Rally Trinidad 22-24th March 2013

Official Rally Forum -
Please visit www.rallytrinidad.com for more info on Rally

Moderators: rcadiz, sio, 3ne2nr Mods

Wolla

Re: Rally Trinidad 22-24th March 2013

Postby Wolla » March 24th, 2013, 8:54 pm

I am still in shock!! Cant believe they cancelled the last stage at the stadium at the last minute too. Honestly something seems fishy.

Nonetheless The past two days of great rallying, dust, sunburn and just a great competition have been amzing as usual, hats off to the TTRC!! Just too bad the police had to screw everything up for everyone.

Toyopet

Postby Toyopet » March 24th, 2013, 9:09 pm

tr1ad wrote:so what about the folks that paid to enter the stadium

No receipt or stubs or anything of the sort were given upon paying so refunding would have been difficult I assume, especially since not everyone paid the forty. I left without hearing a definite word on refunds.

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 9:10 pm

dredman1 wrote:Image

Great shot!

thanks man

Lucian-2nr

Postby Lucian-2nr » March 24th, 2013, 9:13 pm

Toyopet wrote:

No receipt or stubs or anything of the sort were given upon paying so refunding would have been difficult I assume, especially since not everyone paid the forty. I left without hearing a definite word on refunds.

Some paid 40 while others paid 100 for a car, we left during the awards ceremony despite spending 100. They were taking way to long to say anything about it + we knew the lack of stubs/receipt would be a problem.

Really poor turn of events and especially for those like myself who was looking forward to that last bit of excitement.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » March 24th, 2013, 9:30 pm

Wolla wrote:I am still in shock!! Cant believe they cancelled the last stage at the stadium at the last minute too. Honestly something seems fishy.

NST

Postby NST » March 24th, 2013, 9:45 pm

Would like to say thx to the TTPS for what must surely be a job well done. Hopefully those guys made it back to the station (ignoring the speed limit or safety of pedestrians) feeling like they have made this country that much safer. Whilst van loads of officers (all just following orders, I'm sure) could have shown up (with rifles and riot gear) to stop this event, some poor soul was getting robbed.

I've been going rally consistently a few years now and seen it grow from a few ppl in the cane to the kind of public and almost mainstream event we saw on friday and hoped to see today, needless to say much pride was replaced by shame. To the TTRC, thx for hosting what generally was a great event. Apart from this evening, we all had a blast!!

idlehands

Postby idlehands » March 24th, 2013, 9:50 pm

today was d worst at 2013 rally waste my money at d enterance,then police bust down d place stop every thing we had to leave but nobody by d gates to refund baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaddddd.dont think will be in rally eny more was first and last.

adam_ant_tt

Postby adam_ant_tt » March 24th, 2013, 10:00 pm

sad sad sad evening. disgusting presence by the TTPS force. thanks for protecting & serving?

On the other hand, we blame the officers.... when they most likely responding to some big boy's orders.

But still.... protect the people..... doh just be tryin to pull rank walking across a rally track with riot shield and machine gun. the spectators innocent, the participants innocent. no need for all that.

I really doh understand =/

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:01 pm

Personally I thought the event was well planned with slight hiccups. What took place at the stadium was very unfortunate but mistakes do happen.
The approach by the officers was very forceful for the type of event ( ie not a hostile environment with a lot of children etc ) but they were doing their job based on instructions from above. I hope this same approach is taken when someone is being robbed or when illegal activities take place.

Lets not bash ttrc or the police. Ttrc did everything they could to have the situation rectified but the timing of the incident is really my concern, racing took place all weekend and this could have been avoided earlier.

It's sad that bills have to be paid even though the stages were cancelled...

