Chaguanas SSS running on 30th August, Fire works for so....

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » April 17th, 2009, 4:20 pm

or devi you could put this in the evo

http://www.customcages.co.uk/Rollcage/L ... 2004%20Int

we go weld it by de muffler shop

Postby SR » April 19th, 2009, 7:17 am

tr1ad wrote:all ah we is one famahleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

aparantly not

why exclude experience dex drivers from this event

course speeds probably will be just as fast as a regualr dex event

as well as in the vk event there was a filtering process so that no in experince drivers would be on the course

however
once again with very little motorsport activity in this country people choose to alienate other bodies

dex is open to anyone and any car

but how many circuit and rally drivers attend or compete

is it pride? or somthing else

sio

Postby sio » April 19th, 2009, 11:39 am

SR, boss have you been reading this topic????

Go back to the top before you post anything else. ALL YOUR ANSWERS ARE THERE.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » April 19th, 2009, 2:13 pm

SR are you serious?

"however
once again with very little motorsport activity in this country people choose to alienate other bodies

dex is open to anyone and any car

but how many circuit and rally drivers attend or compete

is it pride? or somthing else"

Alienating other bodies - are you kidding me?
There is always rally interest in Dex - many rally cars have competed including myself. But let's get a few things straight - gravel set up, gravel tires, anti-lag, race fuel, gearbox issues with driving to ARC and back. Come on man look at the facts before you come on this forum and talk a pile. Doing a dex event is not a simple thing for a Rally car - we come we compete from time to time when it can happen based on my points above. Nothing about pride and all that crap that people love to bring up. Please people actually compete for things other than pride and how they look in a trinituner picture. Maybe it may actually clue in to you that people compete because they love it. Get off the damn point about pride etc. Before you look at VK and the Chaguanas Rally stages as progress for motorsport - NO it ends up turning into a who beats who and who motorsport discipline has the best drivers. Please next thing we gonna here from you is that because a go-kart travels the same distance faster than a motor-cross bike it means that the karting drivers are better and the TORMATT guys have bruised egos.

The Chaguanas stage was a competitive leg for rally cars in Rally Trinidad. Dex cars, Go Karts, Circuit cars could not compete for that reason - IT WAS A RALLY. If you know anything about anything about Motorsport maybe you would understand and actually give some words of encouragement or constructive criticism.

I eh know what to do again - it really pisses me off that people continue to think that because they can't come and enter a rally event because of car and safety preparation that the TTRC is (and i quote) alienating other disciplines. And that dex is a club that allows everyone and blah blah blah. This is unfortunately the view of a few narrow minded individuals and not the view of the majority of CARS, AUTOSPORT, TORMATT, TTKA, and dare i say TTASA and also people who care about moving motorsport forward.

I going to enjoy the rest of my Sunday...............................................

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 19th, 2009, 3:00 pm

to be very honest ... i have to agree with sio and cadiz.

there is no way i would push my car on the chaguanas stage or advise anyone to do so with out the proper safety requirements mandated by the TTRC. As most of you noticed i drove quit slow for RT09
why you ask ?
1)the chaguanas stage has far greater dangers than any solodex course and the VK event.
and it's not about who is a better driver ...cause we all know sheit happens and when it does ... i would prefer to be inside a roll cages. cause incase none of you saw it....it's filled with big open drians, high pavements, fences, walls, potholes & spectators.

:| :| :|

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 19th, 2009, 6:53 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:to be very honest ... i have to agree with sio and cadiz.
there is no way i would push my car on the chaguanas stage or advise anyone to do so with out the proper safety requirements mandated by the TTRC. As most of you noticed i drove quit slow for RT09
why you ask ?
1)the chaguanas stage has far greater dangers than any solodex course and the VK event.
and it's not about who is a better driver ...cause we all know sheit happens and when it does ... i would prefer to be inside a roll cages. cause incase none of you saw it....it's filled with big open drians, high pavements, fences, walls, potholes & spectators.
:| :| :|

Please bear that is is being said by a Experienced Sole Dex competitor.
I do hops all the folks who want to enter in the next Chaguans SSS get thier cars up to the proper saftey standard prior the event.

We invite you all to come and compete safely.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 19th, 2009, 7:33 pm

Can full race circuit cars compete??

Im trying to convince someone to bring out his full race EVO which he has covered up in his garage collecting dust. It cost 1M plus but it just park up.

Please say yes because I soooo want to see it run.

