INFO: Pacenotes Jargon

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: sio, rcadiz, 3ne2nr Mods

Zandolie

INFO: Pacenotes Jargon

Postby Zandolie » January 24th, 2007, 9:48 am

If you are reading this thread more than likely you have watched some form of in car rally footage and heard the Co-Driver calling notes like an Uzi in a Drive By Shooting........and like me......some time ago....wandered what it all meant?

For Example, you hear:

"100 Right 6 over crest into Left 4 tightens"

What the Co-Driver has Actually Written:

100 R 6/C --> L4 >

Another Example of Pace Notes:

"50 into Medium 4 Right don't cut don't drift (Ainsley!!)long"

50 -->MED 4R NO CUT NO DRI LONG

Another Example:

"25 Absolute Left into Medium 3 Left Caution Dip"

25 ABS L --> MED 3 L CAUTION DIP (which is a jump for the One OOT!!!!)

In all these examples there is no RIGHT or WRONG.....its all about communication and driver's style (Although all drivers believe that there system of notes is the only sensible scheme and cannot understand how other drivers can use anything different).

Now the Jargon...

BASIC STUFF:

50 / 25 / 100 - Distance In Meters

INTO - No Straight between Corners

AND - Short Straight

BRIDGE - BRIDGE

CREST - CREST

CAUTION - Watch It!

DOUBLE CAUTION - Watch yuh Arse!

JUMP - Jump

YUMP - BIG Jump

NO DRIFT - Try your best not to drift cause I don't like the way that Lampost watchin us since the last stage

Basic Stuff aint it?
Some drivers/co-drivers make up their own notes which can make the difference between teams.

While making pace notes for a Cedar Rally myself and the Driver conjugated a note called "HOLD IT"....which simply meant...Hold the steering angle don't twitch the steering....
As you can see...it wasn't a bad result note the wheel angle:

Now on to the Technical Stuff:

Corner Severity and Scheme are quite often the most audible, visual and striking differences between Co-Drivers Pace Notes and Drivers Styles

There are several ways to "call" corner severities;

EASY
FAST
MEDIUM
K <- Never quite understood this one...One Oot can explain more
ACUTE
HAIRPIN

Then there are the Modifiers;

2,3,4 - Desired Gear Selection
Opens
Tightens
No Cut
No Drift

Another very popular style of Pacenoting Corner severity is by using Bend Angles

The number is approximately equal to the bend angle in degrees. (e.g. a "5" is 50°, a "9" is 90°)

The number is approximately equal to the appropriate gear for each corner (as explained previously) also Notice the 7th GEAR...this is no joke.

Some of the terms can vary slightly...also used by the One Oot and KooleeMakinen

And of Course there are times when...well....Notes just dissipate like dust:

Hope this helps
Zandolie....
Last edited by Zandolie on January 26th, 2007, 8:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » January 24th, 2007, 11:22 am

:lol: :lol: so wher eis the right into left CAUTON WAGONR!!

Postby wagon r » January 24th, 2007, 11:22 am

.....lovely thread pallie, was watching the monte highlights on espn last night and i always try to see if i could tell whats coming by listening to the notes......

...but the best pace note of all...

..."ABS L Opens >100 >FAST R >JUMP >CAUTION 3NE2NR Phototakeouters ..."

..... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

sio

Postby sio » January 24th, 2007, 8:06 pm

Great post, It will help a lot of people understand what is going in a rally car when looking at it on espn. Or if they are lucky enough to get a fun run with notes in the TTRC.

Shaquon

Postby Shaquon » January 24th, 2007, 8:51 pm

thanx man... that was some great info

boosted

Postby boosted » January 24th, 2007, 9:14 pm

yep good post zandolie

subawoo

Postby subawoo » January 25th, 2007, 2:34 pm

"25 Absolute Left into Medium 3 Left Caution Dip"

25 ABS L --> MED 3 R CAUTION DIP (which is a jump for the One OOT!!!!)

This one could get you in trouble. Co-Driver see R and call Left.

Sidewayz Motorsport

Postby Sidewayz Motorsport » January 29th, 2007, 10:13 am

Simon Ashton

Keep notes after the events to refer back to when you return to the same stages.

Prepare the best paperwork you can but try to keep it simple enough for everyone to understand.

Andrew Bargery

I’ve tried to include as many co-driving tips as possible on my website – www.andrewbargey.com

The most important thing is to get as much experience as possible – and it’s quicker if you learn from other people’s experiences as well as your own.

Daniel Barritt

Always be willing to learn and take advice.

Don Barrow

Get as many events under your belt as possible; there’s no substitute for experience.

Phil Clarke

Prepare and concentrate.

John Connor

Enjoy it. Rallying will not be here for ever.

