounds good in any almost box u put it in even with little or plenty power its very difficult to make this sub sound shitty ...1 day i decided to try it sealed with only 1 cuft b4 sub displacement & all a sudden d front windscreen bumping hard & ppl alarms started to trip off here ......i very tempted to buy back 1 just to keep it for having it sake ..... :mrgreen:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 23rd, 2007, 11:53 pm

^^ lovely !!

i need to read more like that

but wats your personal choice?
for
HARD|DEEP looooows

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 24th, 2007, 12:10 am

d very 1st day i got my Rs (imagine i went tru d hassle to import these myself) ...1st ting i noticed is d hefty weight 20 Lbs each ! :shock: ...but solidly constructed\built

1st time i hooked d pair up was to a shitty 50wrms 2 chan PA amp in a 1.5cuft 3" pvc port box & even that lil power made me fall in love with d musical quality & overall smoothness

thing is u cant compare 1 R to 1 3002\4 pio - d pio will cover it in loudness yet d pio u must give it credit to play music decent for a SPL sub

dont ever feel d R cant perform SPL if u want it to since i seen online ppl using 2 of them to hit 150s in a serious SPL specifly made box ....read of ppl using a orion 2500d on them daily & it takes it too .... :shock:

2 R will be louder than d 1 pio 3002\4 which is expected since double cone area - if u comparing a 306 or 307 pio well d R will beat either in every which way

.....better u go compare a similarly rated 400wrms audiopipe sub to d pio which will be 2 similar class of subs .... :mrgreen:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 24th, 2007, 12:34 am

better u go compare a similarly rated 400wrms audiopipe sub to d pio which will be 2 similar class of subs

no hoss...

and yeh.. i likin your points on the type r

sounds like a winner to me there...

anyone else?

jeff

Postby jeff » November 24th, 2007, 2:20 am

dred what more facts you want? if this thread cant show you the type r is a better sub by now then go and buy the pioneer

come next sunday and youll get a demo and you decide yourself

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 24th, 2007, 3:04 am

^^^^

likin your points on the type r

sounds like a winner to me there...

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » November 24th, 2007, 4:24 pm

^ who's type r you heard?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 24th, 2007, 4:35 pm

^^ wen i waz in boston..there waz show and thats the fuss time i heard it...

it rocked that whole alpine boot

but as for here..

i never really heard one...

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » November 24th, 2007, 5:12 pm

Honestly the type r is one of the most versatile subs i have used. The pioneer can't come around it in lows and overall freq response and if you give it 1000 to 1500 rms it will destroy a pioneer in loudness. If you look at the contruction of the type r you know it will take 1000 rms daily and the sub is built to last unlike the construction of the pioneer. I buying 2 type r's at the end of the month and i dont even have a system right now cuz i know that those are the only subs i will use in my next system.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 24th, 2007, 9:17 pm

^^ i cant find any dual 4 anywhere for a good price.

someone quote me 1800-2000..

i eh payin that !!

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » November 26th, 2007, 11:31 am

Chiney most likely i'll be at the sq demo, got a type r in a sealed enclosure so u can hear and then decide

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » November 26th, 2007, 9:27 pm

Talk to kyle he can get the dual 4 for about $1375

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 26th, 2007, 11:03 pm

^^ thx man!!

greenman

Postby greenman » November 27th, 2007, 12:43 am

fact: the pioneer is louder and will give you more chess pounding bass than the type r...

And you said you looking for chest pounding bass, so i think pioneer wud be a better choice for your application...

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 27th, 2007, 2:46 am

And you said you looking for chest pounding bass, so i think pioneer wud be a better choice for your application...

thanks u.. finally..someone which an open mind.. the thread now begins!

even kno im like 95% towards the type r...

y exactly wud u choose the spl as my suited sub?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 27th, 2007, 10:34 am

^^ the spl is a clean sub in the correct box..

SnipeR here on the forum had one..hence this thread is up.. his own played VERY clean and low..and it had only 100rms on it..

or you jus wanna pull up in a gas station n bang three six mafia for ah few mins

u really need to open yuh mind for new things dread :|

greenman

Postby greenman » November 27th, 2007, 11:25 am

i think the pioneer would be better cuz it seems u lookin for some jaw clattering, nose tickling, ear hurting, lung constricting kinda bass. lol. N the pioneer wud give u that kinda bass more than the type R.. U cud use the pioneer as a daily driver, n still open out n bang out men etc. Not to mention your amp is 1000rms, its more suited to the pioneer sub anyway. U also need to take into consideration the other components of ur system. If you're using the pioneer, you'd need some really loud/expensive mids, or you'll have to use dj style mids to keep up wtih that bass.

I owned one of the spl subs on 1200rms n i had to use two 6" ciares n two 8" betas on mids. The loudness of the mids matched perfectly with the loudness of the sub, altho, i always felt like i was missing a small range of frequencies that both my bass and my mids cudn't play. But with the kinda level of loudness you'll be at, its not easy to notice that ur missing some lower-mid frequencies.

Personally, i myself would choose the type R. I used to like the chest pounding bass that you could hear from a few blocks down, buh after a while i got fedup after proving to myself that i could be so friggin loud. N then i started using dls components, n image dynamics n cdt... those things play so sweet, i used to leave home n instead of coming back home, i would pass my house straight n take a extra drive just to listen to it some more :D ... n i even started listening to music i wouldn't usually listen to, just cuz it sounds so real!

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 27th, 2007, 11:34 am

^^ lol

u jus gimme a bitter sweet review..lol

i takin all into consideration....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 27th, 2007, 12:38 pm

this thread going on too long

if u have 1000wrms @ 2ohms IMO d pio is better suited to d power (though it can take more) - i wouldnt drop d whole 1000wrms on 1 R ...it will take it but thats like pushing it ....2 Rs on 1000wrms will sound good but occupy more space than d 1 Pio box & but ideally IMO u should give d each R about 600-700wrms ...like i siad above 1 R vs 1 Pio d pio will kill it in loudness ....SQ d R is more accurate but 4 a SPL sub d pio is surprising

IMO go look at other options rather than hurt ur head over 2 choices only - look for a quality sub rated to take 700-750wrms & d 1000 should be a good match....... 0X

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 27th, 2007, 8:11 pm

or i cud jes get 4 10s in them Rs & rest it in d boxes i have now & rule d 4 10s catagory with some sweet SQL ...... :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 27th, 2007, 8:16 pm

^^ pm me the price of your premier sub..and model..