WTK whas the difference bewteen rf punch & power series

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2007, 7:51 am

Is it only the power handeling capacity or are there differences bewtten the freq. response ranges too?
do the cheaper punch subs hav freq. response similar to that of the power series or are they for higher freq. bass lines?
can the lower end punch amps be used for, and be as efficient as the power series amps for bass or are thier freq. range response limited ?

I've noticed that the cheaper punch subs (p1 & p2 series) are more expensive than the pioneer subs for example and the pioneer hav a higher power handeling capacity and freq. response from 20hz (I think that I read the punch subs hav a response from 35Hz) and require a smaller enclosure (more space in yuh ride and the ability to accomodate more subs of that type) so are we jus paying extra for a brand name?

specs for a p1 rf punch 12" here:

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/products ... &p_status=

NOTE: freq. response from 36 Hz

specs for a pioneer 10" sub here:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/pna/v ... sComponent

NOTE: freq. response range 18Hz - 2.5kHz
Last edited by nervewrecker on October 3rd, 2007, 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

jeff

Postby jeff » October 3rd, 2007, 8:18 am

the power handling rating there is not goin to tell you anything
and definitely not the freq response..so because it says from 18hz... does not mean The enclosure you put it in is goin to reproduce 18hz..

so i suggest that instead of studying brand names and specs u should do some reading up on thieles such as the qts fs etc and then read up on what the f3 is
then you will see what makes the subs and enclosures different rather than power ratings...

punch is the entry line and power is the high end line...very impressive..

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2007, 12:10 pm

jeff: It seems as I hav yet again magaged to perplex you in this forum.

wat I was asking is if the lower priced rf products are limited in ther response range with respect to the power series (higher priced).
correct me if I'm wrong here but you can tune a box to a desired freq. like 18Hz.
& are we paying a high price for a brand name? I'm not saying one will want to reproduce sounds within the 18Hz range (thas infrasonic) but why hav an almost doubled priced rf sub with a power handeling capacity of only 300 peak 150 rms with a limited response range (from 35Hz) while you can hav a pioneer with more than twice the power handeling capacity (800 watts, 400 rms) and a broader freq. response range.

I kno where you commin from jeff, Pioneer no where up in RF leagues.
Last edited by nervewrecker on October 3rd, 2007, 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

TURBOHO

Postby TURBOHO » October 3rd, 2007, 12:13 pm

good info

jeff

Postby jeff » October 3rd, 2007, 12:57 pm

slacker_jack wrote:jeff: It seems as I hav yet again seemed to perplex you in this forum.

of course whats the sense in someone giving you good advice when you asking questions and answering them yourself

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2007, 1:14 pm

so de lower end punch is waste ah time den :?:

It hurts me to even think dat.

I suspect it hav something else to it that I overlooked, som1, any1 see if allyuh pick up on a mistake that I making in my assumptions nah.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 3rd, 2007, 1:24 pm

Its so simple.

Punch - Entry level

Power - Middle level

Type RF - Top level.

Use that bit of info as you please.
This ain't rocket science hoss.

If you ever had the opportunity to demo an RF Punch Stage 3 10" vs a Power T1 10, you'd hear the difference. Its night and day. There is a difference, besides the cost. You do get what you pay for.

Postby nervewrecker » October 3rd, 2007, 1:29 pm

much thankz...

Postby crazybalhead » October 3rd, 2007, 2:47 pm

I hate pioneer subs for the lack of info you find about them. When considering one, you can never find any Theil small parameters. You always get uselss information like "25-3000Hz freq response and 150-300W power handling".

This tells you nothing.

As stated before look carefully at the stated parameters and you will have an idea of real performance.