BTW, with regards to the roll cage issue, I dont have a problem with it being a requirement. Its ok to not need one for Dex, but if you intend to move up to a different level, you have to be prepared to make the necessary changes to your equipment. Its a part of the sport thats all. It cant be avoided, and I dont think the TTRC made the roll cage issue mandatory to exclude anyone, im sure its a safety issue.

Ive been wanting to put a roll cage in my car since i bought it, only because i dont feel too safe in it, its a little matchbox, very flimsy.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 19th, 2009, 7:57 pm

Was just coming to post, guess I'll post in here cos TTRC people should be reading....the tires used @ the Chaguanas Stage have not been removed as yet...When would this be done?

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 19th, 2009, 8:08 pm

djaggs wrote:Can full race circuit cars compete??
Im trying to convince someone to bring out his full race EVO which he has covered up in his garage collecting dust. It cost 1M plus but it just park up.Please say yes because I soooo want to see it run.

I don't decide who gets to compete, you need to contact the correct people at TTRC, Cadiz, Sio etc....

What i can tell you is if TTRc is having the event the EVo will need a Restrictor on the inlet of the turbo.In this case that car may be closer to a Grp A spec car, so it will need a 34mm restrictor.

this will alkso apply to all the other AWD/4WD car that wish to compete.

It is MANDATORY that these cars be fitted with restrictors as this is a means of keeping the power levels down so speeds are kept down and therefore a better saftey factor.

In the olden days of Grp B rally cars many drivers and spectators was killed due to to much power.

2WD car don't require a restrictor.

miz06

Postby miz06 » April 19th, 2009, 8:31 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:Was just coming to post, guess I'll post in here cos TTRC people should be reading....the tires used @ the Chaguanas Stage have not been removed as yet...When would this be done?

Thank you .. they should be removed this week ...

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 19th, 2009, 8:34 pm

rcadiz

Come on the gravel

Postby rcadiz » April 19th, 2009, 9:41 pm

Circuit cars and rally cars

Folks the TTRC is in a very forutnate position as opposed to other motor-sporting disciplines. Rally Trinidad was a great success last year and this year in terms of participation and publicity. Moving forward it looks like with the absence of a proper circuit track at least for the forseeable future (hopefully not too long) racers will have to seek alternative forms of competition. There are obvious similarities between rally cars and circuit cars in terms of safety preparation. Ansel Ali's car was originally prepped for circuit and made the conversion through suspension upgrades and modifications to the cage. He also put in another seat. Junior Phillips in the Lancer also made the necessary changes (cage, suspension, seat, etc). The TTRC does not want to come accross as the cocky motorsport hogging all the attention and shutting out other clubs. THAT IS NOT OUR INTENTION. However while we are enjoying a favourable position it is crucial that we try to build a sport properly by having cars and competitors who are well prepared. The sport can quickly get very dangerous if we are not careful. Who knows what the outcome would have been if Bench, Ainsley, Scott, Rezan, James Harris, etc. did not have the necessary safety in place. The fact is all their respective incidents are barely remembered now as they were simply 'cosmetic' in their end result.

We would love and openly encourage all circuit racers who have cars parked up and are getting restless. Accept the situation as unfortunate as it may be and weigh your options. The TTRC will provide any assitance required in helping you to decide what the requirements for getting you on the gravel. Guyana, Barbados are the viable Circuit events that Trinis can compete in but these are expensive in terms of travel and does not a full year of racing. Putting your car onto the gravel has its own challenges and expenses but may be the best option in the end . This as opposed to looking at your circuit car under the garage everyday.

The TTRC realises that street specials offers us enourmous potnetial with spectators and sponsors but we cannot allow anyone and everyone to compete just like that. The street special is one small part of an event which is part of the championship season. We had numerous formal requests to compete in that leg alone and our response was you must compete in the rest of the weekend on the gravel. Reaching the street special was almost an achievement in itself and not just a free for all for burning tires and doing donuts.

Summing it up, i think that the TTRC provides an excellent avenue for racing and if circuit guys and others serious about racing - we roll out the red carpet. Come do one event and see for yourself. Give yourself a new challenge and who knows you may be hooked like many of us were the first time we came around a corner sideways in the dirt.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » April 19th, 2009, 10:39 pm

Re the tyres not yet removed, I take full responsibility for this outstanding matter.

I have been pursing the removal of the tyres from immediately after the event, and was advised that some were removed and the others would have already been removed.