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:01 pm

What kinda assness allyuh talking here. The police had a job to do and they did it. For a big event like this going on for years, ppl should have their sheit in order. A silly thing like a bar license is what shut down a whole event? I would have thought it was the lack of fire brigade, police and poor placement of that toilet on the western end. I have some photos to show how stupid its placement was. Glad they cancelled that event (although i loss meh $100) because of its poor planning.
I do disagree on how the police was carrying their guns, no need for that.
We trinis like to cut too much corners, and when things go wrong, we pointing fingers and suddenly know the right thing to do.
Kudos to the TTPS for DOING THEIR JOB and shame on the organisers for not doing theirs.
untitled-2989.jpg
Last edited by trini mk5 on March 24th, 2013, 10:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 24th, 2013, 10:04 pm

them police sad yes, if stag don't have permit and it don't have enough security close d fackin bar , an while allyuh dey protect an serve steups , never like police them could kiss they boss balls for that stupid order

smallz

Postby smallz » March 24th, 2013, 10:08 pm

Lucian-2nr wrote:
Toyopet wrote:

Some paid 40 while others paid 100 for a car, we left during the awards ceremony despite spending 100. They were taking way to long to say anything about it + we knew the lack of stubs/receipt would be a problem.

Really poor turn of events and especially for those like myself who was looking forward to that last bit of excitement.

x2.........
my first time i finallly reach to take in a lill rally event and it gots cancelled........ and not a word about a refund... sucks bigtime...... hope things go better nxt time around....... glad to see motorsport growing and evolving here at hme...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:13 pm

Comments coming in via Facebook (@ facebook.com/trinituner)

Scott Soo Chin Sad end indeed
3 hours ago via mobile

Raynardo Hassanally The police handled this situation very poorly. I hope this incident is reported to the minister.
3 hours ago · Like ·Image 2

Leo Danlag Make sure each ah dem get a free nissin ramen cup as consolation prize eh!! Free boiling water available at the drinks tent.....
3 hours ago via mobile

Jenny Lin Disappointing end seriously. All we patrons should have gotten a refund or sth.
3 hours ago · Like ·Image 1

Delaina Anara Mohammed Was dissapointed mainly because the police swarmed at a legal event to shut it down mainly because of what!!!! We as trinidadians & even tobagonians lament that we are not a first wold country and here at international stage we have showed the world just that!!! As a matter for some patrons who wanted a refund you have to realise that even though the event was sadly cancelled the TTRC still has overhead costs & arrears that aren't going to pay themselves......
2 hours ago

Purushottam Persaud First time i gon rally an de dam police shut it down they lucky we didnt chase dem out
about an hour ago via mobile

Laura Jawahir I am so upset about this afternoon's tragedy.. But great weekend nonetheless! Kudos to event organizers except for those responsible for the police intervention
about an hour ago

Amrit Singh The members of the protective service took pride in what they did, walking around as if they are gods, with their guns as if they were coming for criminals (which they don't do anyhow- given their awesome detection rate) smiling and smirking while, hundreds stood disappointed and annoyed. Imagine 15 van load of police, but if you call with a real emergency they could never have a vehicle .
about an hour ago · Like ·Image 4

Daniel Gómez I wasn't even there but I'm pissed like hell hearing about this!
50 minutes ago via mobile

Anderson Lalla Police officers shut down the last stage of rally Trinidad.Imagine 6 van loads of police for no apparent reason .I wonder how they could get all those vehicles to come to a family event but not to respond when there are murders in T&T 6 vanloads of muffler bearings!!
31 minutes ago via mobile

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Again people blaming the police...smh
Blame the organisers,why didnt they come out and say why the police shut down the event? Why were no ticket stubs given out at the entrance so they can give out a refund if anything happened?
Why was there a toilet facing the public and basically on the track? No we dont want to ask those questions, we want blame the police for ruining our "international event" We trinis good yes.

This was the same thing that happened last year with the chinese lantern festival. They had no license or permission from the fire service to launch those lanterns, but they still went ahead and threw the event. And when the fire service shut them down, everybody vex with the fire service for doing their JOB. Banana republic FTL.

Postby pugboy » March 24th, 2013, 10:22 pm

it is a simple reflection of our society,

perceived "haves vs have nots"

guess which side the police think they are on ?

not any different to the wrecker police who operate with a smile

take care it was not a setup either

Postby sliderz1 » March 24th, 2013, 10:30 pm

Congrats to Panton and Fennell really good work through the corners and bends today.

sorry Toruba had to go down like that, really missed the free-spirited Saith Park but .....all is well, amends for next year.

