Rally Trinidad 22-24th March 2013

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

trini mk5

Re: Rally Trinidad 22-24th March 2013

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:49 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Same can be said for those standing "right where the car passing"

Are you guilt of such?

Aaron achan dont be a bigger cnut than you are already. I was standing in the designated spectator area with my camera and i observed this as the guys were going around in the cars. Worst was when the vitara guy was pelting around that same corner with full body roll engaged.
I have no complaints of any other event but this one could have been a bit better, my opinion.

Postby rollingstock » March 24th, 2013, 10:50 pm

Why everyone blaming the police?

You host an event, no liquor licence but alcohol being offered for sale (underage persons also in attendance)
Once alcohol is being offered for sale the strength of officers needed would have been adjusted up by the sitting magistrate to provide adequate security.

The organisers broke the law but the police to blame, really a bunch of illeterate asses yes.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:51 pm

#dbu

Emo much?

Same logic of your position and the toilet facility
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on March 24th, 2013, 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:51 pm

the police spoil we international event, so f d police.

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 10:52 pm

trini mk5 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:toilets were placed there to cater to those on that side, they were all around...
what's the problem?

LOL idiots the toilet was placed right where the cars were passing. If a car lost it on that corner and a dude was in there, it would have been a shitstorm literally. Anybody who was there on that side would have seen it. Poor placement=accident waiting to happen.

seems like you want to nit pick at the entire event.... good thing the barrier could save you... or even the toilet that's in the foreground of your "photo"

what about your sound meter? did you have one on hand?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:54 pm

tr1ad wrote:
trini mk5 wrote:
tr1ad wrote:toilets were placed there to cater to those on that side, they were all around...
what's the problem?

LOL idiots the toilet was placed right where the cars were passing. If a car lost it on that corner and a dude was in there, it would have been a shitstorm literally. Anybody who was there on that side would have seen it. Poor placement=accident waiting to happen.

seems like you want to nit pick at the entire event.... good thing the barrier could save you... or even the toilet that's in the foreground of your "photo"

what about your sound meter? did you have one on hand?

Nah dan didnt walk with it today, i sent it to the bureau of standards to calibrate.
You got yuh media pass?

Postby sliderz1 » March 24th, 2013, 10:54 pm

:shock: :shock:

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 10:55 pm

of course.... i always do
granted 99.9% of the time i don't need it

canada

Postby canada » March 24th, 2013, 10:55 pm

Why are we harping on the location of the porta-potty? If you think it was in an unsafe location then don't use it. As an outstanding caring citizen you could have brought it to the attention of the Marshall, who might have been able to have it moved with your help of course.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:56 pm

tr1ad wrote:of course.... i always do
granted 99.9% of the time i don't need it

cool cool

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 24th, 2013, 10:58 pm

my thing is, why wait today to stop the rally when it started since Friday?

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:58 pm

canada wrote:Why are we harping on the location of the porta-potty? If you think it was in an unsafe location then don't use it. As an outstanding caring citizen you could have brought it to the attention of the Marshall, who might have been able to have it moved with your help of course.

You have to understand its a hot topic right now, since it has a picture associated with it. But hey if no one else sees an issue with it from a HSE perspective and the fact the women and children were using it while the test runs were going on and the fact that it could have been placed in a better location, hey no problems here, carry on.

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 11:01 pm

originalbling wrote:trini mk5, you keep raising this issue of the public toilet. did you bring your concern to the attention of any official?

That won't solve anything, better to come rant on the interwebz, duhhhh.

Sad end to rtnt, can't wait till the next event on ttrc calendar

Postby kurpal_v2 » March 24th, 2013, 11:02 pm

dante1986 wrote:my thing is, why wait today to stop the rally when it started since Friday?

Beacuse the other days didnt have an unlicensed bar?

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 24th, 2013, 11:03 pm

both days had level alcohol an police and things run smooth what is the problem, police eh get bribe :/

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 11:05 pm

dante1986 wrote:both days had level alcohol an police and things run smooth what is the problem, police eh get bribe :/

Lets wait on an offical response from the TTRC as to what happened as someone here said just now.

canada

Postby canada » March 24th, 2013, 11:10 pm

Same could be said for people who stop at the rum shop - conspicuously consume alcohol and then get behind the wheel of their vehicle without the bartender, their friends or other patrons stopping them. Isn't that a more dangerous situation? This is the norm everyday in T&T. Why didn't you just take a survey as to how many people used that porta-potty while you were standing there? I would say zero as the spectators were so engrossed in watching the action on the race course.

