POWER WIRE DISCUSSION

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 23rd, 2006, 4:04 pm

b.t.w moster, for the breif period i was an installer for peel auto radio, i convinced them to stop using that self tapping screw. its a lazy assed idea thats prone to failure simple cus a self tapping screw can run slack!!!
personally i prefer to use things like shock mount bolts (not the shock bolt itself) and other direct metal bolts rather than a tac welded nut. again, that bit about choosing your own ground is lazy, cuz installers dont want to spend time looking for proper ground.

american shop installers are typically lazy and will find a gazillion reasons to justify it. and we have some trinis who following suit.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 23rd, 2006, 4:22 pm

i too was wondering about "self tap screw" idea cause when bass hitting daily , things in ur car does get slack (like 3 days after i did my install my rv mirror broke off) & dat ground screw will def get slack in a wk time if so long .... :fadein:

Postby pete » May 23rd, 2006, 6:52 pm

nigel1977 wrote:personally i prefer to use things like shock mount bolts (not the shock bolt itself) and other direct metal bolts rather than a tac welded nut. again, that bit about choosing your own ground is lazy, cuz installers dont want to spend time looking for proper ground.

weey.. and I used that point for my amp cuz I didn't know anywhere else in my trunk that would work. actually was expecting to get boofed for usin it yes.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » May 23rd, 2006, 9:03 pm

What about running a heavy ground wire straight back to the battery?

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 23rd, 2006, 9:25 pm

^^^^^^^ i read/see ppl in d USA with highpowered setups & spl competitors does do dat

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 23rd, 2006, 11:20 pm

i read a white paper somewhere about that. cant remember now. but it discussed the possibilities of noise being induced into the negative wire or something like that. i hadda check meh hdd to see if i still have the pdf..

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » May 23rd, 2006, 11:35 pm

since we on the topic of wires.

i notice some 'rust' or something forming on the ground wire on my monoblock.
is lanzar silver wire...

maybe it could be just a short ah i used the wires to test another amp and did not remove the battery pole when replacing them.

so maybe the spark damaged the wire, i now notice that...

so SR, nigel what uh think?

jblx3

Postby jblx3 » May 24th, 2006, 7:54 pm

So if you mounting the amp in the trunk behind the seat in a b14 for sq setup where would you use as a ground?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » May 24th, 2006, 10:34 pm

what about a ground that goes amp -- car chassis -- battery

amp to chassis and then from the same point on the chassis straight up to the battery

i saw that in the product manual for a ppi amp i have and really had me thinking...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 24th, 2006, 10:50 pm

youre assuming that the ground wire youre putting hass less resistance than the cars chassis from the point of contact, through the lug, thru the copper/tin/whatever to the other lug to the other contact point, and double that if youre using more cables... see where im going with this?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 25th, 2006, 12:28 am

well nigel u made a really good point and come to think of it makes sense... i guess up here in the states teh installers just want to make a fast buck more installs =more money ... heck i used to think we took to long to install but i saw soem rushed jobs... let me say amateurs in trini could do ah better job.. even places liek best buy does rush job also ...

as for teh self tappin screw there is a new set that is out similar to the drywall screw that works well even has thread right up teh neck ... not the ones with the wide t-neck that was used before.. i know those and ur right they do tend to get loose.... but hey 6 months of warrenty is good enought up here... by that time its time to upgrade.. but that is 'USA' mentality :lol:

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 25th, 2006, 4:54 am

so what you guys think about runnin lets say two runs of a cheaper 0 guage wire if it works out cheaper than one run of a good brand name.?

man i doh let nobody do my install for me up here in miami its ridiculous what the installers here do they cud take simple install and turn it a complicated adding extra dis and dat jes too make up sales( i knwo this cuz they did it to oneo fmy boys )..trust me i taking forever to get my install done becuase of a lack of a private area to do it but it better that way ..i havent seen or jheard a good local install up here just yet :?

Postby SR » May 25th, 2006, 5:20 am

soon soon
ah hadda come and do some up there jes to show dm wah d trini boys could do

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 25th, 2006, 6:23 am

^^^ trust me man alyuh boys come up heren show dme alyuh skill men og bawl...!

conswaylos
Location: behaving.....don't wanna get ban for ah nex 2 weeks(on d otherhand 2lick lol)

Postby conswaylos » May 25th, 2006, 10:13 am

fellas i using directed 4 gauge and it workin real good it was kinda expensive but no problems. i had some audiopipe before and all d lights dimming and now since i change it every thing working lke source.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 25th, 2006, 11:20 am

thats good info ^^^^

so wat about this brand called XSCORPION ? - triple R does sell it & it cheap but def better than audiopipe in quality imo (fukin reg audiopipe rcas is d worst , plug it in & out 4 time & d end gone tru) ...... :fadein:

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » May 25th, 2006, 11:29 am

never heard about that brand

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 25th, 2006, 12:05 pm

what about p3 anyone ever use there prodcuts?

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » May 25th, 2006, 12:06 pm

Well since the sales of GSI products has disappeared... the XScorpion products have surfaced as another cheap alternative for effective car audio installations

OffshoreMarketing

Postby OffshoreMarketing » May 25th, 2006, 12:10 pm

from what i heard gsi has shut down thaz why they disappear :(

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » May 25th, 2006, 2:13 pm

i seeen another one called hugfen....

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » May 25th, 2006, 3:13 pm

Xscorpion is shiet. i had a curcuit breaker that didnt last 1 week, it was rated at 150A, and my fluke clamp on meter showed around 90A max consumption at full volume.

the bi-metallic strip was permanently deformed and was not flexing back properly to maintain contact.

xscorpion = sheit

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » May 27th, 2006, 10:36 am

d hugfen wire rel nice

ravestarfx

Postby ravestarfx » May 28th, 2006, 8:27 pm

to add to this discussion

i was doing an install

and was putting 4 guage into a terminal

i used two brands one for ground and one for power

one wire was nice thick and flexy and totally fitted snug into the terminal

the other brand wire fit loose due too less strand count under one thick shielding

my point is different brands different construction different quality

i supp the new thing is

put a set of rubber and less strands

to fool ppl

BUT TUNERS TAKE NOTE

FOR BEST RESULTS

GO WITH A GOOD WIRE

ESP FOR LONG LAsTING INSTALLS

simlarly

in the install i tried to bend the wire to a nice angle

one bend ez and took shape

the other one was being a biatch

MY ADVICE

doh let the outer jacket fool yuh

check yuh strand count

and doh buy 2 diff brand of wire for amp installs

buy same brand

cause ...... (figure it out after reading this thread)

so ...

WAT IS THE POINT U BUY EXPENSIVE AMP AND THING

AND YUH BUY CHEAP ARSE WIRE

spend extra go with better wire

it is a investment for a long time

not saying cheaper wires are no good

buy what u can afford jus bear in mind wa u getting

BUT WITH HIGHER GRADE COMPONENTS (not no Boss or Pyramid eh...) AT LEAST SPEND EXTRA FOR SOME GOOD WIRES

I HOPE THIS ANSWERS PPL QUESTIONS

and EDUCATES PPL

This is the ICE FORUM

tuners DONT BE AFRAID TO ASK you will get good advice

there is an OFFICAL INTERNATIONAL JUDGE

Mr. SR

and other gr8 experienced INSTALLERS & COMPETITORS such as Nigel1977

(installers who actually do vehicles that compete and win ""emphasis on the SQ side"")