Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: sio, rcadiz, 3ne2nr Mods

tardissubie

Re: Rally Trinidad 22-24th March 2013

Postby tardissubie » March 26th, 2013, 1:27 pm

The weekend was great.

The initial show of force by the police was unnecessary but the van loads that arrived after were necessary as precaution due to the large crowds.

I hope sponsors and supporters stay on board with TTRC as the rest of the weekend was simply spectacular!

Everyone else please take the bickering elsewhere and the dude fixated on the placement of that one toilet smh... Who give a sh!t lol there were alot more all over.

Postby rollingstock » March 26th, 2013, 1:45 pm

Look at the google intellects aka 'computerman' A fitting name, reading about tactics on the net makes you a specialist.

Autosport you have again proven yourself to be devoid of facts and a harbinger of some great scheme against motorsport that is yet to be proven in this instance.

I would love to continue to most riveting one sided argument, if i didn't know better i would have sworn that I single-handed led to the police action (that i remind you were lawful)

You all really are an ignorant bunch. I need my sleep to be able to function again tomorrow for another 30hr+ work day.

God blessings in your future endeavors in motor sport and may he grant you all a reprieve from the conniving corrupt police officers when they perform their functions.

Postby pete » March 26th, 2013, 2:07 pm

Dude.. I don't think anyone is disputing that the police were well within their rights to do what they did. What everyone has been saying is they could have used some tact and just shut down the bar itself and let the motor racing take place.

I'm sure that in the future everything will be done properly.

Was the bar open and selling drinks before it was shut down?

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 26th, 2013, 2:27 pm

rollingstock wrote:Look at the google intellects aka 'computerman' A fitting name, reading about tactics on the net makes you a specialist.
Young man, I never claimed to be a specialist in SWAT. My comments were made based on my own ignorant point of view (and google :mrgreen: ). My personal interaction with police officers is limited to those with whom I have had dealings with in court and those whom I taught over the years.

rollingstock wrote:You all really are an ignorant bunch. I need my sleep to be able to function again tomorrow for another 30hr+ work day.
I appreciate the compliment. Being ignorant means I still have the ability to increase the capacity of my limited intellect. Unlike those who 'know it all'.

pete wrote:Was the bar open and selling drinks before it was shut down?
Yes, drinks were on sale for a while before the police came.

Postby DVSTT » March 26th, 2013, 3:23 pm

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » March 26th, 2013, 3:28 pm

AutoSport wrote:Breds if you go and read over your last post you will see, where YOU are now agreeing with most of the critical comments being made against your own team- slowly coming down off your high horse.

You must be reading something else.

Just look at what you are now saying..."persons hate the police, rightfully in most cases"

But yuh very wrong in saying no bar licence shut down the event. But that is the standard show of force.

And pray tell what did? I'm not into motorsport for the politics so that doesn't concern me, i'm just going by what was reported. If you have information to the contrary and keep it to yourself, how can i be blamed for my stance?

Anyway, moving forward, the TTRC will continue to receive the fullest support of all Genuine Motorsport lovers within the Motorsport Community!

Are you insinuating that i am not a 'genuine' motor sport lover? I was never critical of the TTRC, i just defended the officers on the facts reported.

It is apparent that there is no winning fighting a losing conversation with a clique with ulterior political motives wrt motorsport.

So in closing i agree fcuk the police.

Let us all give a warm welcome to the new LINK !!!

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » March 26th, 2013, 3:37 pm

Gosh boy Microtech...you kill him dey! All you had was to do was tuh...mention how the officers asked Stag and Robert dem how much they had in the bar already...alluding to a "compensatory package" to let it "slide"....It is Alledged.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 26th, 2013, 3:46 pm

[quote Let us all give a warm welcome to the new LINK !!![/quote]

TALK DONE! As far as we are concerned....

But the brilliance of Rollingstock, sorry Laughingstock continues to shine!

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » March 26th, 2013, 8:07 pm

rcadiz wrote:Ok, well as i can see the rumour mill has started and although i welcome all the opinions and feedback from everyone let's get a few things cleared up.

