Will Higgins beat everyone in a group N car?

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

Penti

Will Higgins beat everyone in a group N car?

Postby Penti » March 11th, 2010, 9:10 am

Let's all continue to work together to make this event the best gravel rally in the Caribbean.

We have a huge amount of spectators coming in from overseas so this is our moment to shine. Plus we have a great line of entrants (both local and overseas).

Please let us all work together to make this successful.

Thanks

PS. who is going to win their respected classes and how Mark & Nicky will show the entire Caribbean the true potential of a Gp N car.

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » March 11th, 2010, 10:38 am

Penti...Flat... Fellas I doh like to loose a bet eh.. Dem fellers driving a group N car eh!!!!!

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » March 11th, 2010, 10:47 am

Type Rated wrote:PC

I think I kinda understand what you were tryin to say at the top....... I hope that we all take that into consideration.

Link... find a new forum plz

Penti...Flat... Fellas I doh like to loose a bet eh.. Dem fellers driving a group N car eh!!!!!

WAIT YOU IN THAT BET TOO!!!

if all ah dem was in group n.............. my money would be on one oot, for one reason only................ he like tuh drive with he bonnet up.

Type Rated

Postby Type Rated » March 11th, 2010, 10:49 am

As Peti said

Although he drivin a WRC and Flat drivin Group A

Mark Higgins is in the top 20 drivers in the world rite now... but he drivin a group N...
a very well prepped group N.... but still

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » March 11th, 2010, 12:11 pm

should be interesting to see, the thing is as Higgins is competiting I think it will push our boys to the limit, which then might end up in drivers pushing to hard and making mistakes, should be really interesting to see. I go be in the pits, organised a serious pit crew for one ah we local circuit boys turned rally driver (yes he finally listened to me)

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » March 11th, 2010, 12:13 pm

PEOPLE, PEOPLE, PEOPLE,

This is very simple....teacher vs student....(in student's car by the way)

Here's the thing Powell has been taught by Higgins - if Powell beats Higgins he doesn't need to go back to school - on the other hand if Higgins beats Powell with a Grp N car, then Higgins just made sure that Powell will be back for more lessons....

Quite simple when you think about it....so at the end of it - i say Higgins will put 15sec overall on the 1st WRC come the end of Sunday...

De Bench

Postby De Bench » March 11th, 2010, 1:21 pm

rcadiz wrote:Quite simple when you think about it....so at the end of it - i say Higgins will put 15sec overall on the 1st WRC come the end of Sunday...

I don't agree with any of this.

This is rallying, ANYTHING can happen, cow on stage, spectator in the wroing place, gas line run slack, bonnet fly open.

PLUS, if One Oot plotting the Preysal stage, it's a best guess for what's a left or right.

If One's and Team get the car together I am sure he will be bringing a STRONG fight to the stage.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2010, 2:12 pm

no discredit to our very talented local drivers - but what about Paul "Surfer" Bourne in his WRC Focus? Surely even Higgins will have a tough time in a Grp N car there!

just saying...

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » March 11th, 2010, 2:20 pm

This is my prediction

1. Powell
2. Bourne
3. Higgins
4. Lochan
5. Armstrong

I may have to eat my prediction with Dean doing well as he started very fast in the S9 but that's my call so far......i say Higgins going to put at least a minute on Lochan by the end of the south stages on Day 1..........

Postby tr1ad » March 11th, 2010, 2:23 pm

higgins
powell
armstrong
bourne

and then the rest

HondaHo de 1st

Postby HondaHo de 1st » March 11th, 2010, 3:02 pm

tr1ad wrote:higgins
powell
armstrong
bourne

and then the rest

YUH DAM LIE!!! CUZ YUH KNOW IF AH CHINEY DOLLY WAS RUNNING THAT WAS DE FIRST NAME YUH WAS CALLING!!!

MivecGuy

Postby MivecGuy » March 11th, 2010, 3:19 pm

Powell
Bourne
Higgins
Serrao
Armstrong
Lochan
Wee Wee

But really close battle between Higgins N / Serrao wrc and Armstrong A so anybody for 3rd - 5th

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » March 11th, 2010, 3:21 pm

powell
armstrong
bourne

and then the rest

Lochan eh make de cut boy????

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2010, 4:27 pm

rcadiz wrote:
powell
armstrong
bourne

and then the rest

Cadiz eh make de cut boy????

:?

De Bench

Postby De Bench » March 11th, 2010, 4:28 pm

rcadiz wrote:
powell
armstrong
bourne

and then the rest

One Oot eh make de cut boy????

Postby tr1ad » March 11th, 2010, 5:09 pm

De Bench wrote:
rcadiz wrote:
powell
armstrong
bourne

and then the rest

Allyuh stop quoting meh

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 11th, 2010, 5:18 pm

R. Cadiz "so at the end of it - i say Higgins will put 15sec overall on the 1st WRC come the end of....... each stage!

And then this...."on the other hand if Higgins beats Powell with a Grp N car, then Higgins just made sure that Powell will be back for more lessons...."
So we now realize when certain drivers go off for business, it is now revealed... what business!

But wait, and two other drivers just come back from "business" in Mexico?

So start to add more names in that list of predictions eh!

Anyway, this whole RT10 Event is just mushrooming to be one of the best in this part of the Caribbean and I am really glad that other Clubs and bodies are joining in as "Teams" to ensure total success.

Best wishes to all competitors.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2010, 5:42 pm

^ ditto!

Who taking bets?

