2WD Rally Car wins VK Super Special

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

rcadiz

2WD Rally Car wins VK Super Special

Postby rcadiz » November 12th, 2007, 10:17 am

Firstly, Hats off to the boys who made yesterday possible. Given all the obvious problems of a busted water main on the track the Saturday night, as well as heavy rains all day, i think they managed to pull off a great event. It was an excellent showcase for all the disciplines and i think the spectators definitely got more than there money's worth.

But the real story has to be the triumph of a 2WD Rally Car winning the entire event among many of the top cars and drivers from Circuit, Solodex, 4WD Rally (Ainsley, One OOt, Bench we missed yuh...JP nice fun run). Although i am beginning to hate hearing the words...."And the winner is Darrel Ramesar. i have to say well done. You and the Evo woke up the stadium with the loudest Anti-lag of the event and managed to pull off the overall win.

I would have liked to see Mr. Consistent there giving it some gas but hopefully next time. Sio/Roger allyuh could have brought the cars for some noise in the Stadium. That anti-lag was echoing the whole place.

Shelford the car lookin sweet man, can't wait to see it run next year. James, the VK boys missing some cones, check under your wheel wells, i think there are a few still up there. Just kidding man, nice show yesterday...

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 12th, 2007, 10:23 am

well done Darell !!!!

sio

Postby sio » November 12th, 2007, 10:37 am

CONGRATS Darrel Ramesar well done.
Sorry could not make it heard it went well. Congrats to VK
Hope there are more events to come

Postby Ignorant Ignis » November 12th, 2007, 11:19 am

Congrats Darrel at a well deserved win .......

i feel is because his navi was a solodex man :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :pokes:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 12th, 2007, 11:23 am

Congrats to darrel on winning the shootout, but do you know how this worked? not to steal your thunder but the reason you won was your first 2 times were not very good and your shootout time was better. your final shootout time was 167.3 which was substantially better that your previous 2 runs. Peter Morris did a 163.7 and I did a 160.2. Now they designed this for the slower cars to win by doing a Pax system. my top time of the day was 159.1

we would like to see the rally drivers come and practise their skills at solodex as I think there is something to offer in terms of car control. Any which way we had a good time and it was nice to race against the big boys and come out on top.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 12th, 2007, 11:30 am

yes Ryan, we understand your post, but we will like to see some of the Solodex folks step up to rallying and experience the speed & challenges of a stage rally.

but it is very unlikely you will get much of the rally cars coming to DEX events .

Last time I brought my car I was told not to bring it back as the noise was scaring the horses, children and your spectators.

when you get a venue where we can run ou race cars freely maybe you'll see much more TTRC entries

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » November 12th, 2007, 11:43 am

well done is good to know that 2wd rally boys rule things!!!!!

Mini

Postby Mini » November 12th, 2007, 11:44 am

saltydog wrote:Congrats to darrel on winning the shootout, but do you know how this worked? not to steal your thunder but the reason you won was your first 2 times were not very good and your shootout time was better. your final shootout time was 167.3 which was substantially better that your previous 2 runs. Peter Morris did a 163.7 and I did a 160.2. Now they designed this for the slower cars to win by doing a Pax system. my top time of the day was 159.1

we would like to see the rally drivers come and practise their skills at solodex as I think there is something to offer in terms of car control. Any which way we had a good time and it was nice to race against the big boys and come out on top.

which was also the fastest time of the day not so? congrats on that... (i still wanna know how you got the car to rotate so easy!!!)

but as bench said... the cars run with antilag which has been problematic in the past. There needs to be some way to work around this.

BTW... IMHO.. the dexers didn't come to race with the 'big boys' as you said... you're all 'big boys' (and girls) in each of the respective disciplines.

Kamikaze

Postby Kamikaze » November 12th, 2007, 11:45 am

congrats to VK , hope the nex event has a little gravel :)

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » November 12th, 2007, 12:30 pm

well bench I would love to compete in rally, like I said to John Powell if I get the financial Backing I would compete,( anyone want to sponsor a subaru) I know that gravel and tarmac are very different and require different skills. As such in rally I would expect to be back of the class.
The reason for suggesting the tarmac experiance for you guys was just because of rally barbados etc where you are on tarmac.

at the end of the day I had a good time win lose or draw I would do it again.

BTW i come to rally to spectate and i think you guys are off the hook.