s1

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:32 pm

trini mk5 wrote:What kinda assness allyuh talking here. The police had a job to do and they did it. For a big event like this going on for years, ppl should have their sheit in order. A silly thing like a bar license is what shut down a whole event? I would have thought it was the lack of fire brigade, police and poor placement of that toilet on the western end. I have some photos to show how stupid its placement was. Glad they cancelled that event (although i loss meh $100) because of its poor planning.
I do disagree on how the police was carrying their guns, no need for that.
We trinis like to cut too much corners, and when things go wrong, we pointing fingers and suddenly know the right thing to do.
Kudos to the TTPS for DOING THEIR JOB and shame on the organisers for not doing theirs.
untitled-2989.jpg
untitled-2989.jpg (38.15 KiB) Viewed 3358 times
there were toilets ALL over the place. Yes there were a bank of toilets where you placed the text saying "Public toilets" but also all around the spectator and pit areas like that orange one a few yard away from where that photo was taken!

untitled-2989-2.jpg
untitled-2989-2.jpg (31.26 KiB) Viewed 3358 times

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:34 pm

Look at the photo again duane you'll see the arrow :wink:

originalbling

Postby originalbling » March 24th, 2013, 10:37 pm

trini mk5, you keep raising this issue of the public toilet. did you bring your concern to the attention of any official?

and I also didnt recall seeing 15 van loads of police and police walking across with a riot shield as stated by others. please stick to facts and dont sensationalize the issue.

This is not the first time TTRC is hosting an event like this and they would have known to get proper licences etc, so I am sure there is more to it.

Postby tr1ad » March 24th, 2013, 10:38 pm

toilets were placed there to cater to those on that side, they were all around...
what's the problem?

canada

Postby canada » March 24th, 2013, 10:38 pm

Instead of criticizing why don't we look at the positives. Ask yourself can I put on such an event? Do you know all the logistics that goes into planning and carrying out an event of this magnitude? If a liquor license was not in place why did the police not allow the event to continue? Why did you not ask for a receipt at the gate for your $40 or $100 payment? Typical Trini, cannot do anything but will shoot down anyone who tries. How do you know the porta-potty company just didn't put it there? Instead of jumping to conclusion, why not wait for TTRC to make their formal announcement as to what really happened?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:39 pm

^ that's an arrow? :|

anyway there were toilets all over

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:39 pm

tr1ad wrote:toilets were placed there to cater to those on that side, they were all around...
what's the problem?

He wanted a presidential. Have to 2 in ac dawg

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » March 24th, 2013, 10:39 pm

THROW YOUR MINDS BACK TO ARIMA GRAN PRIX - EASTER 2011!!!!

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:40 pm

originalbling wrote:trini mk5, you keep raising this issue of the public toilet. did you bring your concern to the attention of any official? Like who? A marshall?

and I also didnt recall seeing 15 van loads of police and police walking across with a riot shield as stated by others. please stick to facts and dont sensationalize the issue.

This is not the first time TTRC is hosting an event like this and they would have known to get proper licences etc, so I am sure there is more to it.

agreed

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:41 pm

AutoSport wrote:THROW YOUR MINDS BACK TO ARIMA GRAN PRIX - EASTER 2011!!!!

Exactly

Same thing connected when I got the call lol

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:43 pm

tr1ad wrote:toilets were placed there to cater to those on that side, they were all around...
what's the problem?

LOL idiots the toilet was placed right where the cars were passing. If a car lost it on that corner and a dude was in there, it would have been a shitstorm literally. Anybody who was there on that side would have seen it. Poor placement=accident waiting to happen.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 24th, 2013, 10:45 pm

Same can be said for those standing "right where the car passing"

Are you guilt of such?

From the pic it would seem like you are a few inches from he barrier
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on March 24th, 2013, 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » March 24th, 2013, 10:46 pm

canada wrote:Instead of criticizing why don't we look at the positives. Ask yourself can I put on such an event? Do you know all the logistics that goes into planning and carrying out an event of this magnitude? If a liquor license was not in place why did the police not allow the event to continue? Why did you not ask for a receipt at the gate for your $40 or $100 payment? Typical Trini, cannot do anything but will shoot down anyone who tries. How do you know the porta-potty company just didn't put it there? Instead of jumping to conclusion, why not wait for TTRC to make their formal announcement as to what really happened?

Continue....

dante1986

Postby dante1986 » March 24th, 2013, 10:48 pm

rallying all over the world people stand where the cars pass its nothing new :/

Return to “TTRC - Rally”