Re: Which sub fow lows?

Postby rollingstock » March 10th, 2023, 8:42 pm

sMASH wrote:No no no.

I KNOW that...
But this is jusssst an experiment.

The port is 8" x 10" and flared put even more.
And ur getting a lot push from it.
It's working, just outside my personal preference.

I'm doing this to see what results I would get

I know the 4th order thing, but it's just a sealed with playing at the resonance frequency of the cabin(enclosure).

When I get the higher power 8, I will see how the t line performs. I'm hoping it jams close enough to this right now..

I'll make a proper line for the frontier and
Come out for RS....
8" against 8"

My two little 8's does surprise some folks. Whenever you wanna hear it say the word. Busted surrounds and still rocking.

Postby sMASH » March 10th, 2023, 10:58 pm

sMASH wrote:No no no.

I KNOW that...
But this is jusssst an experiment.

The port is 8" x 10" and flared put even more.
And ur getting a lot push from it.
It's working, just outside my personal preference.

I'm doing this to see what results I would get

I know the 4th order thing, but it's just a sealed with playing at the resonance frequency of the cabin(enclosure).

When I get the higher power 8, I will see how the t line performs. I'm hoping it jams close enough to this right now..

I'll make a proper line for the frontier and
Come out for RS....
8" against 8"

My two little 8's does surprise some folks. Whenever you wanna hear it say the word. Busted surrounds and still rocking.
Dat eez ah planz.
Lemme get the next one tho...

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 12:26 pm

rollingstock wrote:...

What song ur 8" plays best?
If u want to show off, what track u use?

I want to run it and see how mine compares.

With the ongoing experiment I gonna modify the box, and it may/may not sound this good again.

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2023, 12:36 pm

*bounces een thread like ah choopidy - "PLAY AH MILLI" , hossboisdandawgboi ................. :oops: ............. :lol:

allyuh dun kno dise d gold standard song since 2008 ....... :lol:

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 12:49 pm

Rovin wrote:*bounces een thread like ah choopidy - "PLAY AH MILLI" , hossboisdandawgboi ................. :oops: .............

allyuh dun kno dise d gold standard song since 2008 .......
Thst frequency too high for this box. Srs.
Band width very narrow.
What sounds good is echoplex with epicenter,
Or purple lambos by Rick Ross.
The migos, and cardi b from a few years back.

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2023, 12:56 pm

eh fadda eef it cyar play ah milli then cho way dat bai .......... :lol:

DL 1 of dem RTA phone apps & confirm what u saying .... i know is not a professional instrument but better than nothing & its free

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 1:09 pm

I check with the excursion of the driver.
Real movements with little comparative sound.

The other songs shake the tailgate, the dash even the steering column and my clothes.
My ears started to ring yesterday with the Weekend and other Lil Wayne.

It coudl play that high, but at lower volumes. It was maxing out early and cracking up/flapping with little bass in those high frequencies. As I tuned the lpf and subsonic filter in, I was able to really crank up.

And boy!

But bandwidth is narrow. But when it hits, euphoria!

I canceling moving up to a higher Power 8". Too much money for sumting I will not use.
I would really like to know if it will perform better with more power.
With the last Amp, it was 200rms and sounding okay. But it have at least 700rms available at 2ohm now, and could go to 1ohm. and the sub rated 500rms, with room on the gain.

If I coudl get a dual 2ohm 800rms sub thst already broken in, borrowed , just to see if it will take more power.. That would be cool.

The next experiment would be to place the driver at various points along the path, to see how it will respond t line.

I trying to set up a lap top. Just getting some problems with a few tings.
When that done I will use the lil mic from Dayton audio, and the DATS to get some actual curves.

When I do that I want to start a new hobby channel on YouTube. To post vids. So kinda just waiting to sort out this laptop.

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 1:13 pm

I used a signal generator and ran sweeps to set the subsonic and lpf, according to the excursion.

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 1:20 pm

Rovin wrote:eh fadda eef it cyar play ah milli then cho way dat bai ..........

DL 1 of dem RTA phone apps & confirm what u saying .... i know is not a professional instrument but better than nothing & its free
Bro. That frequency too high for my liking any ways.

The low part of rock Ross "veterans day" is my target tune for future builds.

I don't want it to REACH that low... I want it to be center tuned at that note, and can dig lower. If it play higher, well np.

Epicenter is my hearing aid.

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2023, 3:09 pm

i used to sell epis but never bothered to put 1 in my ride

why u ears ringing though, hadda be with mids\highs cause bass dont really hot up ears, if u say clog shake yuh ears wax with bass then yea .... doh over do it & forkup ur ears cause they doh sell replacement coils fuh dat

my daily have played songs down to 12hz & high as 80-100 which for me is level crixpan but i have it set up as i want it for IN car listening to play 15-50hz so it might be considered narrow but it slopes wide, it wasnt built for stand up outside raj hearing ...

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 4:28 pm

Head unit Lpf set at 30hz... 18db slope. Amp Lpf set at 40hz.. So we getting a moderate roll off into a steep Roll off

And ear ringing with that bass line. That 8" even shaking the steering column.
With all door open u still getting pressure entering the cabin.

Remember, is an 8' path length with 8"x10" mouth. That should be around 30hz

I feel allyuh need to get an in person demo to understand what going on.

I have a Lil while b4 I get the laptop set up and the new accounts set up. So it will stay like this for the while.

Postby rollingstock » March 14th, 2023, 8:50 pm

sMASH wrote:
rollingstock wrote:...

What song ur 8" plays best?
If u want to show off, what track u use?

I want to run it and see how mine compares.

With the ongoing experiment I gonna modify the box, and it may/may not sound this good again.

