More batteries

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

More batteries

Postby Advil » September 5th, 2007, 12:36 am

I always see people with extra battery in the trunk and a wire runinn to the altenator to charge it...

I was wonderin

Does more batteries mean louder music?
Won't this strain the alternator?

just curious

southside connections

Postby southside connections » September 5th, 2007, 1:03 am

no it dosen't mean louder music

but it takes away som strain on the alternantor

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 5th, 2007, 7:19 am

theoretically it would put more strain on the alternator, since you charging two batteries. the alt prob wasnt designed for this.you prob would notice an increase in loudness if you can supply more power to the amps.

southside connections

Postby southside connections » September 5th, 2007, 7:31 am

more batteries also mean longer playing times in most cases

tristanrules

Postby tristanrules » September 5th, 2007, 8:48 am

More batteries = More work for de alternator
More batteries = Longer playing time when yuh park up
More batteries = More power for de amp, provided they are charged properly

Advil

Postby Advil » September 5th, 2007, 12:59 pm

so would you all recommend a second battery?

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » September 5th, 2007, 8:04 pm

depends on how much power u drawing

Postby 3stagevtec » September 5th, 2007, 9:06 pm

Ladiesman217 wrote:so would you all recommend a second battery?

for a small / stock audio system.. no..

for high powered audio systems.. yes (if your stock, single battery system is inadequate..)

boom

Postby boom » September 5th, 2007, 9:06 pm

I think with more power the amps are able to give a better reproduction of the sound..

demboyzaudio

Postby demboyzaudio » September 5th, 2007, 9:17 pm

more batteries=more power=louder.
but as they sey it will put a strain on the alternator.
i runnin a stock batt an a 1400 kinetic.
previously was an optima, bass hits harder now an is louder.

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 6th, 2007, 7:22 am

as dis topic come up wut amperage alternator average will be required to charge bout 5 batteries ....

gfbl

Postby gfbl » September 6th, 2007, 8:11 am

for everyday playing?? you need a 200-300 amp alt yes

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » September 6th, 2007, 8:45 am

gfbl wrote:for everyday playing?? you need a 200-300 amp alt yes

..... :shock:

southside connections

Postby southside connections » September 6th, 2007, 10:58 am

yea abouth that would be required

but for d everyday trini ah goood 80amp altern and a kenetic 2400hc and u good

jeff

Postby jeff » September 6th, 2007, 11:18 am

first of all ladies man what kind of system are you running

RaLLiArT

Postby RaLLiArT » September 6th, 2007, 3:25 pm

i running 5 17 plate battery... have no problem...only think is the alternator stock, my system is build for park up and play, so dats my purpose of have so many battery , sometimes i hook up a house charger on it and let it charge for some hours, so it wud take some load of the alternator, when the alternator give up then i'll upgrade it.... :o

shivanandrs

Postby shivanandrs » September 6th, 2007, 4:52 pm

Wont a capacitor do the same thing?

boom

Postby boom » September 6th, 2007, 4:58 pm

yo that house charger is the real thing to charge your batteries, seeing as it is a sure 12volts input...If you can charge your batteries everychance you get and that would give the alternator a lil more time before you gotta go to that bigger alternater

Postby 3stagevtec » September 6th, 2007, 9:28 pm

shivanandrs wrote:Wont a capacitor do the same thing?

no..

a battery can hold far more charge that a capacitor & will be more beneficial to high end systems..

but a capacitor can release its charge much faster than a battery.. so a capacitor used together with an extra battery will be best...

Lance

Postby Lance » September 6th, 2007, 9:56 pm

^Agree,

Caps without adequate battery power,

Similar to a Big dam with no water to full it.

Advil

Postby Advil » September 7th, 2007, 2:04 am

lovin the comparison Lance

thanks fellas

RaLLiArT, 5 batteries???? WTF :shock:

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » September 7th, 2007, 2:28 am

upgrade yuh alty first if u can