I will personally see that this is done early this week.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 19th, 2009, 11:04 pm

Thank God for roll cages.....

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/oFeVzv6qUfw&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Postby SR » April 19th, 2009, 11:13 pm

sigh

unlike others who may be looking for a fight or other gains

my point was missed

yes i have read the entire thread

so allyuh could go ahead and beat the bobolee

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 19th, 2009, 11:20 pm

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

We try to talk straight.

What is your point ?

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » April 20th, 2009, 3:05 pm

idont think any thign short of thee specs jerome listed early on should be alowed.. not knockinany one group but i dont think u could compare saith park ss to arc bycc.. not interms of speed an obsticals.. i agree with karl that vk may have proved a stp up for solodex but.. ive seem here ppl who have rolled there cars already tellign u that it is a bad idea.. that is soemthign in it self. i dont race but ive been in many cars with full cages adn on teh street they arenot as comfortable as ppl think.. soemthign as simple as on the rd those who drive with thier hands ont he door is a bigg no no.. etc etc.. but again .. the kind of ppl who tellin u not to should be enough.. u talkin bout bench ( long list ent jerome)..autosports( many stories all over the caribean to atest).. sio an robbie.. igns who has driven his daily not so stock driver on the stages.. all are experienced drivers.. and while i know SR has a point in there. shazad u should jsut come out an say it..

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 20th, 2009, 7:40 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:idont think any thign short of thee specs jerome listed early on should be alowed.. not knockinany one group but i dont think u could compare saith park ss to arc bycc.. not interms of speed an obsticals.. i agree with karl that vk may have proved a stp up for solodex but.. ive seem here ppl who have rolled there cars already tellign u that it is a bad idea.. that is soemthign in it self. i dont race but ive been in many cars with full cages adn on teh street they arenot as comfortable as ppl think.. soemthign as simple as on the rd those who drive with thier hands ont he door is a bigg no no.. etc etc.. but again .. the kind of ppl who tellin u not to should be enough.. u talkin bout bench ( long list ent jerome)..autosports( many stories all over the caribean to atest).. sio an robbie.. igns who has driven his daily not so stock driver on the stages.. all are experienced drivers.. and while i know SR has a point in there. shazad u should jsut come out an say it..

Adri, form what I could translate from your statement it seems that you agree with TTRC guidelines for entry, but if you could type it in English we would all understand it better :wink: :lol:

Scort

Postby Scort » April 20th, 2009, 9:13 pm

bench maybe he can call Justin for some assistance in translating that to proper English :) :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 21st, 2009, 12:21 am

this didnt happen on the tarmac, but rallying is rallying regardless of the surface and safety should always be paramount - luckily Lochan and Dumas had everything proper, they just flipped the car back over and kept rallying!

Marshals and safety equipment at hand also play an important role too!

yes I used this as a free plug to show some pics! :lol:
but the point is still valid!

fiveforward

Postby fiveforward » April 21st, 2009, 4:40 am

"The TTRC does not want to come accross as the cocky motorsport hogging all the attention and shutting out other clubs. THAT IS NOT OUR INTENTION. "

^^^ Not intentionally but yes it is! Sigh.....no wonder i don't like rally; the cockiness and head in the sky attitude is astoundingly obnoxious.

"Summing it up, i think that the TTRC provides an excellent avenue for racing and if circuit guys and others serious about racing - we roll out the red carpet. Come do one event and see for yourself. Give yourself a new challenge and who knows you may be hooked like many of us were the first time we came around a corner sideways in the dirt."

^^^ this statement bothers me deeply and proves my point. You r saying that in order to get serious about racing i should convert my drag car into a rally car to give myself a new challenge....BS.

Safety is an issue that can be addressed by course layout, mandates, assistance and a proper understanding of what is required by drivers and their vehicles. Rally drivers have this ridiculous air of driving superiority about them that is rather sickening and it's odd that nobody else talks about that. I agree that in RT09 the chaguanas stage was part of a bigger even, so accomodating a time attack/ street circuit there would have been inappropriate BUT......

don't tell me that a street circuit can't happen because of safety and driver experience since you CAN change stuff to suit varying degrees of driver competence if you WANT to. Tell me rally clud doesn't want to take on the responsibility, tell me that it's a bit too much work but don't use these ridiculous reasons to justify mindless stupidity.

>>> then again who iz me to talk since i'm a noob on this site and my intelligence is tantamount to that a street racer.

