Optima or AC Delco

image91

Optima or AC Delco

Postby image91 » November 22nd, 2005, 12:58 am

Looking to purchase a battery for my system. Running 0g. throughout the car. Also upgrading alternator wiring and battery ground to 0g. Splitting to two 4g. to the amps in the back.

Want to take the optima, but hearing alot of talk about some not lasting and giving out in under a year? Also heard that there is no warranty on these products...

Heard that the AC Delco is cheaper, and are also deep cycle... Hold charge well enough and would aslo be a good battery for my situation.

Which do you suggest, and why?

audiopipe

Postby audiopipe » November 22nd, 2005, 1:31 am

no warrenty cause their are no dealors for optimas
i usin 2 yellow top an so far they are a great addition an made a difference in my system cann't go wrong
ac delco cann't come round

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » November 22nd, 2005, 7:50 am

I used the AC Delco for 10 mths until it was damaged in an accident, It took the abuse well, Then I bought a Yellotop Deep Cycle from the same dealers of AC Delco, I got warranty, 12mths and 6mths pro rated, it cost me $2100..This was about 2mths ago..

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 22nd, 2005, 8:27 am

^^^^^^
Who are the dealers for Optima that you are referring to?

Both batteries are very good at what they do...

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » November 22nd, 2005, 8:31 am

Steves Electronics are dealers fot Optima

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » November 22nd, 2005, 8:35 am

Steves does not offer warranty

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 22nd, 2005, 9:28 am

Silvafoxx wrote:I used the AC Delco for 10 mths until it was damaged in an accident, It took the abuse well, Then I bought a Yellotop Deep Cycle from the same dealers of AC Delco, I got warranty, 12mths and 6mths pro rated, it cost me $2100..This was about 2mths ago..

I am kinda looking to add another optima to my current system. Where can I get one under warranty?

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » November 22nd, 2005, 9:38 am

~snYper~ wrote:
Silvafoxx wrote:I used the AC Delco for 10 mths until it was damaged in an accident, It took the abuse well, Then I bought a Yellotop Deep Cycle from the same dealers of AC Delco, I got warranty, 12mths and 6mths pro rated, it cost me $2100..This was about 2mths ago..

I am kinda looking to add another optima to my current system. Where can I get one under warranty?

Active General Tyre in couva. But it will cost u more

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 22nd, 2005, 10:01 am

^^ i doh really mind paying extra to get warranty.......once its valid

image91

Postby image91 » November 22nd, 2005, 3:05 pm

With that $2100 you could almost buy a new one if the old goes bad :? Better buy one without warranty and take that chance in my opinion... That's alot of $ for a battery...

But what's the big difference in performance when it come to the two? Does the Optima hold charge thattt much better? That you hafta pay so much more fot it?

Would the AC Delco work just as well?

Yes, alot of people use Optimas and are satisfied, and I agree that they are good products but, I don't want to have to buy one and it fails a couple months in to use. Especially with no warranty. I've heard this story a few times.

Is a yellowtop worth taking that chance?

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » November 22nd, 2005, 4:16 pm

while the AC Delco is good, the optima will last a lot longer and can withstand more pressure and vibration it also has a higher output voltage as the battary is discharged..Give me two yrs and I will answer if it is worth it...

Which AC Delco are you looking at ???

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 22nd, 2005, 4:25 pm

hey all i am in ny and i have recently been assured of the exclusive dealership for Kinetik power batteries,these are teh world's best battery and power storage since dry cell,it is a combination of lead acid and gel cel which makes it a better battery but not a gel cell totally .
these batteries were used to power nearly all the cars at Iasca finals and Db Drag finals taking home over 200 trophies even scott owens the loudest man in teh world uses these batteries 75 in total .

now i am just suggestin that u take a look at www.kinetikpower.com as i am just postin to let u guys know that they will be available soon in trinidad
Last edited by MonsterPower on November 22nd, 2005, 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » November 22nd, 2005, 6:41 pm

^ that shud be www.kinetikpower.com

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 22nd, 2005, 7:08 pm

oops sorry my bad link fixed thankx dadio

image91

Postby image91 » November 23rd, 2005, 12:36 pm

Any AC Delco equal or near to the amnt. of amps on the Optima. Does anyone know how much it is exactly?

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » November 23rd, 2005, 12:41 pm

Why dont u try SVR batteries........they are excellent batteries and are available in Trinidad now, i bought mine from sound extreme (harry) THEY ARE THE DEALERS.........i had mine thru alot of abuse and they are very powerful.

image91

Postby image91 » November 23rd, 2005, 3:50 pm

What kinda price do they go for :?:

What's the warranty like :?:

Deep cycle etc?

~snYper~

Postby ~snYper~ » November 23rd, 2005, 4:09 pm

If you have the extra $$.. invest in the Optima..

Otherwise go with the AC Delco.....

That is what I'd do 8)

simplicity

Postby simplicity » November 24th, 2005, 4:17 pm

I was lucky, i bought my Optima from Federal in Sando 3 yrs ago and got 6yrs warranty with it......

simplicity

Postby simplicity » November 24th, 2005, 4:18 pm

I was lucky, i bought my Optima from Federal in Sando 3 yrs ago and got 6yrs warranty with it......
They don't sell it again though but they still honouring all warranties.........

image91

Postby image91 » November 24th, 2005, 9:44 pm

Damn :shock: That's really good :!:

Exonic, what are the prices like on the SVRs?

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » December 7th, 2005, 8:01 am

So which one did you buy ??

satan's ride

Postby satan's ride » December 7th, 2005, 9:54 am

i bought a yellow top svr battery it cost me $1450, and it works relly well

Black Lancer

Postby Black Lancer » December 7th, 2005, 3:42 pm

Optimas wukin good man ..................buy one used over a year ago and it still wukin ................................buh den again is one of de biggest optima it have.....................ah feel i could run de Lynx wit dat .....

image91

Postby image91 » December 15th, 2005, 10:23 pm

All who are running Optimas, engine bay or in the back? Was told that the heat in the engine bay causes failure in just over a year. If running in the back, they don't give problems. Price is also a factor for me. Still haven't ruled out the Optima, but
just wanna check out a place I was told about...

Buying a battery this week. Leaning toward any reasonably priced deep-cycle. Looking for one for around $800 - $1000. Was told to check Automotive Components which is very convenient seeing as it's right down the road.

Postby SR » December 15th, 2005, 10:31 pm

ah curious to know where you get that info from
engine heat does shorten the life span of any battery the optima's are built to withstnd this more than a regular lead acid battery
have been using optima batteries for more than 5 years now without heat issues

image91

Postby image91 » December 23rd, 2005, 1:40 am

Not saying that's it's true. Was just doing some asking around :wink:

Ended up getting a brand new Marine/Deep Cycle 13 plate 800CA for $800 with a year warranty. That should do the trick for now. If budget allows it, might upgrade to an optima a little later on after hearing what certain pl have contributed :idea:

Main concern was the warranty :roll:

Sully

Postby Sully » December 23rd, 2005, 7:25 am

I bought an optima, and it went dead in less than a year. Unfortunatly, no warranty. I've since given up on the idea of buying a battery without a warranty.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » December 23rd, 2005, 9:34 pm

soon that will change with teh kinetiks

image91

Postby image91 » December 26th, 2005, 11:50 pm

4 real :mrgreen: