Temporary Pull
33%

Total votes: 39

DEVI

CREDIT OUR PHOTOS!!!!

Postby DEVI » September 27th, 2006, 9:30 am

CREDIT OUR PHOTOS!!!!

For those of you who don't know me, my name is Devi Nath.

I want your thoughts on something... do you think this is fair?

This not the first time this has happened but it will definitely be the last....

We came to an agreement at the last international meet that TTRC would have access to my photos free of charge – for the promotion of TTRC – with one SIMPLE condition: Credit must be given.

In today's Guardian, the Arena supplement features the TTRC story WITHOUT ANY PHOTO CREDIT.

Nothing big, just a small fine print that says "Devi Nath" next to the photo would have been better than nothing. In fact what they were supposed to have was "Photos by Devi Nath (c) Zorce Racing Magazine / Trinituner.com." So tuners as well have a right to be upset.

I am all FOR rallying and a proud supporter of TTRC but enough is enough.

I feel like someone who has done a job but has not been paid.

I don't want TTRC using my photos like this again.
Last edited by DEVI on September 27th, 2006, 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

DEVI

Postby DEVI » September 27th, 2006, 9:31 am

Some clown in the newspaper must be laughing, because it looks like the Guardian must have taken MY photos :evil:

sXe

Postby sXe » September 27th, 2006, 9:33 am

Fight 4 what is right! u have my support

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 9:34 am

......now you know how i feel. :|

Postby MG Man » September 27th, 2006, 9:38 am

ah yes, isn't it nice when our motorsport bretheren support us :?
and ppl wonder why mospo is in the state it's in...........everybody quick to talk unity and affiliation when they have something to gain...........imagine they basically stealing from the ppl who support them

I sure somebody from TTRC will jump up and say 'buh dem men does come to we event for free an we does allow dem to take pics..." :? :? :?
such is the state of mospo in this country

Yeo

Postby Yeo » September 27th, 2006, 9:40 am

All photogs have my support. I suggest watermarking all photos w/your name (if digi) b4 distributing them to any group/entity.

Freelander

Postby Freelander » September 27th, 2006, 9:46 am

yes devi i think u should cause i mean its ur time and ur effort and those cameras not cheap yall using

a lil thank you can go a long way

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » September 27th, 2006, 9:47 am

i've personally experienced seeing some pictures that i've taken in the press without my permission. it really is a shame that after all hard work- no credit is given where credit is due.

i take pictures for trinituner and zorce for the love of motor sports.

sometimes it really is a shame to see blatant miscredited or non credited attributes given or not given.

but devi- even if not being paid- credit should still be given to the photographer- its your right!

as a photographer, as an artist, as a composer- as anything- after all that has been said and done, the worst thing is to see your work on someone else's "badge".

I PROPOSE COPYRIGHT ALL IMAGES! its the way to go- alot of persons' have copyrighted their images simple watermark clear diagonal across the image now- thihnks i would start doing that.
Last edited by mini me AWD on September 27th, 2006, 9:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 9:47 am

^they get cropped when putting them to the pages. the only way is to watermark across the photo but it will take away from the shot.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 27th, 2006, 9:48 am

I say start to charge them. To much freeness aint good.

u could sue for that in the states.

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Re: CREDIT OUR PHOTOS!!!!

Postby flatline » September 27th, 2006, 9:50 am

DEVI wrote:Nothing big, just a small fine print that says "Devi Nath" next to the photo would have been better than nothing. In fact what they were supposed to have was "Photos by Devi Nath (c) Zorce Racing Magazine / Trinituner.com." So tuners as well have a right to be upset.

not even your name but a simple acknowledgement that it was supplied by trinituner/zorce would be somewhat acceptable. If they don't wish to pay, acknowledgement should be given.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 9:50 am

i agree this is real sheit

motorsport cannot grow if dey contineu to treat other ppl like dis..

once againi am disapointed in TTRC becasu eit is thruogh them dat we had this arragnment

dey hadad come real goo to get pics from me or gerald, i know devi is not giving anymore which is sad.. he is de best phtographer we have :( :(

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 9:52 am

....the last article my photos were used for, the websites were mentioned but the individual was left out.

say what....i kept all my articles and laminated them. i'm proud to know that my pics made the papers...

mini me AWD

Postby mini me AWD » September 27th, 2006, 9:58 am

courtsey has also been given to another photographer on my work!!

it has happened to me before- and i woulnd't be surprised if it happens again.

daNdAdDa

Postby daNdAdDa » September 27th, 2006, 10:00 am

just don't supply them :!:
Last edited by daNdAdDa on September 27th, 2006, 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pete » September 27th, 2006, 10:02 am

I think it's the fault of the newspaper more than anything else. I'm pretty sure that when the article was written and image submitted they would've requested that the photographer be credited. The newspaper then decides to omit that but use the image anyway.

I think y'all may be sending the blame the wrong way. TTRC wants their article in the papers to get more public exposure so they can't exactly say "we're not giving you more articles if you don't credit our photographers". If they did that then in the end they would lose out.

It's unfortunate because now the photographers who they are VERY happy to have come and cover their events don't want to because they're not being credited. Hopefully some solution can be reached soon.

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 10:04 am

i won't be surprised either but TTRC is going to be up a creek when they come lookin for pics for the last event for the year.

it's in tobago, i not going and devi surely eh giving them squat.....

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 10:04 am

well dat is still ttrc fault pete

if u tell teh paper su have to credit the photograhpers or tdoh use the article den the papers will credit the photograhpers

we made a deal with ttrc and dey broke it. plain and simple

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 10:05 am

an di not goign either wagon.. so i gues sno pics

i say BOYCOTT.. wha allyuh think?

TK!

Postby TK! » September 27th, 2006, 10:06 am

devi .. yuh right... sue dey mudda***

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 10:07 am

....speaking of rally...where is the last event going to be put up.....smurf yuh sticking... :mrgreen:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 27th, 2006, 10:07 am

ask for payment!

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 27th, 2006, 10:11 am

Temporary Pull
and talk with both TTRC and the newspapers start the convo with payment...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 27th, 2006, 10:13 am

The photos were supplied with a specific credit to be attached "Photos by Devi Nath (c) Zorce Racing Magazine / Trinituner.com." And this was ignored by the Guardian newspaper -

This is not the first time that TTRC has sent photos to the newspaper and our credits were removed. In fact in the Rally Trinidad Suppliment trinituner photos were used and they REMOVED the (c)www.trinituner.com from the photos that they used. The rally club (TTRC) also dont want to pay for the photos, but used them anyway. We still cooperated with them after.

I give Devi every right - it is not the first time and it should be the last.
The guardian photographers or any other media house tv or press wouldnt even pee on a TTRC event. We support them 100% and only ask for a small credit to be placed with the photos we supply for free.

Postby wagon r » September 27th, 2006, 10:14 am

.....pete, you are very right. when i last spoke to Jackie, she said they tell the guardian to credit all photos to the respective photographer, but that was since May this year.....

....to this day, it has not been done, with exception of the Newsday article where all the photographers were mentioned for the int'l.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 10:20 am

i say boycott till dey sort out their sheit

Postby pete » September 27th, 2006, 10:25 am

Problem is that while they are sending the newpaper content, the newpaper thinks they're doing YOU a favour by putting your article in the paper. So whether the article is there or not doesn't matter to them. Maybe what could be done is have a standard fee for use of the picture which would be waived if credit was given to the photographer.

Mini

Postby Mini » September 27th, 2006, 11:07 am

pete wrote:I think it's the fault of the newspaper more than anything else. I'm pretty sure that when the article was written and image submitted they would've requested that the photographer be credited. The newspaper then decides to omit that but use the image anyway.

I think y'all may be sending the blame the wrong way. TTRC wants their article in the papers to get more public exposure so they can't exactly say "we're not giving you more articles if you don't credit our photographers". If they did that then in the end they would lose out.

It's unfortunate because now the photographers who they are VERY happy to have come and cover their events don't want to because they're not being credited. Hopefully some solution can be reached soon.

Pete hit the nail on the head

MadCrix wrote:well dat is still ttrc fault pete

if u tell teh paper su have to credit the photograhpers or tdoh use the article den the papers will credit the photograhpers

we made a deal with ttrc and dey broke it. plain and simple

how exactly is is the fault of the TTRC? We cannot control the layout of the paper, nor what is printed. In one of the dailies, our article sometimes get's chopped up... without our input... and sometimes key information is left out.

whose photo is this?

and whose is this?

I agree photographers should be credited... no argument there. But what do you all think the TTRC does... go to the Sports Editor and say... 'here's what eh... we want you to publish these photos... but yuh see them good for nutting SOB's who take the photos... doh give them no credit eh'

We ALWAYS give the photographer's name(s) to the media.. and specifically request that they publish it... this has been going on since the beginning of the year. If we PAY for an ad in the paper, and use the photo for the artwork... i can understand that... I know in the past we've been guilty of using photos for ads without giving credit of even paying...but allyuh getting vex because the TTRC getting exposure?

unless allyuh see it's a circle then allyuh doh understand...

media coverage = bigger sponsors = better events = more competitors = more spectators = media coverage = bigger sponsors = better events

allyuh feel any of the executive members of the club gets paid? We give up hours every week sacrificing personal and sometimes our employers time. 80% of the competitors have small sponsors that cover less than 20% of their annual rally budget. 100% of the competitors don't have sponsors to cover their annual rally budget. Very few of the pit crews are paid.. most only with a day's lunch and drinks. The TTRC only started paying the marshals a small stipen for food and gas this year. Everybody gives up something because they love the sport and want to see it grow.
Last edited by Mini on September 27th, 2006, 11:46 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby MG Man » September 27th, 2006, 11:11 am

an Mini was such ah nice, calm fella :shock: :shock:

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » September 27th, 2006, 11:15 am

i have my bit to say buh i waitign on dev/narend responce

Return to “TTRC - Rally”