Firstly the TTRC will be making a full statement when we can get all the facts. i have just spent the last 3 hours in Marabella Police Station and we have still not gotten the full story. Let's go with what we know. The Police shut the event down due to an issue with the strength and bar license. From what we have been told there were a few courses of action that could have taken place:
- Shut the bar down and let the event continue - under normal circumstances
- Shut the event down if the safety of the event is compromised and there is an obvious lack of resources in which to deal with problems that may arise - also under normal circumstances.
- Ask no questions, walk in shut down walk out - slightly harsh course of action given the nature of the event (i.e sporting event, not a concert with bad language from the artiste and violent patrons)

We have been hosting events with an almost perfect safety record for a number of years and today there were very few safety concerns - further to that the racing hadn't even started as yet to even allow for a safety concern to become apparent. On the note of the public toilet, you may have seen that our sponsored toilets - 15 scattered around the venue were all light brown and from JQ and the one being referred to was in fact a UDECOTT rented Toilet which was locked and not part of our setup and behind a concrete culvert (just to clarify). It was also in an area requiring the complete slow down of the car due to the tight turn (after the pic of course)

I have to make an assumption here and assume that you played some part in the preparation of this event. You as the holder of the event are charged with the responsibility of ensuring your patrons are safe within the confines of the venue. It should be noted that the port a potty was used consistently for the duration of the event. It was not locked. Should it be true that the port a potty was installed by the UDECOTT then the event holder should have taken reasonable steps to relocate or secure said facility so that patrons would be prevented from using same. Additionally if the promoter determined for whatever reasons that it was inappropriate to move the property of the UDECOTT the layout of the track should have reflected this by being within reasonable distance from the port o potty as it would have been within your control to effect such a change. Due to the nature of this event and the way merit is awarded for fastest times it is highly unacceptable to assume that a vehicle would engage a corner "at a complete slow down" please bear in mind that this "slow down is highly relative and dependent on the car and driver. A car can fail at 10, 20,120 kmph A general risk assessment would have identified such allowing you the opportunity for mitigation strategies. Vehicles are predominantly mechanical in nature and as such are prone to failure especially after a grueling couple days of numerous terrain, mechanical failure does not choose a time dear friend. This was observed as other cars had numerous failures.

It was rather noble and supportive of the UDECOTT to lend this venue to the TTRC for the execution of this event, to know that the organizers are using the corporations name loosely with blatant disregard by throwing the blame on an organization that is trying to recover from an already tarnished history. Your statements are rather unfortunate and may bring the Corporation into disrepute. In the event that happens you can say bye bye to any motor sport event being held there in the future and also left a bitter taste on the members of this govt for bringing them under scrutiny once more. This could also entail no support from the govt for the future of Motor sports in Trinidad & Tobago especially since the Ministry of Sport contributed and endorsed same. This danger and risk involved in this event was no different than that of illegal drag racing. This is the unprofessional behavior that has had government to government go by with no support for motor sport. Get the act together and show some professionalism and then you have a case :wink:

No fights, no violence, a crowd made up of mostly families and friends liming on the outskirts does not suggest a risk of crowd or drunk partygoers who need to be dealt with. With respect to the bar license, we have never had an issue like this in the years of Rally Trinidad and i would like to assure all who are wondering that it was not an oversight nor forgetting. In fact the bar license was applied for both Friday and Sunday night at the same time. Rather there was a misunderstanding which we are looking into. The fact is that the Police were well within their right to allow the event to continue, but shut the whole event down without so much as options being considered.

6 jeeps of riot gear heavily armed Police were sent in to deal with a 20x20 tented bar (staff of 5) in a crowd of mostly people simply wanting to enjoy the afternoon of racing. They arrived and jumped out of the vehicles loading weapons like if it was a bank heist. If you don't think that is excessive then it's entirely your opinion but i think most would agree.

On the door charge. I think all would agree that the TTRC has began to offer more to our patrons with the event infrastructure and logistics (i.e. National Stadium on Friday night) and we simply charge a small fee to help offset the cost. Anyone who has experience with events would know the cost of stage, lighting, sound, fencing, signage etc etc. Furthermore a $100 per carload (roughly $20 per head) is in no way a 'big money ting' as some would say. How many $20-$40 events by comparison do issue receipts? Refunding was not possible today but that does not mean that we do not intend to make it up somehow.

What we can say however is that we will be getting to the bottom of what can be described as an excessive decision by the TTPS, and looking ahead we will be planning an event with the same level of logistics with no door charge and do our best to make amends to the spectators that came out and supported us in somewhat vain.

There will be critics but i think they are limited. We have a great sport and an even greater spectator base who i think will understand that we were powerless to change the course of events today but can only promise to make it up.

On the stages today being cancelled. We were met with 3 large loads of garbage in 'Jack and Jill while setting up this morning (probably dumped last night) and ran late trying to get equipment to move it. We needed to get the cars to Tarouba and the only decision that we had was to cancel the stages. If we put any of you in the same situation i am sure the result would be the same. Disappointing yes but an unavoidable logistical issue.

To close we would like everyone to be reassured that we will bounce back from this and we will make it up to everyone. We can only ask for your understanding.

