Car audio advice thread

Re: Car audio advice thread

Postby sMASH » November 13th, 2024, 12:41 pm

Saw him post on fb recently ... Selling box.
No time to ole talk when u making money

david12

Postby david12 » November 13th, 2024, 4:03 pm

Valid point

Postby timelapse » November 20th, 2024, 7:35 am

I switched subs from a JL 10 W3 v2 yesterday to an Audio Control SPC10S4. They fit in the same enclosure space.I prefer the Audio Control to the JL .Response is much tighter . The best I can describe it is creamy.

david12

Postby david12 » December 4th, 2024, 1:51 pm

I might have to give an Audio Control sub a try.

Guys...I have a simple question. So I currently have a 4 channel output DSP but I was thinking about adding more to the system. I was considering getting the 8 channel version but I don't want to have my current DSP lying around. Does it make sense to get another 4 channel DSP? Or is it too much of a hassle?

I'm trying to sell my current one to get the 8 channel but the second hand car audio market is slow these days and I don't want to get robbed or shot lol.

Postby sMASH » December 4th, 2024, 2:11 pm

What need u trying to fix by the additional dsp or the 8 channel ?

david12

Postby david12 » December 4th, 2024, 5:59 pm

sMASH wrote:What need u trying to fix by the additional dsp or the 8 channel ?
Just more channels to bi-amp the front stage eventually

Postby sMASH » December 5th, 2024, 8:24 am

8ch out would be neater .
Another 6ch out dsp would mean u have 4 spare channels to play with ... Lol

david12

Postby david12 » December 5th, 2024, 12:17 pm

Thanks Smash, I'll see if I can sell the 4 channel.

I'll be using 6 out of the 8 channels and if I decide to go 3 way I'll be using all 8.

Postby timelapse » December 6th, 2024, 7:23 am

:roll: :roll: Wait a moment here guys.....
Why not buy an 8 and keep the 4.
12 Channel DSP isnt going to waste
:roll: :roll:

david12

Postby david12 » December 6th, 2024, 12:21 pm

timelapse wrote::roll: :roll: Wait a moment here guys.....
Buh wha chubble is this!

Postby sMASH » December 6th, 2024, 1:02 pm

david12 wrote:
timelapse wrote::roll: :roll: Wait a moment here guys.....
Buh wha chubble is this!
Dolby atmos...

david12

Postby david12 » December 11th, 2024, 3:07 pm

^Nah man, I like it real simple

Postby sMASH » December 11th, 2024, 6:44 pm

Lol, jess pulling ur leg

TK!

Postby TK! » January 1st, 2025, 3:43 pm

david12 wrote:I might have to give an Audio Control sub a try.

Guys...I have a simple question. So I currently have a 4 channel output DSP but I was thinking about adding more to the system. I was considering getting the 8 channel version but I don't want to have my current DSP lying around. Does it make sense to get another 4 channel DSP? Or is it too much of a hassle?

I'm trying to sell my current one to get the 8 channel but the second hand car audio market is slow these days and I don't want to get robbed or shot lol.

i would say to sell the 4 ch dsp and get an 8 ch replacement (or greater).

david12

Postby david12 » January 2nd, 2025, 10:31 am

^That's the plan now. Think I found a way of getting my old DSP off of my hands.

Postby timelapse » January 13th, 2025, 1:51 pm

I might actually do a 12 channel setup if $$ permits after I get the car painted.
Front door woofer x2
Front dash mid x2
Front tweeter x2
Back door woofer x2
Back Wideband mid x2
Sub x2

Plenty to ponder

Postby hover11 » January 13th, 2025, 1:58 pm

timelapse wrote:I might actually do a 12 channel setup if $$ permits after I get the car painted.
Front door woofer x2
Front dash mid x2
Front tweeter x2
Back door woofer x2
Back Wideband mid x2
Sub x2

Plenty to ponder
No processor?

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby X_Factor » January 13th, 2025, 5:03 pm

timelapse wrote:I might actually do a 12 channel setup if $$ permits after I get the car painted.
Front door woofer x2
Front dash mid x2
Front tweeter x2
Back door woofer x2
Back Wideband mid x2
Sub x2

Plenty to ponder
Tbh
A simple two way front stage with decent equipment and proper install and tuning is most times much better than a 3 way set up with compromised install or tuning

If no one usually sits in your back seat
Decent coaxials will be sufficient

david12

Postby david12 » January 13th, 2025, 5:26 pm

Front door woofer x2
Front dash mid x2
Front tweeter x2
Back door woofer x2
Back Wideband mid x2
Sub x2

Plenty to ponder
Do it!

I was actually thinking about using the AudioControl 6.5" components and adding their 2.75" mid for a 3 way. Pretty cost effective when compared to other brands.

Also, who makes a 12 channel DSP? Helix? I not so boujee one time lol

Postby timelapse » January 14th, 2025, 7:22 am

david12 wrote:
Front door woofer x2
Front dash mid x2
Front tweeter x2
Back door woofer x2
Back Wideband mid x2
Sub x2

Plenty to ponder
Do it!

I was actually thinking about using the AudioControl 6.5" components and adding their 2.75" mid for a 3 way. Pretty cost effective when compared to other brands.

Also, who makes a 12 channel DSP? Helix? I not so boujee one time lol

Audison, Alpine, I've seen a few of them.For the longest while I have been considering going with amps that have dsp capabilities like the JL,Audio Control and Helix. Also Optical cables are more easily available now.Quite a lot to ponder lol.At my age, I am surprised that I can still hear some very high frequencies. Let me know how the audio control comps sound.