Mini

Postby Mini » April 21st, 2009, 7:21 am

fiveforward wrote:^^^ this statement bothers me deeply and proves my point. You r saying that in order to get serious about racing i should convert my drag car into a rally car to give myself a new challenge....BS.

not serious about racing (that's a hugely generic term)... but serious about RALLYING.. the event was hosted by the Trinidad & Tobago Rally Club... we don't put on drag events or circuit events or autocross (soldex) events or karting events.... we put on rally events

definition of a super special stage can be found here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_stage_(rallying)

It is common to see rallies containing a "Super Special Stage" (SSS) or "Spectator Stage." These are timed stages, like standard special stages,

the Super Special Stages are part of the rally... therefore you have to compete in the rally to be part of it. To compete in the rally, you must meet all of the TTRC's safety requirements. We not saying don't compete... or that we are excluding anyone... all we're saying is that rallying is dangerous... and we want you to be safe as a competitor.

IF (and that's a big IF since I don't know the plans of the TTRC) the SSS is run as a stand alone rally sprint, then cages, fixed back seats, harness and extinguishers would have to mandatory. Even if Powell were to show up with a street car... or Robbie with his street car... they'd be turned away for not meeting the minimum safety requirements.

check this out [google]rally sprint[/google]

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » April 21st, 2009, 7:51 am

sorry jerome side efects of using a dell... :mrgreen: .. scort.. refer to teh APC for a junkinese- english translation software

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 21st, 2009, 8:06 am

Mini wrote:
fiveforward wrote:^^^ this statement bothers me deeply and proves my point. You r saying that in order to get serious about racing i should convert my drag car into a rally car to give myself a new challenge....BS.

not serious about racing (that's a hugely generic term)... but serious about RALLYING.. the event was hosted by the Trinidad & Tobago Rally Club... we don't put on drag events or circuit events or autocross (soldex) events or karting events.... we put on rally events

definition of a super special stage can be found here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Special_stage_(rallying)

Well said.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » April 21st, 2009, 8:15 am

What is probably needed is a new racing disclipline, one that bridges the Gap between club racer and all out full racing.

There isnt a formula for club racers in Trinidad, the closest is Dex but Dex is soooo frustrating because as soon as youre about ready to race you have to mash brakes. Very irritating.

If anybody is willling to come together to start something, lemme know.

Its unfortunate but, the rally club will only put on events for its members. In order for anyone to participate you have to come up to spec. Even if all you have is your road car. Club racing is meant for the regular guy who is an enthusiast who likes to spend time tuning his street car and wants to have a lil go at it. That formula doesnt exist in Trinidad. There wil be a progression into full racing for many who are hooked at the club level and its a good way for the other bodies to increase their membership.

If anyone is interested in pursuing this lets talk.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » April 21st, 2009, 9:34 am

i still can't see why ppl fighting down the issue of there own saftey :? :? ...

solodex mandates no anti lag ....does that mean we discriminate against rally drives ?
drags says -12sec cars need a roll cage but that is another issue (120y with muffler pipe that not even welded properly)
the drift club tell meh i need a rear wheel drive car :evil: :evil: i was still all up in there event :lol: :lol:
go karting ? :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

i firmly believe thats if an event is held on the streets and some one dies or gets seriuosly hurt because they didn't have the mandated saftey equipments and the media makes frezy of it we will never see another event of it's kind.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » April 21st, 2009, 9:49 am

fiveforward wrote:"The TTRC does not want to come accross as the cocky motorsport hogging all the attention and shutting out other clubs. THAT IS NOT OUR INTENTION. "

^^^ Not intentionally but yes it is! Sigh.....no wonder i don't like rally; the cockiness and head in the sky attitude is astoundingly obnoxious.

"Summing it up, i think that the TTRC provides an excellent avenue for racing and if circuit guys and others serious about racing - we roll out the red carpet. Come do one event and see for yourself. Give yourself a new challenge and who knows you may be hooked like many of us were the first time we came around a corner sideways in the dirt."

^^^ this statement bothers me deeply and proves my point. You r saying that in order to get serious about racing i should convert my drag car into a rally car to give myself a new challenge....BS.

Safety is an issue that can be addressed by course layout, mandates, assistance and a proper understanding of what is required by drivers and their vehicles. Rally drivers have this ridiculous air of driving superiority about them that is rather sickening and it's odd that nobody else talks about that. I agree that in RT09 the chaguanas stage was part of a bigger even, so accomodating a time attack/ street circuit there would have been inappropriate BUT......

don't tell me that a street circuit can't happen because of safety and driver experience since you CAN change stuff to suit varying degrees of driver competence if you WANT to. Tell me rally clud doesn't want to take on the responsibility, tell me that it's a bit too much work but don't use these ridiculous reasons to justify mindless stupidity.

