Some Escort RT09 Preparation Pics...

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 1:55 pm
by Positive Performance
We decided to share some pictures of our preparation for RT09... The pictures were taken on Monday in which the block was built and some new solid mounts were installed.

the parts...

Scotty washing the engine with some gasolina

Paul lubricating the cylinder walls

No 1 Piston going in...
ARP rod bolt grease...
Scott "torquing" it to spec...

Ahhh... finally pistons rods, crank and bearings are in...
Paul installing the oil pump...
Rear Main Engine Seal! The engine works alot better with this seal, Scotty knows the importance of this one....
Solid mounts that was imported from England
Block is finally complete...
When all else fails there is always Mr. Haynes to consult with...

today we will be mounting the head onto the block and putting it in the car...

Re: Some Escort RT09 Preparation Pics...

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 2:07 pm
by Mini
Positive Performance wrote:

is that an approved container for gasoline?

but these are great pics... many people don't appreciate the hundreds of manhours that goes into preparation before the event

good luck guys... see you at scrutineering tomorrow (I could done see allyuh not sleeping till Sunday after the rally)

Re: Some Escort RT09 Preparation Pics...

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 2:31 pm
by Positive Performance
is that an approved container for gasoline?

Thats Gatorade lol.... but on a serious note alot of spectators dont really know the time, effort and money that goes behind each rally car...

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 2:55 pm
by Scort
I slept in Januaury!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: ......tonight will be another late one..and then..break IN engine up and down the hwy on Thursday after scrutineering.!!!

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 5:43 pm
by poddy
Is that your welding under the car?

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 10:19 pm
by Reyos
Good luck setting up the car man...
I may not understand all that goes into building it...but rest assure that you have one fan that gets a thrill to see that car tearing up the stage.....My TnT flag is washed and ironed and ready to wave for all the TnT drivers this weekend.

ent

Posted: April 1st, 2009, 11:46 pm
by puta civic
Scort wrote:I slept in Januaury!!! :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: ......tonight will be another late one..and then..break IN engine up and down the hwy on Thursday after scrutineering.!!!

BUP!! BUP!!!! NOW THAT'S THE SPIRIT!!

Kamikaze we cyar stick!! :twisted:

Posted: April 2nd, 2009, 6:37 am
by tr1ad
could put gas tho

Posted: April 3rd, 2009, 12:51 am
by Duane 3NE 2NR
brilliant post!

Posted: April 3rd, 2009, 7:32 am
by horsepwrjunki
^^ fuh real.. duane u should link a front page to this thread to get the gen public an appreciation to what goes in to a race car.. scort,pos per. keep them pic commin..

Posted: April 3rd, 2009, 8:43 pm
by saltydog
love the sterile engine building room, escort style. old iron

Posted: April 3rd, 2009, 8:55 pm
by poddy
Ford Power

Posted: April 4th, 2009, 9:59 pm
by Dragist
Makes me Smile , remembering my days tearing apart my Cortina engine .

Posted: April 6th, 2009, 8:14 pm
by horsepwrjunki
OH DEAR GUYS!.. sorry botu the out.. how bout soem gruesome pics?.. it was sadd to see it on the wrecker liek that