help design me a system.

.:PROZAC:..

help design me a system.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 6th, 2006, 4:11 pm

I know there are alot of knowledegable tuners on the board. My knowledge is limited to Gas . I just want a small 'pong' to keep me awake. Im not in Trinidad so this is charity work. So point me in the right direction please.

Here is what I had in mind. Don't be afraid to shout.
the head unit i currently have a sony 50x4 something
4 - 4 way components fron door and back dash for the mids and highs
a 10'' sub in box for bass
one 4 channel amp running everything. Thinkiing about bridging 2 channels for the bass and running the other 2 for mids and highs.would I need a pre amp or cross over? what am i doing wrong.?

Thanks.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 6th, 2006, 10:38 pm

one 4 channel amp running everything

thats a very good plan when u want 2 save $ , space wiring & electrical upgrades etc

u can accomplish d same wiith a nice 5 chan like crossfire vr705 but with this way u have a lil more flexability in ur choices , settings etc ... 8-)

Sully

Postby Sully » November 7th, 2006, 1:24 am

First and most important question is, what's your budget?

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 7th, 2006, 12:38 pm

^ exactly.

personally for a 1 amp system, my choice would have been a 5 channel.
directed 5 channels are pretty nice.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 7th, 2006, 12:46 pm

5 channel hmm...the 5th channel is all for bass i guess?
oh budget..not to sure nah I have the component and head unit in...
500cdn on the amp? If you say all i can get is a pyramid amp I goin to scrap that and but a better intercooler.

btw any sites you guys recommed to buy from?
Vexx I'll check out teh directed amp..Much obliged to all so far.

Sully

Postby Sully » November 8th, 2006, 2:29 am

^^ Where in Canada are you? There's a place in Toronto I bought stuff from at fairly descent prices.

Rear speakers aren't necessary. On a budget system I would leave them out. With this in mind you'll be better off with either a 3 channel, or a 4 channel amp. This opens up more options in terms of amplifiers, and hence cost.

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 8th, 2006, 10:16 am

Rear speakers aren't necessary

It's a 2 door car any way so I guess it makes even more sense.
Sully, recommend me an amp there and what's the place you recommend.Within canada the shipping is small.

Postby SR » November 8th, 2006, 10:23 am

decent set of components for the doors

a 3 channel amp or a 4 channel
and a single 10" in a sealed box

should do a nice simple sytem for you

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » November 8th, 2006, 11:49 am

SR, sully can you give me specific models for the amp and the sub?
Recommed an online store if possible.

Postby 3stagevtec » November 8th, 2006, 11:31 pm

BOSS has nice 4ch amps at great prices. Check their C800 or C1000 amplifiers. You can bridge two channels to run your sub and use the other two channels for mids + highs. Those amps have built in crossovers (low / high pass) and a subwoofer remote.

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » November 8th, 2006, 11:37 pm

for$500 canadian...i dont think his money wud be spent on boss amps...

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » November 9th, 2006, 12:16 am

Why dont you just go to FutureShop - you would find a variety of equipment there that would be in different price ranges - they have alot of stuff - Just like the circuit city's and Bestbuy's and so on.

Sully

Postby Sully » November 9th, 2006, 1:23 am

Futureshop is generally more expensive than the smaller "moms and pops" shops.
I found a place on college street, in the little italy district called Number One Sounds. http://toronto.ibegin.com/misc/number-one-sound

They are dealers for CV, JL Audio, Alpine, PPI, a/d/s, and other brands. It's worth giving them a call, or better yet checking them out. They are very helpful, and sometimes a bit flexible on the price. Be a trini and ask for the bess price.

There are a lot more places in Hamilton, Scarborough and some in Mississauga. Buying online isn't always going to give you a good price, usually the smaller shops have better deals.

Postby cinco » November 10th, 2006, 10:46 pm

onlinecarstereo
they ship to canada i believe

Sully

Postby Sully » November 11th, 2006, 1:03 am

If you're shipping from the US then forget it. The taxes you'll have to pay when the item crosses the border is way too much. You'll be better off trying to source it in Canada.

IncriminatorAudio

Postby IncriminatorAudio » November 28th, 2006, 1:31 am

yeah check this, wey yuh frm, i live in london ontario, u frm where???, nd no, i bought all my equipment frm the us, nd didnt pay alot, infact i look for the best prices nd i shipped my equipment to meh house, nd the amp ur lookin for, could be real cheap, i noe some pretty good sites u can get some good dealz, nd save some money, ur lookin for only one amp, tht is good, ill say the most u spen with shippin nd everything included is 300cad, no more, because i noe how it iz, a good brand to think about iz hifonics, if der is n e brand u like, plz be free to say....

Sully

Postby Sully » November 28th, 2006, 5:50 am

IncriminatorAudio, That was a difficult read.

.:PROZAC:.., I looked in to the mid to high end range of car audio and what I told you is what I found when I was living there and shopping around for car audio. Something to consider is the final price after shipping and taxes. With that in mind I sourced most of my stuff within Canada itself.

A good place online was ebay.ca. I prefer the smaller shops since they tend to give you a better deal and are usually much easier to work with. They are also a lot more willing to demo their equipment so you know what you're getting.

There's a lot of small shops is Hamilton and Scarborough it's just a matter of driving around to find them. I lived downtown Toronto, so I know the places around there.

IncriminatorAudio

Postby IncriminatorAudio » November 28th, 2006, 6:09 pm

i didnt noe i had to post proper english on here.....well hard luck next time..

VDub

Postby VDub » December 1st, 2006, 3:20 pm

^^^LOL

SR wrote:decent set of components for the doors

a 3 channel amp or a 4 channel
and a single 10" in a sealed box

should do a nice simple sytem for you

I think thats pretty good advice and fairly inexpensive