Yorkshirelass
CARS Member

Postby Yorkshirelass » November 12th, 2007, 12:31 pm

^^^^^
sorry posted under karen's log in

Ryan

Postby MG Man » November 12th, 2007, 1:09 pm

De Bench wrote:^^^

yes Ryan, we understand your post, but we will like to see some of the Solodex folks step up to rallying and experience the speed & challenges of a stage rally.

the biggest challenge there is financing
Most solodexers use their everyday drivers to compete, and many struggle to afford a second set of tyres for the season. It is true the noisy rally cars would cause problems for the horses, but I am sure the rally boys have other cars at their disposal.....remember, dex is all bout the driver, not the car....same for the 1320 fellas

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 12th, 2007, 1:20 pm

[quote="Yorkshirelass"]well bench I would love to compete in rally, like I said to John Powell if I get the financial Backing I would compete,( anyone want to sponsor a subaru) I know that gravel and tarmac are very different and require different skills. As such in rally I would expect to be back of the class.
The reason for suggesting the tarmac experiance for you guys was just because of rally barbados etc where you are on tarmac.

at the end of the day I had a good time win lose or draw I would do it again.

BTW i come to rally to spectate and i think you guys are off the hook.[/quote]

to enter rallying is not as hard as you think.

all you need is a decent cage and the relevant saftey, if you're running 4wd the appropiate restrictor for the class, 32mm for groupN & 34 mm for group A

and you're running.

Colin Knah ran his suby on stock hocks for a full season so suspension is not a big issue,

tyres, you can get pretty good used tyres from the top teams for a very decent price, TTD400.00 a tyre.

or you can buy one of the full built car that are for sale.

mt car was for sale fo under TTD60K.
when you cost out the gear I have in that car you will see that the price is a virtual giveaway, Dual progressive springs, WRC spec shocks, programmable ecu, injectors, tyres, rims, brakes, cage, carbon fiber seats, hydraulic hand brake, full seam welding, clutch system, exhaust system etc.....
oh, not to mention the mass of spares.

but the car is not for sale any more.

Colin sold his suby for about TTD60K and it was ready to race.

I also understand you line of thought for the Rally drivers to be in Dex, but there are certain things about DEx that will cost a rally driver to crash due to the diffrence in the disciplines.

you see around you corners which affords you the ability to choose your line.

often we take blind corners at twice your speed with the possibility of meeting a rock or a stalled car around the corner, these are some of the things that make rallying so diffrent.

Ryan, get a co-driver gig for an event and you will understand the vast diffrence be it Tarmac or loose.

with that being said, respect due to yo and your club for the drives you put down.

i could never do that, The cones are a biatch

Postby MG Man » November 12th, 2007, 2:58 pm

that's the thing Bench, to prep a car for stages would compromise it as a street car. A full cage is a hazard in a passenger car, due to potential head injuries, thus rendering your daily driver almost useless for that purpose. Added to that the cost of a proper cage is the cost of a proper helmet (s), harnesses, intercom, nomex, fire suppression equipment, just to name a few.......60k for a prepped car is a steal, I agree, but you asking the average joe-dexer to fork out 60k for an additional car.....not to mention the financial effect of pranging your car........crossing over to stages or circuit (The proper way) is not nearly as simple (or cheap) as you guys make it out to be.....as for rallydrivers risk of crashing at dex, I doubt Rawle Mahabir, Peter Morris, John Powell, Brian Bachoo, James Harris among others felt at risk when they competed at Solodex.......if nothing else, rally drivers are supposed to be the best at adapting to new situations, not so? Vaucluse and the Race of Champions come to mind.....

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » November 12th, 2007, 3:18 pm

Arm.....Sorry but I thought this Thread was to congratulate Darrel nah....

Sorry..I"ll go post somewhere else :lol: :lol:

Darrel yuh get orn yesterday!!...

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 12th, 2007, 3:19 pm

MG Man wrote:that's the thing Bench, to prep a car for stages would compromise it as a street car. A full cage is a hazard in a passenger car, due to potential head injuries, thus rendering your daily driver almost useless for that purpose. Added to that the cost of a proper cage is the cost of a proper helmet (s), harnesses, intercom, nomex, fire suppression equipment, just to name a few.......60k for a prepped car is a steal, I agree, but you asking the average joe-dexer to fork out 60k for an additional car.....not to mention the financial effect of pranging your car........crossing over to stages or circuit (The proper way) is not nearly as simple (or cheap) as you guys make it out to be.....as for rallydrivers risk of crashing at dex, I doubt Rawle Mahabir, Peter Morris, John Powell, Brian Bachoo, James Harris among others felt at risk when they competed at Solodex.......if nothing else, rally drivers are supposed to be the best at adapting to new situations, not so? Vaucluse and the Race of Champions come to mind.....
I hear you, but there are a lot of big $$$ Dex car as well as there is some heavy $$$ being spent on some of the cras...

rally driver can adapt yes, but we're not the best.

i'v run at dex in chag twice, actually in the car Ryan now owns, that was my car PBO2755 and PAU2755 were suppose to the the odd twins, it was aaite, nice hair pins decent power slide areas, but all in all I don't like cones.

i rather be on a stage taking my chances on blind drest that can make you roll seven times, wait, was that a dejavu kinda thing ???

but all kicks aside, I am a rally guy but that'snot to say i will not run in the next time trial.

hpefully they will se some other sort of obstacles other than cones, i just have a cone phobia

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » November 12th, 2007, 5:15 pm

Thanks Zando....was going to say something myself....The post was kinda started to big up we boy from TTRC....ah well, no worries....it's a blog i guess.