>>> then again who iz me to talk since i'm a noob on this site and my intelligence is tantamount to that a street racer.

Are you for real?????

Its very simple english really and the fact that my words keep getting twisted into all these insane ideas and motions is ridiculous. Simple facts to understand - NO CIRCUIT TRACK - NO DRAG STRIP....Somehow it seems that you feel that this is the fault of the TTRC. Read my post carefully. No body in their right mind expects Sheldon B to bring his rail to race on gravel or Aaron in the skyline BUT a circuit car just happens to be already half way there in preparation. If you want to keep your race car collecting dust fine by me - we can offer you a NEW, and DIFFERENT challenge if you wish. No one is telling you that you must come and rally. We open the door. So please leave your completely delusional view out of our very open to newcomers club.

Because we are still racing i guess that obviously means that we are all have a ridiculous air of driving superiority as you say. Please - don't blame other clubs/racers unfortunate situation on us.

Mini

Postby Mini » April 21st, 2009, 9:54 am

djaggs wrote:What is probably needed is a new racing disclipline, one that bridges the Gap between club racer and all out full racing.

There isnt a formula for club racers in Trinidad, the closest is Dex but Dex is soooo frustrating because as soon as youre about ready to race you have to mash brakes. Very irritating.

Its unfortunate but, the rally club will only put on events for its members. In order for anyone to participate you have to come up to spec. Even if all you have is your road car. Club racing is meant for the regular guy who is an enthusiast who likes to spend time tuning his street car and wants to have a lil go at it. That formula doesnt exist in Trinidad. There wil be a progression into full racing for many who are hooked at the club level and its a good way for the other bodies to increase their membership.

that is a valid point...

but again it's not that the rally club will put on events for it's members only...

Now as Ignorant Ignis rightly said... rally cars competing at dex aren't allowed to run with anti-lag. That's the rules governing the event and enforced by the club... we don't complain... we just turn off the ALS and drive to suit.

Again the rules of the TTRC mandate for special stage type events certain minimum safety requirements must be met. This is for YOUR safety. Basically what you guys are asking the TTRC to do is put on a special stage for street cars. That is just plain silly and asking for trouble.

Some time ago a long standing competitor wanted to compete with a bolted in cage and full interior in his Evo. AFAIK he was not allowed to compete (because in the Grp he would have been competing in, bolt-in cages weren't allowed).

Postby SR » April 21st, 2009, 10:12 am

djaggs wrote:What is probably needed is a new racing disclipline, one that bridges the Gap between club racer and all out full racing.

in a nutshell that the point

maybe a new discipline or adjustments/amendments be made to existing disciplins to allow a "club" racing class

where street cars can run competitivley under safe conditions

as will any racing there will always be a risk

people who are too indeopth in thier own class of racing seem to forget/alienate those who want to have some fun on a weekend and then force people to either build towards a specific racing class or jsut stand by and spectate

in the end you find a lot of these enthusiasts ending up on the street

i have also found a lot of "egos" come into play when talk comes around with regard to the vk event and rallying and now the sss

some of you all need to look beyond your own nose

we all talk about the bigger picture but the bigger picture is building motorsport
not just all out rally cars or circuit cars etc

and if we continue along the same path thats been set in the past then we go nowhere

the point i was trying to make is why make the tarmac event soley for rally cars when there are dex cars that can compete in a tarmac event
or is it to be a tarmac event with what....... 10 all out rally cars

how fast will the streets of this country allow for a tarmac event??

if the event was so dangerous etc how many cars were in dangerous situations during the tarmac event??

awaits more beating from rally members

De Bench

Postby De Bench » April 21st, 2009, 10:25 am

Shazard, this si where this stands.

You want a club man type setting, OK.

As a club man, you must had a cage, race setas and fire suppression.

However that will only apply to 2wd cars.

As per TTRC rules, all 4wd cars MUST be fitted with a restrictor.

In Dex, there are 4wd cars generating mor HP & Torque than the rally car.
Also, all 4wd cars must have a welded in cage.

Yoiu should know the effects of a restrictor, the result equates a better margin of saftey for the spectators, the cars saftey is for YOU.

Return to “TTRC - Rally”