Honestly I listen to a bit of everything, and I have my subs set up to be able to do that.

I play a lot of rebassed stuff too. Shoddy quality from YouTube xclsv channel mostly.

Basslines I enjoy, a few. I love Michael's dirty Diana. A whole new world by peabo. A good bit others

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 8:55 pm

I didn aks what u like, I aks what ur subs like

Lol.

Hmm, aite.

Postby rollingstock » March 14th, 2023, 8:59 pm

My subs like what I tell it to like.

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 9:02 pm

rollingstock wrote:My subs like what I tell it to like.
Lol.

Mine will be smelling glue if it dint get only specific frequencies... Any ting else, and that coil will launch.

Postby rollingstock » March 14th, 2023, 9:02 pm

But in that case it like purple Lamborghini
Gunga gana
Lil Jon what you gon do

Postby rollingstock » March 14th, 2023, 9:07 pm

sMASH wrote:
rollingstock wrote:My subs like what I tell it to like.
Lol.

Mine will be smelling glue if it dint get only specific frequencies... Any ting else, and that coil will launch.

My coils like brand new. Subs rated 600rms each, the amp rated 1500rms but birthsheet has 1800+. They take a beating and normal.
But I designed my enclosure to be able to stand upright with the subs facing up. Not much clearance, but I needed it so for stroller and baby bags etc. Forgot it facing up a day, and sent it. Subs hit the underside of the trunk brace and tore both surrounds. Evostik and piece of an old surround for now until I get chance to get it repaired by the dealer.

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2023, 9:13 pm

Dd is sure ting.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 5th, 2023, 8:38 am

Enjoying the read.

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2023, 9:29 am

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2023, 9:33 am

Got the laptop and accounts running. I will get the REW and DATS software set up in a Lil timing.

When Ramadan done I will try out the various t line configs... With graphs!
IMG_20230405_093130.jpg

Postby Rovin » April 5th, 2023, 11:42 am

hmmm u badda than me with d dats

yrs ago i say i woulda get it & other equipment but had half a mind about it since i rarely build boxes for ppl much again only for subs that i sell from my store & alot of typical trinis dont care about scientific approach to enclosures .... 95% of d time its well i have this limited amt of space here & want it tuned xx hz cause thats what they think will work for what they have in mind

Postby sMASH » April 5th, 2023, 8:05 pm

Kinda don't really need it. Just want to try my hand at a pair of stereo hifi audiophile speakers in a timing.

This is really for thst.

But, it willl come in handy to test the t line variations.

Only equipment I resllllly want is a dds...
When monies free up I feel I will. Fall in one of that.

People don't care bout music and know even less. I jess want to understand for my own self.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 11th, 2023, 9:09 am

the dats very good for other things as well

You can use it to measure inductors and capacitors and whole crossover networks an ting

Also can test rub and buzz on speakers

Also Rovin it wud be a good tool for you to see if speakers are still within spec (although the manu spec and the pre-broken in spec would be vastly different)

Postby sMASH » April 11th, 2023, 9:27 am

Just as rovin was saying, it ha uses, but how much will we be using it...

The audiophile stereo speakers, I would do passive crossing fir the tweets and mids, so it would come in handy there to get precise matching calculations

But after that....

It would be good, to test rebuilt stuff.
To see what ur working with.

But again, the market to mske money, people dont care... When it blow, fix it and sell it.

Just last week saw a post saying, "for sale" with a Pic of a sub in a box from far.

People don't know, and dont care.

And mee too to an extent. I jess want forceful lows... Fleck tonal and accurate. I jess wah shake everyting!

I had an Sq sub from power acoustik, sounded nice. It blow, bought a replacement audio bhan.
That bass was more of a grumble.. Not accurate to what was in the music, but I preferred it.

That box was a folded horn too come to think of it ... But was more like 60hz tune and I played stuff 40hz ... Subs had a right to blow. Lol.

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 11th, 2023, 2:12 pm

If you want forceful lows, just tune the box to the resonant frequency of the listening chamber :) :) :) :)

Bonus points if you use a bandpass box and make the passband real narrow and tall like MF El Tucuche

Postby Rovin » April 11th, 2023, 3:10 pm

i agree with d dats is great to have if u want to be very specific, however i dont build boxes for random ppl with used subs & brands i dont carry, i only build for brand new subs bought from my store so those factory t\s specs are good enough for my purpose

cc1 great to confirm what ur trying to do especially if ur not using digital processing & using those dials on d amp that are not very precisely marked to set up crossover points

dd1 takes all d guesswork to prevent u clipping ur amp & fuggin up ur speakers & amps

a professional RTA also a great tool too so u wont have like a drastic 18-24dbs peak\valley but at d end of d day most ppl wont want a near 3-6dbs RTA flattish tune, they just want well turn this\that buttons up\down til it sounds good to their ears

for ur own personal use all are great tools to have once u can afford them ... if u have family\friends coming from d usa bringing it as gifts u will save a bunch of $ from s\h & taxes

Postby ruffneck_12 » April 12th, 2023, 10:49 am

I got a good dbx RTA mic, love that lil bugger .I hardly use it but I love it :lol:

Also got the same IMM6 mic as smash at first . its aight . Kinda cool for audio recordings in general too. Used it for phone calls too :lol:

Postby sMASH » April 12th, 2023, 7:07 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:I got a good dbx RTA mic, love that lil bugger .I hardly use it but I love it

Also got the same IMM6 mic as smash at first . its aight . Kinda cool for audio recordings in general too. Used it for phone calls too
I will try it, my fone mic is crap.

Always wanted to try it. But for years I wasn't finding it.