Like I said, if you were so concern for safety you should have brought it to the attention of an official rather than complain after the fact.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 11:16 pm

canada wrote:Same could be said for people who stop at the rum shop - conspicuously consume alcohol and then get behind the wheel of their vehicle without the bartender, their friends or other patrons stopping them. Isn't that a more dangerous situation? This is the norm everyday in T&T. Why didn't you just take a survey as to how many people used that porta-potty while you were standing there? I would say zero as the spectators were so engrossed in watching the action on the race course. :? :? :? :roll:

Like I said, if you were so concern for safety you should have brought it to the attention of an official rather than complain after the fact.

Your issue is that i come here and unlike everybody else who bashing the police i highlighted some observations and possible things that can be improved in the future but i am the bad one. Hypocrites.
I really hope you more intelligent than you trying to sound right now

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » March 24th, 2013, 11:16 pm

AutoSport wrote:THROW YOUR MINDS BACK TO ARIMA GRAN PRIX - EASTER 2011!!!!

was expecting this to happen

canada

Postby canada » March 24th, 2013, 11:33 pm

Well, in reading your posts I would say that I am. I certainly would not swear at individuals. It just shows the level of your thinking.

If you were really interested in giving constructive criticisms you could have contacted TTRC with your concerns as oppose to putting it here in a public forum where it comes out as bashing the efforts that a lot of people have put into this event for the benefit of people like you to enjoy and expand your horizons.

We are all human and make mistakes. So the porta-potty was placed in an unsafe location but what about all the other good things of the event? Like I said previously, a caring individual like yourself should have attempted to move it (I am sure a lot of the spectators would have helped you) to a safer location.

In Health and Safety Courses one of the their mottos is: Don't walk by if you see an unsafe situation - do something to make it safer.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 11:40 pm

Trinidad & Tobago Rally Club (TTRC)
8 minutes ago ·

Many thanks to all the sponsors, marshals, competitors, both foreign and local, media and officials. You all rallied through the blistering heat and dust to complete one of the biggest and best events in motorsport in Trinidad.

The TTRC apologises to the many fans who came out to Tarouba Stadium to witness the end of a highly competitive weekend, and were disappointed. The incident was very unfortunate and we apologise for any inconveniences caused by this occurrence.

We are unable to provide any explanations at this time due to the lack of information surrounding the reason why the TTPS Task Force made their presence felt in such a manner this evening. Investigations into this matter are being conducted and as soon as any explanation can be had, updates will be given to you our loyal fans and supporters. Thank you all for your continued support of Rallying in Trinidad and Tobago.

djaggs

Postby djaggs » March 24th, 2013, 11:43 pm

Why didnt they shut down the bar and allow the event to continue since it was a major national event sanctioned by the min of sport. Isnt thinking outside the box or using common sense allowed in the work place anymore ?
Reminds me of the man who was charged for improperly overtaking on the left hand side. When he went to court he ask the policeman...sir, what is the proper way to overtake on the left?"....the officer couldnt answer so the magistrate dismissed the case.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » March 24th, 2013, 11:44 pm

All I will say is, I was at Rally Jamaica 2012 and the difference in terms of organisation is truly staggering. Jamaica, a country that Trinis love to ridicule for their perceived lack of wealth, can put on any event more efficiently, with less delays and less disappointment than T+T.

Honestly, while the police approached the entire situation in the wrong way, the blame falls ENTIRELY on the organisers. What they managed to do was to alienate and probably lose a large section of "new" or "first time" fans. I suspect they will not be able to attempt Tarouba again next year simply because of what went on today.

Concerning the lack of ticket stubs/receipts etc, I asked for one when I entered and they told me that they didn't have anything like that...............................

Shifter Kart

Postby Shifter Kart » March 24th, 2013, 11:46 pm

man, i had so much fun this weekend i not too vex about tarouba being cancelled.
my team, Dmitri and I had the time of our lives this weekend. The stages here are truly on another level compared to Jamaica. I. LOVED. IT.
BIG thanks to Robbie, Barry, the TTRC and Hutrini/RASC (dunno if he still posts here) for helping us out with everything this week.
We will be back next year, absolutely. and next year we coming for 1st in Group N :twisted:
Last edited by Shifter Kart on March 25th, 2013, 12:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.

rally freak 23

Postby rally freak 23 » March 24th, 2013, 11:47 pm

trini mk5 is ah hater hahaha

mrkessy

Postby mrkessy » March 24th, 2013, 11:48 pm

Pity RT2013 will only be remember for this. So many great moments...