FTL

Postby FTL » March 26th, 2013, 8:27 pm

sizzla89 wrote:I have to make an assumption here and assume that you played some part in the preparation of this event. You as the holder of the event are charged with the responsibility of ensuring your patrons are safe within the confines of the venue. It should be noted that the port a potty was used consistently for the duration of the event. It was not locked. Should it be true that the port a potty was installed by the UDECOTT then the event holder should have taken reasonable steps to relocate or secure said facility so that patrons would be prevented from using same. Additionally if the promoter determined for whatever reasons that it was inappropriate to move the property of the UDECOTT the layout of the track should have reflected this by being within reasonable distance from the port o potty as it would have been within your control to effect such a change. Due to the nature of this event and the way merit is awarded for fastest times it is highly unacceptable to assume that a vehicle would engage a corner "at a complete slow down" please bear in mind that this "slow down is highly relative and dependent on the car and driver. A car can fail at 10, 20,120 kmph A general risk assessment would have identified such allowing you the opportunity for mitigation strategies. Vehicles are predominantly mechanical in nature and as such are prone to failure especially after a grueling couple days of numerous terrain, mechanical failure does not choose a time dear friend. This was observed as other cars had numerous failures.

It was rather noble and supportive of the UDECOTT to lend this venue to the TTRC for the execution of this event, to know that the organizers are using the corporations name loosely with blatant disregard by throwing the blame on an organization that is trying to recover from an already tarnished history. Your statements are rather unfortunate and may bring the Corporation into disrepute. In the event that happens you can say bye bye to any motor sport event being held there in the future and also left a bitter taste on the members of this govt for bringing them under scrutiny once more. This could also entail no support from the govt for the future of Motor sports in Trinidad & Tobago
Dude, talk about coming out of Left Field and not only missing the ball.... but the POINT!! Sheesh!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 26th, 2013, 8:31 pm

FTL wrote:
sizzla89 wrote:I have to make an assumption here and assume that you played some part in the preparation of this event. You as the holder of the event are charged with the responsibility of ensuring your patrons are safe within the confines of the venue. It should be noted that the port a potty was used consistently for the duration of the event. It was not locked. Should it be true that the port a potty was installed by the UDECOTT then the event holder should have taken reasonable steps to relocate or secure said facility so that patrons would be prevented from using same. Additionally if the promoter determined for whatever reasons that it was inappropriate to move the property of the UDECOTT the layout of the track should have reflected this by being within reasonable distance from the port o potty as it would have been within your control to effect such a change. Due to the nature of this event and the way merit is awarded for fastest times it is highly unacceptable to assume that a vehicle would engage a corner "at a complete slow down" please bear in mind that this "slow down is highly relative and dependent on the car and driver. A car can fail at 10, 20,120 kmph A general risk assessment would have identified such allowing you the opportunity for mitigation strategies. Vehicles are predominantly mechanical in nature and as such are prone to failure especially after a grueling couple days of numerous terrain, mechanical failure does not choose a time dear friend. This was observed as other cars had numerous failures.

It was rather noble and supportive of the UDECOTT to lend this venue to the TTRC for the execution of this event, to know that the organizers are using the corporations name loosely with blatant disregard by throwing the blame on an organization that is trying to recover from an already tarnished history. Your statements are rather unfortunate and may bring the Corporation into disrepute. In the event that happens you can say bye bye to any motor sport event being held there in the future and also left a bitter taste on the members of this govt for bringing them under scrutiny once more. This could also entail no support from the govt for the future of Motor sports in Trinidad & Tobago
Dude, talk about coming out of Left Field and not only missing the ball.... but the POINT!! Sheesh!!

No wonder you name FTL :roll:

sizzla89

Postby sizzla89 » March 26th, 2013, 8:34 pm

FTL wrote:

^^^ In English FTL

FTL

Postby FTL » March 26th, 2013, 8:35 pm

trini mk5 wrote:No wonder you name FTL :roll:
Didn't see the need to update after his edit. :|

V8 Boys

Postby V8 Boys » March 26th, 2013, 10:57 pm

You know, to those of us like Robert Cadiz, Barry MacKenzie, Rawle Mahabir, Frankie Boodram, Tanko Baboolal...etc ---when overly righteous people who dont TRAVEL, dont go to events, dont know what it takes to put on something like this, who dont care how much these people have done and continue to do for T&T, become all of a sudden become "guardians of the people" quoting hard and fast rules, and citing breeches of the law.....THESE people really are the reason we are still so backward here....I call them "Terazzo Trinis"....those who still prefer plain ol, long lasting and boringly depressive terazzo as apposed to tiles...the same type that paint their cars grey/light blue/permobel white for 40yrs....the type who feel the world revolves around Trinidad....allyuh still with me?