RT10 - Overall
1. Bourne
2. Powell
3. Higgins
4. Lochan
5. Serrao
6. Armstrong
7. Wee Wee

DEVI

Postby DEVI » March 11th, 2010, 6:04 pm

i agree with kev, rallying is rallying...anything could happen...my money on Seego :lol:

Postby tr1ad » March 11th, 2010, 6:21 pm

well let's make some bets, who providing the odds

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 11th, 2010, 8:49 pm

DEVI wrote:i agree with kev, rallying is rallying...anything could happen...my money on Seego :lol:

yuh have a point - just look at last year results!

Postby tr1ad » March 11th, 2010, 9:31 pm

DEVI wrote:i agree with kev, rallying is rallying...anything could happen...my money on Seego :lol:

when corbeaux meet corbeaux

Mini

Postby Mini » March 12th, 2010, 7:06 am

yup... rallying is rallying.... and anything can happen...

the thing about the TTRC penalty structure is that on event day... you get the 140% of the slowest time in your group on just one stage and then you find yourself at least easily 30-45 seconds behind the leaders in your group...

that's plenty time to catch up....

Lochan knows the stages like the back of his hand, so does McKenzie and Penti. Bourne has been here before, and has proven that he can push the limits. Serrao has had some bad luck in Trinidad with the Grp N car, but he's always put down some competitive times. Higgins is well... Higgins... he doesn't need to know the stages... he has Nicky Grist next to him. A Group N car can be right on the pace with Grp A cars on our relatively short stages. On the longer stages (Bronte) he can probably push and be withing a couple seconds.

What I'm saying is that it's anybody's to take...

But having said that.. I'd always root the guys with the red, white and black on their cars... so Penti and Lochan would be my picks. One Oot is fearless and an aggressive driver... if he keeps it together (reliability wise)... he'll be up there too.

But allyuh ent start talking Group wins yet... I want to see if Rezan can hold off Wee Wee.... Fawaz and Bench have shown that their new cars can match the pace of Rezan... but have serious reliability issues... Donald keeping his foot down in the Starlet.... Ricky Bobby is half Trini by now....and well the Bajans... their cars are reliable and usually on the pace... time for another thread....
Last edited by Mini on March 12th, 2010, 9:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagon r » March 12th, 2010, 8:29 am

....jus wanna see the escort on a fast sweeper... :oops: :oops:

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » March 13th, 2010, 2:56 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ ditto!

Who taking bets?

RT10 - Overall
1. Bourne
2. Powell
3. Higgins
4. Lochan
5. Serrao
6. Armstrong
7. Wee Wee

I going with duane on this one fellas...i know higgins is a boss but john and bourne know these stages better and i think the WRC cars may be a bit too much for the group N car....i think the swift will be higher up than 7th tho...

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 13th, 2010, 7:25 am

Group A and Group N will be equalized by the local terrain...

My predictions here go with who can pace themselves.

Bourne has a reputation of overdriving early o'clock and literally beating himself.

Ainsley and Barry will be looking to prove they can beat the best, they know the course, and also may have a tendency to overdrive.

John is cool, patient and disciplined.

And I am asure Higgins will not want to make a fool of himself in the early stages, where he will be feeling out the car and the terrain, and the style of course markings. Which may not be what he is accustomed to. That being done he will turn up the boost and then the race will be on.

To finish first, you first have to finish!

Remember Seego back in the the Tex/Tec won his Class!

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » March 13th, 2010, 3:08 pm

AutoSport wrote:Group A and Group N will be equalized by the local terrain...

My predictions here go with who can pace themselves.

Bourne has a reputation of overdriving early o'clock and literally beating himself.

Ainsley and Barry will be looking to prove they can beat the best, they know the course, and also may have a tendency to overdrive.

John is cool, patient and disciplined.

And I am asure Higgins will not want to make a fool of himself in the early stages, where he will be feeling out the car and the terrain, and the style of course markings. Which may not be what he is accustomed to. That being done he will turn up the boost and then the race will be on.

To finish first, you first have to finish!

Remember Seego back in the the Tex/Tec won his Class!

Me thinks you may have mixed up the names

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » March 13th, 2010, 4:39 pm

I think bourne and powell can both be said to be cool, patient and disciplined....recall bourne has won Rally Trinidad on more than one occasion if i remember correctly...

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » March 13th, 2010, 6:59 pm

chris1388 wrote:I think bourne and powell can both be said to be cool, patient and disciplined....recall bourne has won Rally Trinidad on more than one occasion if i remember correctly...

Hope this do start a WAR now...haha
nah i have watched both drivers compete for a few big rallies and followed their battles up the islands. I think JP is definitely the more aggressive of the two. If he is on and things come together boom - you get to watch poetry in motion especially in the corners....on the other hand i have seen quite a few mistakes from JP as well. spins, stalls etc....he makes it back but sometimes as in 2008 it can really make the difference. As far as Bourne goes - i think Bourne is fast as hell especially with the new car. We saw this in the first 2010 Event in Bdos. Although Bourne isn't without his mistakes (RB08) when he rolled after the Canefield stage i think. The fact is both of them can definitely win - but i still maintain there is an animal living inside JP's right foot and when it starts to act up - watch out.

All the talk though - if you watch Serrao's times with Bourne's old S9, he go be a force to. As well as Serrao has raced in Trini quite a bit before. At the end of the day them cars FAST, and the drivers could all handle their stories. Its best if all of the WRC boys make it the whole rally as they will encourage eachother to drive hard from stage 1. I know one thing though there is only one winner in the Intimidation battle - will leave you guessing who that is.

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » March 14th, 2010, 1:16 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ ditto!

Who taking bets?

RT10 - Overall
1. Bourne
2. Powell
3. Higgins
4. Lochan
5. Serrao
6. Armstrong
7. Wee Wee

I'm with you there Duane. And a certain son of mine has already stated that Bourne is the best driver! Now know where he is going to be liming.
Hmm let me dust off my Paul bourne jersey yes!!

Return to “TTRC - Rally”