..last one slipped in sorry.

Full set here:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152658008045144.1073741825.545845143&type=3

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 11:51 pm

Rally Trinidad 2013 - Official Results

Computerman

Postby Computerman » March 24th, 2013, 11:56 pm

mrkessy wrote:Image
..last one slipped in sorry.

Postby sliderz1 » March 25th, 2013, 12:04 am

funny how TTRC slips once in how many years and cyakers are bashing.

trini loyalty ftl

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » March 25th, 2013, 12:05 am

Ok, well as i can see the rumour mill has started and although i welcome all the opinions and feedback from everyone let's get a few things cleared up.

Firstly the TTRC will be making a full statement when we can get all the facts. i have just spent the last 3 hours in Marabella Police Station and we have still not gotten the full story. Let's go with what we know. The Police shut the event down due to an issue with the strength and bar license. From what we have been told there were a few courses of action that could have taken place:
- Shut the bar down and let the event continue - under normal circumstances
- Shut the event down if the safety of the event is compromised and there is an obvious lack of resources in which to deal with problems that may arise - also under normal circumstances.
- Ask no questions, walk in shut down walk out - slightly harsh course of action given the nature of the event (i.e sporting event, not a concert with bad language from the artiste and violent patrons)

We have been hosting events with an almost perfect safety record for a number of years and today there were very few safety concerns - further to that the racing hadn't even started as yet to even allow for a safety concern to become apparent. On the note of the public toilet, you may have seen that our sponsored toilets - 15 scattered around the venue were all light brown and from JQ and the one being referred to was in fact a UDECOTT rented Toilet which was locked and not part of our setup and behind a concrete culvert (just to clarify). It was also in an area requiring the complete slow down of the car due to the tight turn (after the pic of course)

No fights, no violence, a crowd made up of mostly families and friends liming on the outskirts does not suggest a risk of crowd or drunk partygoers who need to be dealt with. With respect to the bar license, we have never had an issue like this in the years of Rally Trinidad and i would like to assure all who are wondering that it was not an oversight nor forgetting. In fact the bar license was applied for both Friday and Sunday night at the same time. Rather there was a misunderstanding which we are looking into. The fact is that the Police were well within their right to allow the event to continue, but shut the whole event down without so much as options being considered.

6 jeeps of riot gear heavily armed Police were sent in to deal with a 20x20 tented bar (staff of 5) in a crowd of mostly people simply wanting to enjoy the afternoon of racing. They arrived and jumped out of the vehicles loading weapons like if it was a bank heist. If you don't think that is excessive then it's entirely your opinion but i think most would agree.

On the door charge. I think all would agree that the TTRC has began to offer more to our patrons with the event infrastructure and logistics (i.e. National Stadium on Friday night) and we simply charge a small fee to help offset the cost. Anyone who has experience with events would know the cost of stage, lighting, sound, fencing, signage etc etc. Furthermore a $100 per carload (roughly $20 per head) is in no way a 'big money ting' as some would say. How many $20-$40 events by comparison do issue receipts? Refunding was not possible today but that does not mean that we do not intend to make it up somehow.

What we can say however is that we will be getting to the bottom of what can be described as an excessive decision by the TTPS, and looking ahead we will be planning an event with the same level of logistics with no door charge and do our best to make amends to the spectators that came out and supported us in somewhat vain.

There will be critics but i think they are limited. We have a great sport and an even greater spectator base who i think will understand that we were powerless to change the course of events today but can only promise to make it up.

On the stages today being cancelled. We were met with 3 large loads of garbage in 'Jack and Jill while setting up this morning (probably dumped last night) and ran late trying to get equipment to move it. We needed to get the cars to Tarouba and the only decision that we had was to cancel the stages. If we put any of you in the same situation i am sure the result would be the same. Disappointing yes but an unavoidable logistical issue.

To close we would like everyone to be reassured that we will bounce back from this and we will make it up to everyone. We can only ask for your understanding.
Last edited by rcadiz on March 25th, 2013, 12:44 am, edited 1 time in total.

Return to “TTRC - Rally”