Ok now that you're thinking of how to reply to all a dat sarcasm...take in the following pics...sorry PICTEEERS...and see if that dotish toilet near de corna is what all yuh Terrazo Trinis need to be gettin all high and mighty about....
1979Portugal_Vatanen-BryantEscor-1.jpg
imagesggg.jpg
imagesggg.jpg (8.79 KiB) Viewed 19586 times
imagesng.jpg
imagesng.jpg (10.45 KiB) Viewed 19586 times
imagesnuo.jpg
imagesnuo.jpg (12.42 KiB) Viewed 19586 times
imagesvvf.jpg
imagesvvf.jpg (12.96 KiB) Viewed 19586 times
dsc008222dh.jpg
dsc008201zr.jpg
No Mr and Mrs Permobel white....we not saying KILL De SPECTATORS...but Rallying is what it is and despite several hundred spectators dying over the years ....worldwide...Rallying and other forms of Motorsport bring great revenue to the countries that hold them...and that is the big picture...not the POPO pullin rank, or "wha bout ny $40..I pay my money and dem white ppl eh givin we nuttinback boy...injustice!" Those are not even important issues, the same as the loss of Tarouba is nowhere as great a loss as the Caribbeans support. Oh and the last few pics....shucks man!...PICTEERS, are us here in the 80s....standing right next to potential danger. So dat toilet ting eh new.

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » March 26th, 2013, 11:02 pm

MG Man wrote:the real question to TTRC remains:

Can I drive my car as Car 00 in the stadium next year, pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease :mrgreen:
grumpy-cat-22.jpg

GTman357

Postby GTman357 » March 27th, 2013, 1:10 am

So out of all de tings that the TTRC do good this weekend and in past years, allyuh make noise for a toilet dat they already explain was not their setup. Den when they explain that it was not part of de event setup, allyuh say doh call UDECOTT name in vain.

BUHWAHDEMUDDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHO throwin blame, the man simply offer an explanation on what the toilet was doin there and that it was not their idea. they never blame UDECOTT. sizzla89 you take all dat time to explain the potty issue and already talkin about losing a facility over a comment.

look where you gone boss. you speeding more than the rally cars yes.

and since when you is ah expert in how to setup a course. TTRC has done events in the national stadium and saith park for years with no incidents so give them some credit nah. they are the only ones doin events at that level and instead of saying things in a constructive way all allyuh doin is coming down hard. no different than de damn police. yes we agree with the toilet coulda be in a different spot but you really have to get on so.

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » March 27th, 2013, 1:32 am

Tribute to the Champions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 27th, 2013, 3:18 am

^ awesome!

H.S.E GuY

Postby H.S.E GuY » March 27th, 2013, 4:29 am

I'm following this part of the thread and there are two issues here one being highlighted very openly and the other being sent to a backburner and hasn't been dealth with to my mind.

The first is the manner in which officers went about in the conduct of there duties, well that is still being sorted out as the facts are still being gathered. Hopefully a proper statement would be provided?

The second is the issue of refunding to patrons and this has not been commented on as yet properly. Those would remember that on Friday night a stub was given at the gate, what is the difference or what happen to Sunday and yes it is the same event being put on.

Robert, I think it's a bit unfair to say that "its a no big money ting" it seems by that you are implying that we should be" cool about everything and let's move on". Whilst there are costs to host the event for some people it does matter and it also brings to mind the issue of accountability.

The TTRC has done a great job last weekend by hosting the event and you all have really evolved over the years, keep it up, but come clean on the on the issues that transpired on Sunday for you all done want to be classed along the lines of another motorsport organisation.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 27th, 2013, 7:19 am

6 Jeep loads of police in order to SHut down a well put together Rally?

WTF they thought was happening? beethamitesand sealot-ians were the only spectators?

Nice going, yet another insult to the Automotive competitions in this country..............

Maybe police thought that that when they saw smoke and dust from a rally car warming up that they were burning tires and protesting?

that was completely uncalled for .....................

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 27th, 2013, 7:22 am

GTman357 wrote:So out of all de tings that the TTRC do good this weekend and in past years, allyuh make noise for a toilet dat they already explain was not their setup. Den when they explain that it was not part of de event setup, allyuh say doh call UDECOTT name in vain.

