Mid Term check

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Mid Term check

Postby crazybalhead » July 10th, 2012, 9:18 am

We are now half way through the 2012 season, with several events under our belt, and I wanted to ask the general tuner population for some feedback on the performance of the executive so far and if we can make any improvements for the rest of the year.

I know there are gaps and things that can be done better, I'm looking for any type of feedback, the good, bad and ugly.

:)

idlemind

Re: Mid Term check

Postby idlemind » July 10th, 2012, 11:15 am

Well im suggesting the organisation of another dyno day, so far i have 5, maybe 6 other guys interested.

Postby wagonrunner » July 10th, 2012, 12:21 pm

really happy with the length of courses. fastest times are 70+s. Excellent.

xauss

Postby xauss » July 10th, 2012, 1:39 pm

Course design this year: EXCELLENT
Organisation of events/food/facilities: VERY GOOD
Promotion/Marketing: NEEDS MORE WORK
Prizes/Incentives: GOOD, COULD IMPROVE

Suggestions (Have no clue if any of this is already being done but...): Promote through more media such as running a radio/press ad. The article in the Guardian recently was a really great way to promote the sport and get the word out that its a full-on competition that anyone can become a part of. Also, it wouldn't hurt, if at all possible, to start offering cash prizes, if not for every event, at least to overall winners at the end of the season. I would say that the recent drive to get discounts for tyres/parts was very much appreciated and a positive move that should be built upon. Promote with flyers etc. especially at some tuner liming locations such as Mosportt, Mojo's, Twist etc. Do some PR at other events as well (once its cool with those bodies) to encourage participants at those events to also check out dex. Have one or two head-to-head events to draw some more crowd and driver support (last driving school setup was really good). Keep having driving school as a draw for newcomers to get a proper introduction and appreciation for the sport. I think the driving school fee should be reduced just a bit to regular competition fee tho. Other than that, the present committee is doing a fantastic job and this season's rule changes as well as the direction being taken with respect to course layout has, to me, made dex even more exciting than before.

Postby crazybalhead » July 10th, 2012, 2:21 pm

Agreed on the marketing, that's supposed to be my wuk.

Postby crazybalhead » July 10th, 2012, 2:23 pm

The next driving school should be head to head.
We are going to change the name from "recreational" to "racing". We have discussed the radio and press ads, but not followed up aggressively.

xauss

Postby xauss » July 10th, 2012, 2:38 pm

suggestion....competitive auto racing sports

xauss

Postby xauss » July 10th, 2012, 2:39 pm

it kinda is redundant and makes no sense in pure english terms...but it sounds JDM lol

Postby crazybalhead » July 10th, 2012, 2:55 pm

That's the plan.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 11th, 2012, 9:48 am

the courses for the year so far have been fantastic ...... attendance has been poor though :(

rado

Postby rado » July 15th, 2012, 8:22 am

Slalom

Postby crazybalhead » July 16th, 2012, 9:28 am

We have them, but not on all courses. Very challenging with gravel at ARC.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”