What time the meeting starts? :P . Doh forget the manuals sr. :roll:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 3rd, 2006, 12:45 pm

no DLS comps demo? :(

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 3rd, 2006, 1:47 pm

u know how long i wanted to hear those comps..

kyle the meetin starts @ 730

Sully

Postby Sully » October 3rd, 2006, 5:38 pm

^^ Sound a lot better than the diamonds. But that's probably due to install.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 3rd, 2006, 5:46 pm

lol. ^^^^

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 3rd, 2006, 6:39 pm

guys let me hear your thoughts as i would not be able to attend meeting.Almost heard them today.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 4th, 2006, 9:07 pm

any reviews??

Sully

Postby Sully » October 5th, 2006, 5:35 pm

An improvement over the Diamond Audio comps that I used. The cone area is smaller, efficiency lower, and the basket for the woofer is made of plastic. All those thigs aside, the setup sounds great.

The crossovers are better built, and offers a bi amping option. No rear output from the crossovers, but I doubt that I'll miss that feature. The tweeters are a lot nicer, and not as harsh as the Al tweeters that I used.

roger

Postby roger » October 6th, 2006, 8:23 am

from what i heard...i was impressed with the clarity in the upper mids area. I thought that there could have been a little more strength in the midbass region, but that could have been a result of the crossover point.

the sound is very "relaxed". the sound is not harsh and could lend itself to a high end luxury vehicle install very easily. someone who like instrumentals would love these comps. the sound is natural.

i love the tweeter. it's soft and very laid back. the crossover is well built, and like sully said offers the bi amp feature.

better than alot that i have used, that includes mb, and da's

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 6th, 2006, 9:36 am

they're quite punchy and "alive".

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 6th, 2006, 6:39 pm

sounds good!!
Think i will purchase a set

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 6th, 2006, 7:05 pm

you wont b dissapointed

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 6th, 2006, 7:18 pm

well after upgrading from Coaxial do you think the difference will be a fair amount?
Just changed Headunit from a Kenwood kdc-4028mp to an eclipse 8445 but i don't think the coaxials are doing it justice, also i don't have a clue what to do for rear fill

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 6th, 2006, 10:18 pm

when you get these, dont ruin them by putting rear fill meng.
a nice lil 100wrms x2 amp and youre good to go.

the difference will be definately noticeable.

Sully

Postby Sully » October 7th, 2006, 7:55 am

I think that even a 50Wrms x 2 should be enough.

Might want to add some sound dampening material on your doors while you're at it.

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 7th, 2006, 7:59 am

15sqft should be enough to do both inside and outside of both front doors

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 7th, 2006, 6:18 pm

amp i have is a 4 channel 85x4rms @ 4ohms
I really don't understand how to apply sound dampening material to doors
what do you mean by the inside and outside of the doors

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 8th, 2006, 6:04 am

Do these have Diamonds RAF technology?

Sully

Postby Sully » October 8th, 2006, 8:41 am

The diamonds do have RAF. It's a nice feature to have, but realistically, you won't miss it. The reviews of the HEX line from Diamond that I generally get is that they aren't really worth the money. If you're die hard Diamond, then you're better off with the M6 line.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 8th, 2006, 9:04 am

heard you made the switch from diamond to A/D/S
Can you give me your thoughts?
If you prefer you can PM me

thanks
Shane
P.S I have already secured a set of A/D/S :D

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 8th, 2006, 9:17 am

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 8th, 2006, 9:32 am

seems bi-amping worked out better for 2 of the guys.

shane, does your 4 ch amp have vari-xo's?, wht type/slope?

I remember a discussion about bi-amping right here awhile ago.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 8th, 2006, 9:41 am

hmm on checking the book
Variable High Pass 12db/octave 10hz-1.2khz
Variable Mono Low Pass 24db/octave 30hz-150hz
Hifonics Zeus ZX6400
85x4@4ohm
170x4@2ohm
Mono Bridged 340x2@4ohm
Frequwncy Response,-3db 10hz-40hz
Damping Factor 200
Signal to Noise(a-weighted)>95db
THD&Noise <0.03%
Channel Seperation at 1khz- 70db

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 8th, 2006, 12:19 pm

bleh. the highpass eh high enuf for the tweets. darn.
you could however, cross the highpass at lime 500hz and run that into the tweeter input on the xo. dunno how that will work out. its just a thought.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » October 8th, 2006, 7:20 pm

bleh. the highpass eh high enuf for the tweets. darn.
you could however, cross the highpass at lime 500hz and run that into the tweeter input on the xo. dunno how that will work out. its just a thought.

lime??
what frequency do i need for the tweeters

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » October 8th, 2006, 7:26 pm

^he meant to say "like"

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » October 8th, 2006, 7:28 pm

that freq you hadda get off the passive manual. i cant remember reading it off sully' s manual, but its usually 2.5 - 5k.

Sully

Postby Sully » October 8th, 2006, 9:37 pm

BLUE_CP9A, Most of my thoughts on the setup has been posted here. I still have some work to get done with the car though. When it's all done I'll let you know what the final install sounds like. Or you can get a demo if you're at the next IASCA event / ICE meeting.