BUHWAHDEMUDDA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WHO throwin blame, the man simply offer an explanation on what the toilet was doin there and that it was not their idea. they never blame UDECOTT. sizzla89 you take all dat time to explain the potty issue and already talkin about losing a facility over a comment.

look where you gone boss. you speeding more than the rally cars yes.

and since when you is ah expert in how to setup a course. TTRC has done events in the national stadium and saith park for years with no incidents so give them some credit nah. they are the only ones doin events at that level and instead of saying things in a constructive way all allyuh doin is coming down hard. no different than de damn police. yes we agree with the toilet coulda be in a different spot but you really have to get on so.

The issue is not so much that the toilet was there, it was that ppl was using it. If udecott did indeed place it there, then as I see it a caution tape should have at least be put around it so ppl couldn't use it. The last thing Motorsport in Trinidad needs is an accident that could fatally injure someone right now where it could have been avoided. This was not out on a dirt track in the bush it was in a carpark in a controlled environment with women and children looking on at varying points throughout the course. Safety first and this is a criticism that can be looked into to be improved.
It doesn't matter if TTRC has been hosting incident free events for years, does that mean that they cannot make mistakes or that accidents can't happen? No it doesn't. These orginizers always ask for feedback on what can be improved and this is how you guys respond when criticism is giving? Laughable.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 27th, 2013, 7:28 am

ponders if police will go and shiut down Kite flying in the savannah this weekend in a show of force.
i hear REEL frigging parasites going to be in the savannah with alcohol while flying kite.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » March 27th, 2013, 8:19 am

H.S.E GuY wrote:The TTRC has done a great job last weekend by hosting the event and you all have really evolved over the years, keep it up, but come clean on the on the issues that transpired on Sunday for you all done want to be classed along the lines of another motorsport organisation.

I think the TTRC is still trying to figure it all out man...

As for trini mk5 and sizzla89 - STFU about this stupid toilet non-issue, have you ever been to a rally in your lives?

paparazzi

Postby paparazzi » March 27th, 2013, 8:27 am

Rallyfignis wrote:
H.S.E GuY wrote:The TTRC has done a great job last weekend by hosting the event and you all have really evolved over the years, keep it up, but come clean on the on the issues that transpired on Sunday for you all done want to be classed along the lines of another motorsport organisation.

As for trini mk5 and sizzla89 - STFU about this stupid toilet non-issue, have you ever been to a rally in your lives?

Toilet near race course + the sound of a WRC racing towards toilet = man doing their business REAL fass = model of efficiency.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 27th, 2013, 8:44 am

Rallyfignis wrote:

they know exactly what happened, and they are to blame, but someone somewhere knows that the population already blames the police, and to prevent TTRC looking like the new TTASA, they continue to delay a real statement.....

i dont get the whole issues about the police though....TTPS did their job and TTRC did not....its as simple as that.....

saying the police had other options is nothing short of rubbish.....they have the right to do what they did, so why be vex?
as far as understand none of the officials were arrested, they should count their lucky stars.......

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 27th, 2013, 8:50 am

H.S.E GuY wrote:I'm following this part of the thread and there are two issues here one being highlighted very openly and the other being sent to a backburner and hasn't been dealth with to my mind.

The first is the manner in which officers went about in the conduct of there duties, well that is still being sorted out as the facts are still being gathered. Hopefully a proper statement would be provided?

The second is the issue of refunding to patrons and this has not been commented on as yet properly. Those would remember that on Friday night a stub was given at the gate, what is the difference or what happen to Sunday and yes it is the same event being put on.

Robert, I think it's a bit unfair to say that "its a no big money ting" it seems by that you are implying that we should be" cool about everything and let's move on". Whilst there are costs to host the event for some people it does matter and it also brings to mind the issue of accountability.

The TTRC has done a great job last weekend by hosting the event and you all have really evolved over the years, keep it up, but come clean on the on the issues that transpired on Sunday for you all done want to be classed along the lines of another motorsport organisation.

Look at this very critical comment and look at how it has been put across in a very constructive manner.

I wonder how many events the negative critics have ever staged in their lives.

Hope Officer Rollingstock gets a very long rest, especially from this topic.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » March 27th, 2013, 8:57 am

cacasplat3 wrote:
Rallyfignis wrote:

they know exactly what happened, and they are to blame,

Do they know? Are they to blame? What are the facts?

Postby MG Man » March 27th, 2013, 9:33 am

Type Rated, that video was awesome!
*slits wrists for being poor and crappy at driving*

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 27th, 2013, 9:42 am

paparazzi wrote:
Rallyfignis wrote:

Toilet near race course + the sound of a WRC racing towards toilet = man doing their business REAL fass = model of efficiency.

lol thats another way to look at it :lol:

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 27th, 2013, 9:46 am

Rallyfignis wrote:

No! the only rally i've been too is the one in gran turismo.... :roll:

Return to “TTRC - Rally”