Neil Dashfield

Expose yourself to as many events and drivers as you can, listen to everyone's advice, keep the good stuff and disregard the bulls**t. Read the regs and bluebook. Check, Check, then Check again to avoid mistakes.

Keep doing events. There is no substitute for experience

Sidewayz Motorsport

Postby Sidewayz Motorsport » January 29th, 2007, 10:14 am

Christian Edstrom

Compete as often as possible. Study the rules and keep your wits about you. Learn to do notes in multiple languages as it will increase the pool of drivers you are able to run with.

Contest more events and work on fitness.

Nicky Grist

Get out competing on as many events as possible, especially abroad. Experience is what it is all about.

Jakke Honkanen

Do rallies with different drivers, you will learn something from every driver.

Bryan Hull

Enjoy it, don't take life too seriously, get in a rally car as often as you can and marshal events to put something back into the sport, as without Marshals we can't compete.

Do many events. Time in the car is as important for a co-driver as it is for a driver.

Clive Jenkins

Start competing as young as you can, compete on as many events as you can, get out on WRC events as soon you can, work hard, prepare thoroughly, be totally committed, sit with lots of drivers & do the lottery.

Dave Kean

Get as much seat time with as many drivers as you can. You will learn something from every one of them.

Rory Kennedy

Be mentally sharp and physically fit – be well switched on! Be able to adapt and cope with difficult situations.

Competing against better opposition on varied events, invariably raises your own game.

Sidewayz Motorsport

Postby Sidewayz Motorsport » January 29th, 2007, 10:15 am

Kaj Lindstrom

Compete as much as you can. ASK if you are not sure what to do. Try to improve your work (notes, preparing to event, etc.) all the time.

Phil Mills

Get as much experience abroad as possible.

Get lot’s of sleep and be fit!

Clair Mole

Keep your head out the clouds and your feet on the ground.

Michael Park

Never think that you know everything. Be fitter and more committed, than the next guy.

Gemma Price

Never give up, no matter what, and no matter how far away your goal is, keep aiming for it! Just do your job right! Keep fit and keep learning.

Phil Pugh

Get fit, motivated, ambitious, and always keep your hunger for the sport.

Robert Reid

Try to speak to as many experienced people as you can and listen to their advice. Then make your own judgment.

Nathalie Richard

Other than maybe seat time, nothing takes the place of planning and organization.

Bob Rose

Do as many rallies as you can with as many different drivers as is possible. Don't be afraid to sit next to someone completely different, as we co-drivers are like sponges - there are always different things to absorb and learn.

David Senior

Do as many events as funds will allow and sit with as many different drivers as possible.
The one big tip is: - PREPARATION.

Neil Shanks

Always read all pre-event information thoroughly, and go to each event as well prepared as you can be. Don’t be afraid to ask advice from those with more experience and continue to pick up tips from those around you. We are learning all the time – every day is a school day.

Craig Thorley

Compete regularly and don’t stop asking questions.

Postby Maserati » February 13th, 2007, 7:06 pm

great read,help me understand what the co drivers are sayin a lil bit more

Ï

Postby Ï » February 14th, 2007, 11:38 pm

orrrrr so now i understand!!!!! nice 1...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 23rd, 2007, 11:44 pm

so what 'open hairpin' means? never understand that one......

Zandolie

Postby Zandolie » September 24th, 2007, 1:24 am

Hairpin is an acute angled corner...'Open' for some drivers...means there is room to 'drift'.....or correct....so your corner entry speed can possibly be greater i.e. late brake...scandi (ploi ploi) and turn.

However the principle remains the same....its not how fast your enter...but rather how fast you exit :D

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » September 24th, 2007, 12:13 pm

^^^^^cool thanks......noticed the scandi being used by a lot of the drivers on the same 90* that ainsley almost flipped, could still remember powell turning one direction but his foot soo hard on the brakes cuz of entry speed the car still going straight :lol:

playing Colin McRae's(RIP) game and i cyah figure out half of what the the navigator saying so i driving like circuit....how it come is how i taking it........ :mrgreen:
Zandolie, ent dias wah ainsley does do?????? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

puta civic
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby puta civic » November 28th, 2007, 8:54 am

Real bess thread dey Zandolie....

Firewall

Postby Firewall » July 11th, 2009, 8:48 pm

horsepwrjunki, so that's what you was doing today!

i wouldn't lie nah, when you say that i was like WUT??? :oops:

puta civic
2NR MILF Hunter

Re: INFO: Pacenotes Jargon

Postby puta civic » January 16th, 2011, 10:40 pm

Salt n Fresh..
Almost 4th year anniversary of posting and still my favourite thread!!
but ah want to hear yuh pace notes on the 16th April.. :drinking:

Return to “TTRC - Rally”