e.o.i. jl audio 10w6v2d4

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 18th, 2006, 6:38 am

^^^ thanks for the suggestion, but I good.

Anyone with anything else besides Elevation, Diamond, Eclipse, Bravox, Elemental???

Postby SR » October 18th, 2006, 6:57 am

gimme till the end of the week

will have some "other" options for you to consider

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 18th, 2006, 7:50 am

hahahahaha.@ nigel "Anyone with anything else besides Elevation, Diamond, Eclipse, Bravox, Elemental???" Fuzz i amazed that the 12w6 could handle 750rms. Sub didnt get damaged or anything? SR how much power does the UR dls handle and what is the price?

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 18th, 2006, 7:59 am

no probs sr....

Postby SR » October 18th, 2006, 8:15 am

i have put upt to 1200 on the UR 12

they recomend 500rms

last price was around 2400

but for 2006 that line has been discontinued and they have the iridium and the nobellium lines

an iridium 10 retails for 2100
a nobellium 10 retails for 2325

i have the iridium 10 available for demo

performs just as loud as the ur 12 with the same power applied lovely tight bass

when compared to a Jlw6 the bass is much tighter and plays jsut as low

handles a bit more power
and is $200 more than the W6

on a personal note
i have found most american made subs tend to be a bit boomy and lack tight upper bass performance
and european subs tend to be more accurate in bass response but some tend not to go as low as one may want ie the boomy sound

keep an eye on the fs of the subs and the overall Q
most people tend to buy the wrong sub for the application due to marketing hype etc

again its always best to try and get to hear the product properly first so that a good decision can be made

Jl audio produces some of the best sounding subs in small sealed enclosures on the american market side
their product has always been geared towards the sound quality market rather than the spl
and they will sacrifice loud for accuracy
most subs that tend to play loud tend not to be as accurate
same goes for power handling where people tend to be confused into thinking because the sub is rated 200 watts it eh no good
orions original hcca sub was rated at 600 watts rms
and was putting to shame subse rated at twice the power and more in terms of performance

if anyone has ever heard electromania's honda odyssey it has an original orion hcca sub in a 1.4 ported enclosure with only 400 watts on it

never been beaten in sound quality when it use to compete
and "wow" factor was quite impressive for the small system

same can be said for most manufacturers who concentrate on quality rather than loud
performance would be impeccable

perfect match amp for a w6 sub would be jl audio's 500/1
sub is rated at 400rms amp puts out 500rms
keeping that in mind
nigell has 1200 rms class a/b amp for bass so 2 dual 4 ohm Jl audio w6 subs would be a perfect match for it
as well as a couple other sub solution options

cerwin vega's new vmax
resonant engineering
orion p series
dls iridium
mb quart
hifonics..........yes hifonics square subs can also be an option for his application
alpine
boston acoustics
to name a few

ShaKarz

Postby ShaKarz » October 18th, 2006, 9:31 am

SR wrote:hifonics..........yes hifonics square subs can also be an option for his application

burrr... :|

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 18th, 2006, 12:26 pm

great post

Postby SR » October 18th, 2006, 12:32 pm

SaLt ShaKer wrote:
SR wrote:hifonics..........yes hifonics square subs can also be an option for his application

burrr... :|

like yuh have gass......................... :D

2 10" squares will have more surface area than the 2 10" round
and he is looking to achieve 135db in competiton

his application will be sealed as he will be looking for smoothest sounding bass

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 18th, 2006, 1:40 pm

how much for an iridium 12??

Postby SR » October 18th, 2006, 1:41 pm

$2700

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 18th, 2006, 1:45 pm

sweet. was the power handling on that baby? and if you put 1200 on the UR how much you could really put on this one?

Postby SR » October 18th, 2006, 1:47 pm

same 1200
its rated for 600rms

but again remember our discussion on power requirements
is it really needed

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 18th, 2006, 1:51 pm

2 IDMAX 10D2...talk done

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 18th, 2006, 1:52 pm

i dont think he have the power for them..

gfbl

Postby gfbl » October 18th, 2006, 1:57 pm

true true.

Sully

Postby Sully » October 18th, 2006, 8:50 pm

you can't maximize the power output of the 500/1 on the W6. It's just too much power for the sub. Using the JL tuning guide and some extrapolation, I had it giving 400W output at 13.8V. I turned that up a bit in an attempt to get the 135db, but I'm still working out the bugs on that.

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » October 19th, 2006, 9:49 am

SR wrote:due to the lack of cabin gain in the hilux 1 10" may not be enough for you while keeping it a sound q vehicle

at best i am willing to bet around 125-128 dB when tuned for sound q
doubling the cone area should yield 130-131

unless you plan on going ported but you may lose out on some low bass defination

i suspect the track that snyper is reffering to is power of goodbye

listen to the different bass tones
you should be able to decifer clearly rather than muddled
if the sub is too boomy then it will be muddled
and if does not go low enough the lowest bass note will be drastically lower than the rest

yeah that.....and Evita