Postby wagonrunner » November 12th, 2007, 9:38 pm

rally men.........good showing, all competitors.............good showing. 8)

I hope the bigups are as resounding when the individual times are shown. 0X

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 12th, 2007, 9:56 pm

[quote="wagonrunner"]I hope the bigups are as resounding when the individual times are shown. 0X[/quote]

and the point of this statement is.................................................

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 12th, 2007, 10:09 pm

The point is would you like a man who was 22 seconds slower than you to beat you in your sport? I think not. Whatever the results I quite frankly doh care I happy and had a good time. If the facts are the man was called the winner then CONGRATS TO THE WINNER Done talk.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » November 12th, 2007, 10:32 pm

[quote="saltydog"]^^
The point is would you like a man who was 22 seconds slower than you to beat you in your sport? I think not. Whatever the results I quite frankly doh care I happy and had a good time. If the facts are the man was called the winner then CONGRATS TO THE WINNER Done talk.[/quote]

I have been rallying for 11 years now, in the 90's this very same factoring system was what we used to rally with.

So just like you, before we entered an event we knew what we was up against.

So wether or not you like it you paid and agreed to run with it.

My point is very simple, de man win, say congrats and move on, if yuh against his win or feel some injustice was done to you I say doh comment here, write the organisers/officals a formal complaint. :(

All this will do is create a rift and that's the last thing we want.

yuh agree ? :shock:

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 12th, 2007, 10:45 pm

I feel none of the above. as posted in the begining CONGRATS ON THE WIN.

Postby wagonrunner » November 12th, 2007, 10:56 pm

Congrats on d win, 0X
enjoy it.

GT four

Postby GT four » November 12th, 2007, 11:33 pm

men like they getting hot here thanks for the support guys

all i have to say it was my first time driving at this type of event and imagine i cut almost 20 seconds from one run to the other imagine if there was anothe 2 runs I would have beaten experienced 4 WD cars then i wonder what this trend would be about (2WD rally car beats 4WD Dex cars) I think I could have dropped another 5 or 6 seconds if i had proper tyres then i would be posting times like the top 4WD cars I think that is a remarkable thing for a two wheel car to even come close to any turbo charged 4WD cars

THe event was great but we were not at all prepared for something like that we were running bamboo tyres and on gravel suspension.I respect what the dexers do but i dont think its for me

Looking foward to the next one

poddy

Postby poddy » November 13th, 2007, 5:21 am

look like GT goin to need a new HELMET too

partycrasher

Postby partycrasher » November 13th, 2007, 6:16 am

A TTRC RALLY CAR WINNING THE VK SUPER SPECIAL IS A TOTAL SHAME.ALL OTHER FACTION AND BODIES OF MOTOR SPORT IN TRINIDAD WAS MENTIONED OR RECOGNIZED BY THIS V.K. PROMOTION DURING THEIR ADVERTISING LEADING UP TO THIS EVENT EXCEPT TTRC.THEY WEREN'T EVEN OFFICIALY INVITED LIKE OTHERS.HOWEVER AND TO ENEN NOTE THAT VK COMPRISES OF TWO PRESENT TTRC STAGES DRIVERS AND EVEN AN EX PRESIDENT OF TTRC WHO DOES RESIGN AND RESIGN!MAYBE HE SHOULD OF SHOWN THE SAME DEDICATION WHEN ON TTRC EXECUTIVE SO HE HE WON'T HAVE TO RESIGN ALL THE TIME.BUT I UNDERSTAND HE BITTER WITH TTRC SO HE PULL A BIG ONE AND LEABE THEM OUT.

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » November 13th, 2007, 6:25 am

Party Crasher..yuh eh Easy!...

and Early in the morning....like yuh sleep on dat or wuh!??

Mini

Postby Mini » November 13th, 2007, 6:29 am

Zandolie wrote:Arm.....Sorry but I thought this Thread was to congratulate Darrel nah....

GT four

Postby GT four » November 13th, 2007, 9:55 am

boy fellas eh easy this morning

flat 100

Postby flat 100 » November 13th, 2007, 10:17 am

CONGRATS DARREL. Job well done, keep it up, and you might want to consider Bim next year, you will be surprise on how well you could do.

Return to “TTRC - Rally”